We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
20
22
3
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
22
3
3
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2021

While the campground is very good, it was also a bit poorly maintained and the showers were tepid. The woman at reception was very rude, and charged us (2 people) as if we were separate guests. We arrived with a small campervan (2 people in a campervan was listed as €24), but because we pitched a small tent next to the van for one if us to sleep in, she charged us an extra €12 for the tent! When I questioned this, she became quite obnoxious. Because we had driven all day to get there, we went ahead and paid, but felt taken advantage of.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank G85NPmichaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

This campsite, while nothing exactly wrong with it, just doesn’t maximize itself to its full potential.
Lovely location but could be better maintained and cleaner, with better facilities. It was expensive for what you get. And…..
The midges!!!!!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank aoife654
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2020 via mobile

This campsite is a little gem if you're into the great outdoors. Facilities are rugged but work great. Loads of hot water for showers in a nice cabin style setting. We were only going to stay 1 night because of our plans but liked it so much we stayed for 2. Only 5 min drive into Kenmare which you have to visit this is a campsite worth a visit.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank raymcc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2020 via mobile

We camped here for 3 nights and loved it, the location is fantastic- just outside Kenmare so you can stock up on bbq items and food and its just at the tip of the beautiful ring of Beara.
The Dutch couple running the place are lovely and they've done a pretty good job of giving you that camping freedom by allowing camp fires and providing electricity close to your tent.
The facilities are basic but were all we needed for our 3 nights, will definitely be back!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2019

Visiting the Beara peninsula is an great experience. Basalt rock, high peaks and black soft sand which was soothing and exhilarating to walk upon. The scenery is impressive and unique to the peninsula. Great restaurants and a variety of of meals on every menu and they were very reasonable. The Hungry Hill campsite is set in the centre of great beauty and is about 17 km. from Glengarriff, a great place to visit. The Bonane area stole our hearts, located there is a lovely shop called Molly Gallivan who has lots of bargains and carry a wide variety of Irish garments, Aran sweeaters, hand woven scarfs,,shawls , tweed jackets, jewellery , soft toys and lots more.. There is a farm adjacent to the shop and it is part of the shop and organise farm tours where an employee demonstrats the old style of farming methods. The high light of our visit there was a demonstration of poteen making and tasting. It is a beautiful drink, but has to be taken seriously as it is very potent. . Bonane Heritage Park was very extraordinarily interesting and historic. Both sites are a must for anyone visiting the area. The Hungry Hill campsite is excellent, well laid out very well run. There was plenty hot water and kitchen and bathrooms were immaculate. Altogether a great experience and we will be back next year.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Happiness783762
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews