We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Picante Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #379 of 576 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

The food was horrible. I didn't know it was possible to mess up nachos and quesadillas. Also, there was a hair in our food. Never going back.

Thank cajun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Owner at Picante Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2015

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. On behalf of Picante, I want to personally apologize for your most recent experience dining with us. Cleanliness is a priority for us and we are extremely sorry for the experience that you had. Additionally, our nachos and quesadillas are usually a hit with our customers but it looks like we missed the mark here. We wish this would have been brought to our attention while you were at the restaurant so that we could have remedied the situation on the spot for you. If there are any additional details you would like to provide, please send us an email at picantemexrestaurant@yahoo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2015

We placed an order for a party of three to-go. Person on the phone was polite, our order was ready promptly. Taco Salad with no olives- great, Chimi Gigante- very large portion (as the name implies) and was great, and awesome Beef Flautas. We also got Flan and the Sopapillas which were both excellent. It was a late lunch order- so the place didn't have too many people when we picked up- but I can say that the food however was on point! Would definitely return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TraceyCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Owner at Picante Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

Hi Tracey - Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your patronage! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your food and had a great experience with us. We hope to have you in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

They serve the freshest homemade tortilla chips with a fantastic cheese queso dip. Saturday night Karoke is a must if in the area.

Thank formetoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Owner at Picante Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and your kind words! We love to hear that you enjoy our Chips & Queso (we do too!). We hope to have you in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

For the location it's really the only choice for Mexican food. The service is hit or miss - we've had decent servers and we've had ones who were clueless. Fajitas are ok. Tamales are good. Cheese enchiladas are good. Salsa is good. It's an average restaurant.

Thank AH1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We arrived at 12:50PM on a Wednesday, was not that crowded but did have quite a few patrons. After 10 minutes we did finally have a person sit us at a table and said someone would be with us momentarily. 15 minutes later, no water no chips not even anyone looking our way. So, I cannot tell you if the food is any good, I do think it is overpriced by looking at their menus. Now, if I was from this area I might, key word might, give them another chance.





Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Picante Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Picante Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing