We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican”

Miguel's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 198 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Good food and service. The wife had a chimichanga and I had the tacos. We both got ours with the shredded beef that was very tasty. The only downside was that my son got a chili relleno and it was made with almonds, which he did not like. Keep in mind that the salsa is really good, but they charge you extra if you want more, which I did not like.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jbessjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Miguel's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

I am glad that you enjoyed your meals, but it is unfortunate your son did not like the almonds. It is a pan sauce and we can take them out next time or have another relleno with no almonds in it. We unfortunately can only give out 1 free salsa per couple. So if 4 people come in its 2 free etc.. We source local tomatoes year round and the market does fluctuate a lot and we easily go thru 400 pounds of tomatoes a week without a charge, so we had to start enforcing that rule.. Hope you understand and come through again as we feel we provide almost entirely locally sourced food at competitive chain restaurant pricing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We only had beer and appetizers here, but what a good time! The bartender, Kyle, was so friendly and attentive, chatted with everyone while handling the orders for the bar and restaurant with ease. Great place!

Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Miguel's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thanks so much for the great review!!! Kyle is awesome and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

This was a awesome surprise. I eat vegan. This has all you could want! Vegan cheese, Ryan sour cream. The lack beans are cooked here and just the best I've ever had. The mojito was delicious. Not too sweet with a great flavor. Seasoned tofu tacos: delicious! Could not be improved upon. Even the decor is lovely! Great place!

Thank NHwife27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Miguel's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thanks so much and we are glad you found our many Vegan and Dietary restriction options on our menu accommodating!!! Hope you swing in again on your next trip to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Went there on 2017-07-29, and really enjoyed the experience!
Service was good, food was excellent and fresh, and prices were good.
Never thought of having great tasting mexican chow in Bangor, nor in Maine, but was greatly surprised!

Thank Ricky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Miguel's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Its not easy picking us if you are not from the area as one would think the further you get from Mexico the worst the food but we travel there a lot and source local foods to recreate Authentic and some Tex Mex dishes. Glad you liked it and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Great margaritas and always good food. Owner is friendly and it's a great local business to support.

Thank robinh3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Miguel's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for the kind words and the great support!!! We will try to keep improving and provide a quality meal and fun experience with every visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miguel's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Miguel's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing