We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise as I dreamed of it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Anantara Dhigu is set on a very beautiful lagoon. It is literally out of a dream (see my attached photos). One of the best holidays ever, though it is pricey.

Positivies:
- Very very pretty setting
- Dhoni Bar on Veli Island has amazing vegetarian pizzas
- Access to sister property at Veli
- World Class Thai Restaurant in a very beautiful setting
- Huge room with direct access to the sea (which is waist deep for at least 100 metres from the room).
- Very kid friendly
- Baby sharks and Sting Rays swimming around the lagoon - very very pretty and completely harmless
- Free kayaks and snorkels
- Friendly service

Negatives:
- Very costly
- Spa wasn't worth spending $500 for a couple's massage
- Nearly $500 for airport transfer for a couple was also steep

Overall I would highly recommend it. This resort has much better overwater suites and much better views than the sister Veli resort.

Room Tip: Take a Over Water Sunset Suite - worth the extra money. Pool suites are not worth the extra money (s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank villdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear villdre,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Dhigu for your holiday. I was delighted to read about the memorable time that you spent with us.

We always appreciate when our valued guests share their feedback as it makes the service we provide even more worthwhile. Our signature Thai restaurant Baan Huraa is always highlighted by all our guests, just as what you mentioned.

Our consistent aim is to provide a harmonious combination of the romantic, relaxation and a sense of adventure for all of our guests. The crystal clear waters filled with various species of marine life, the luxurious and stylish accommodation and our white beaches, all conspire to deliver your amazing experience. Also, sharing this stunning lagoon with our sister resorts, Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives, means we can offer unique dining experiences, all with the backdrop of sophisticated luxury and Maldivian hospitality.

Along with these unique experiences and the dedicated service from the Anantara team members, all of our guests leave with new and lasting memories of their time spent with us.

Thank you once again for the glowing feedback which we will share with the wider team and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of welcoming you back at the resort in the near future.

In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraDhiguMaldives. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaradhigu) or by using the hashtag #anantaradhigu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of paradise again soon.

Island Greetings,

Gauderic H
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 79 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Really lovely week spent here.
Booked through Purely Maldives all by email and much better deal than direct or through the usual booking.com, agoda, kayak etc as included complete taxes and transfer. Also they arranged complimentary champagne for our anniversary.
We booked the overwater sunset villa which I strongly recommend...didn’t think I would take full advantage of the sunrise each day but know I would always be in the mood for sunset (and awake). There were a couple of the overwater villas with pool but didn’t see the point as one could step down from the balcony directly into the sea (which was shallow) from all the overwater villas.
Chose here for distance from Male (not too far but away from sight of main land and not on flight path and no sign of Rubbish Island.
Snorkeling trip was good...mostly dead coral but wonderful colorful fish and well worth going.
Kayaks free of charge and sea so clear..beautiful.
Staff lovely and deserve any gratuities that you might leave for them.
We took the 1/2 Board option which gave a choice for the adjoining anantara vila restaurants too. After first morning of breakfast at our resort we breakfasted the other mornings at Vila which was adult only and quieter. For evenings we sampled all the restaurants ..Italian was fine, Thai good (if you like spicy food you need to tell them as was very mild and for some reason they assumed I would not like alcohol in my cocktail..but this was quickly rectified), seafood restaurant very good and the Japanese restaurant we preferred to the others (make sure you reserve stating you want Teppanyaki as just booking a normal table does not get a seat at the live action). Alert time: there is an additional charge on the nicer dishes and most of the fish dishes (surprising as we were surrounded by water and fish) at the restaurants and even the full buffet option had extra charge for lobster.
Alcohol is expensive and cheapest bottle of wine including taxes was $100 per bottle...so budget accordingly for check out. FYI- It is illegal to bring alcohol into the Maldives and all check-in bags were checked at airport.
The inroom snacks also eye watering expensive and in hindsight would have brought our own snacks and bars....and I’m talking just under $20 for a small can of nuts including taxes.
Resort arranged two complimentary cocktail nights to mingle with other guests which was a nice touch.
Our favorite night was dining at the Private Island for a Michelin style dinner with wine pairings. Two nights of week offers this option (at a price) and was very glad we went on the Tuesday night as food was best we had...really special.
Spa was great...reflexology one day and back massage another and staff well trained and so welcoming.
WiFi slow but works ...and you are on holiday after all!
Overall we had a fab week here, I would highly recommend it with proviso that (a) you book a deal that includes the 20pc taxes and transfers, (b) budget for alcohol and extras like dish options on menus, spa and water sports....for us it was an extra $1,700 on final bill so be aware, (c) leave small tips where you are happy with individuals (and yes I know it is supposed to be service charges included but life is short), (d) bring your own sun cream/moisturiser, sun hats, snacks, meds (with prescription copy), burn creams.
And enjoy!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CoClareIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear CoClareIreland,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Dhigu for your holiday. I was delighted to read about the memorable time that you spent with us.

We always appreciate when our valued guests share their feedback as it makes the service we provide even more worthwhile. The Sunset Over Water Suite is always popular in all our guests, just as what you mentioned.

Our consistent aim is to provide a harmonious combination of the romantic, relaxation and a sense of adventure for all of our guests. The crystal clear waters filled with various species of marine life, the luxurious and stylish accommodation and our white beaches, all conspire to deliver your amazing experience. Also, sharing this stunning lagoon with our sister resorts, Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives, means we can offer unique dining experiences, all with the backdrop of sophisticated luxury and Maldivian hospitality.

Along with these unique experiences and the dedicated service from the Anantara team members, all of our guests leave with new and lasting memories of their time spent with us.

Thank you once again for the glowing feedback which we will share with the wider team and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of welcoming you back at the resort in the near future.

In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraDhiguMaldives. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaradhigu) or by using the hashtag #anantaradhigu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of paradise again soon.

Island Greetings,

Gauderic H
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We took a sunset over water villa. It is gorgeous! Massive very well designed space great views from any place in the villa. Even the bathroom! Our house man Roonie was the best! Decorating our bed for my wife’s birthday and a couple of days later the bathtub with rose petals! Nice touch! Restaurants are great! Sea Fire Salt as well as the Thai and Origami, were the best in our opinion, not to say that the rest were not, but we felt they stood out! Location is fantastic! Get half board which covers you for mostly everything for your dinners in almost any restaurant with a reasonable supplement for special items drinks not included of course. Waterfanatics were great! Did snorkeling with turtles on a reef out in the middle of nowhere, amazing diving experience, rented a SUP (not as easy as it looks), and you could do a whole lot more, like sports fishing, dolphin swim, kite surfing etc etc. People working there were always so polite and helpful! Last but not least AMAZING Spa! You MUST do the Thai massage ... out of this world! Altogether an amazing experience and would love to go back!

Room Tip: Sunset over water villa. Best view plus sunset plus a little shade in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear George N,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Dhigu, and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your stay in our little paradise with the online community.

We are delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience during your time with us.

We have shared your kind words with our colleagues, especially Roonie from Housekeeping, who are deeply thankful, and pass along their greetings.

Since we share our beautiful lagoon with our sister resorts – Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives – it allows our valued guests more dining options and the variety of restaurants certainly means that meal times never have to be the same during your stay. We aim that our guest leave from here with amazing stories.

Thank you once again for the lovely feedback and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of having you back at the resort in the near future. In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraDhiguMaldives and please do keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaradhigu) or by using the hashtag #anantaradhigu. Till we meet again, stay well.

Island Greetings,

Gauderic H
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

We choose the Bungalow me and my husband, it was really fascinating , the view is wonderful . If you are looking for an active place.
you should try the massage. Dhigu spa is highly recommended, its the best in Anantara .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mashael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear mashael A,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Dhigu for your holiday. I was delighted to read about the memorable time that you spent with us.

We always appreciate when our valued guests share their feedback as it makes the service we provide even more worthwhile. The Anantara Over Water Spa in Dhigu is always highlighted by our guests, just as what you mentioned.

Our consistent aim is to provide a harmonious combination of the romantic, relaxation and a sense of adventure for all of our guests. The crystal clear waters filled with various species of marine life, the luxurious and stylish accommodation and our white beaches, all conspire to deliver your amazing experience. Also, sharing this stunning lagoon with our sister resorts, Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives, means we can offer unique dining experiences, all with the backdrop of sophisticated luxury and Maldivian hospitality.

Along with these unique experiences and the dedicated service from the Anantara team members, all of our guests leave with new and lasting memories of their time spent with us.

Thank you once again for the glowing feedback which we will share with the wider team and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of welcoming you back at the resort in the near future.

In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraDhiguMaldives. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaradhigu) or by using the hashtag #anantaradhigu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of paradise again soon.

Island Greetings,

Gauderic H
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

First of all, nothing can be bad in such a place like Maldives!!! The best restaurant is Origami, is you are sushi guru- you will deffo love it !!!
Also we want to thank our villa cleaner Waheed ! Best guy ever! He is so talented of making beds surprises with flowers! Our room was always clean and fresh! Such a friendly person! We stayed in sunset villa 78. However, the breakfast buffet is very boring, not a lot of choices. Thanks again for your hospitality! Maldives is the best place to go on vacay!!! We will miss the views !

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pavel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Pavel L,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Dhigu, and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your stay in our little paradise with the online community.

We are delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience during your time with us.

We have shared your kind words with our colleagues, especially Waheed from Housekeeping, who are deeply thankful, and pass along their greetings.

Since we share our beautiful lagoon with our sister resorts – Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives – it allows our valued guests more dining options and the variety of restaurants certainly means that meal times never have to be the same during your stay. We aim that our guest leave from here with amazing stories.

Thank you once again for the lovely feedback and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of having you back at the resort in the near future. In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraDhiguMaldives and please do keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaradhigu) or by using the hashtag #anantaradhigu. Till we meet again, stay well.

Island Greetings,

Gauderic H
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhigufinolhu Island
31.2 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,862 reviews
0.5 km away
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
#1 of 1 in Naladhu Island
495 reviews
0.7 km away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,849 reviews
18 km away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,785 reviews
14.6 km away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort

Address: Dhigufinolhu, South Male Atoll, 2098
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Dhigufinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhigufinolhu Island
Price Range: €447 - €2,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical island paradise set in the South Male Atoll, just half an hour from Male international Airport, Anantara offers the Maldives resort experience you've only dreamt about, with two lush islands, Dhigufinolhu and Veligandu Huraa. Unwind on endless white sand beaches, palm-fringed islands and pristine coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Dhigu Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Dhigu Resort And Spa
Anantara Resort Maldives
Anantara Maldives
Anantara Hotel Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing