We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
5
3
6
2
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
3
6
2
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Stayed here this past weekend for Jazz Fest. First, let me say that the reviews that promise a "basic" hotel are spot-on. However, this is a little more than basic. First, the good points - room was clean, beds were comfortable, plenty of TV channels on a (smallish) flat screen TV, and the WiFi in our room worked excellently. However...there was NO hairdryer (what hotel room does not have a hairdryer these days?), no iron or ironing board, and the towels were a joke - we would relegate them to the ragbag at our house. There was no shampoo, lotion, or hair conditioner, all of which you get in the low budget hotels as a rule. The location - right off the Interstate and close to the airport - was a bit worrying (noise) but, our room - on the side away from the Interstate - was very quiet. The immediate area is a little run down, but we did not feel uncomfortable. Oh, and there is no breakfast (not really a big deal) but they do not offer morning coffee in the lobby which is fairly unusual. There is a Circle K on the same block where you can grab a cup and go. If the owners would invest another $25 per room to equip it with some decent towels and a hair dryer plus a few toiletries, it would make the room a lot more comfortable. Big plus though - the place is CHEAP! If you are looking for a clean place to sleep and shower, it will work. It is 15 or 20 minutes to the Racetrack (Jazz Fest) and parking is free. The lady at the front desk was very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side opposite the Interstate (even numbered rooms)
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SouthernCooks5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contempraInn, Manager at Contempra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for choosing us to stay and for your review. We do not offer coffee or hairdryers etc As is stated on our website and via various booking sites. It would increase the room price and we offer the very best value a clean, new room with excellent WiFi and TV lineup and service. We keep our rates low so you can save money to do more for instance the coffee at CircleK is in the same parking lot. But just two blocks away is Café du Monde best coffee and beignets and three blocks away is both an IHOP and a Starbucks a Waffle House and a French Press Coffeehouse. Thank you for mentioning it so readers can get an idea of all the nearby options and that is just coffee. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping all nearby. Our goal is great value and thank you for mentioning that even during Special Event we are the best value. We hope you will choose us again and we can have the pleasure of you as our guest again. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Considering how inexpensive this motel was, I was shocked at how nice the accommodations were! The hotel staff were very pleasant, the room itself was clean and nice looking, the bathroom had some renovations, and the bed and bedding were really comfortable. There are a ton of restaurants in the area, and the parking lot is full of cats and ducks which I loved. It's also only $18-$25 for an Uber to the French Quarter. I have zero complaints about my stay, and I'd be happy to stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contempra I, Manager at Contempra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

ThankYou for your awesome and detailed review! We are so happy you are happy. We are working hard everyday to be our very best affordable, clean, safe and best place to stay in the entire area with comfortable rooms great FiberOpticWiFi and the best Cable anywhere over 300+ channels 9 HBOs, 9 Starz and over 30 different Sports channels as well as at home features like YouTube, Netflix, etc All the safety and quiet of the suburbs but only short ride away from NewOrleans. We really appreciate your review and the Uber information for other guests to know. We hope to see you again soon! It’s Carnival Time and hope you come have fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

This is a very basic motel. Each room has its own entrance like all motels do. The check in was simple although they take a $40 deposit on the card. The ladies at the front desk are very nice. They give you a hardware key along with the TV remote. The pathway to rooms is quite narrow...hence a bit wobbly and difficult with larger pieces of luggage. The room was clean and basic. No carpet, it was newer laminate flooring. The bed/pillow were not good as we like firm beds. We saw no fridge/microwave/coffee maker/in room safe etc. Towels were thin. Bathroom looked clean. We had an early flight, so we didn't shower there. We brushed and got out. However, the water in the sink was not draining properly but as we stayed only one night, we didn't complain to management. The A/C was on when we got into the room. We set it to heat as it was a cool night. When we turned off the whole unit in the morning before leaving the room, it was still running and it was definitely loud like a lot of hotel room units. It seems these units rarely work as they should and are almost always very loud.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rkramadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contempraInn, Owner at Contempra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you for your review. You did not have a microwave/refrigerator because you rented our Deluxe Queen (No Refrigerator/Microwave). ALL our Standard Double, Deluxe Double and Superior Rooms HAVE refrigerators and microwaves as is noted and photographed on the room option sheet displayed at the front desk. Our Deluxe Queen is clean and safe and the most economical option because it does not have a refrigerator or microwave. All rooms have four pillows per bed – two thick and two thin, so you can arrange them the way you want. Most guests really like the number of pillows and the beds. If you had a slow sink drain you should have mentioned it at check out. We recently checked all the drains and cleared any that were found to be slow. The AC fans on these newer units do continue to run for a few minutes after they are turned off. We are sorry that everything was not to your happiness. We really do try our best. Our rooms are clean, safe, great WIFI, best cable tv. We are the best value for the best price in the area. We want you to be happy and hope that when you are in town again, you will do us the honor of your patronage and get a Superior Double or King which do have a refrigerator and microwave. We want all our guests to have a great stay for the best value in a simple, clean, safe room with no costly add on frills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Room was clean, had a large fridge inside. Lots of ducks and cats in the parking lot.. it was cool to be greeted by a few cats in the morning. AC unit was older, I think, so it was pretty loud. Good service at desk and by room service.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SidKuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContempraGM, Manager at Contempra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you. We appreciate your stay with us and we appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

When I go to New Orleans, I'm not planning on staying in the room. I just want somewhere to sleep....and this hotel fits the bill and more. It looks like the rooms have been recently renovated. Our room was clean, the staff was helpful, the bed was comfortable and we had a fridge. Can't really ask for more.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContempraGM, Manager at Contempra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We very much appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews