We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,331)
Filter reviews
2,331 results
Traveller rating
1,873
318
78
35
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,873
318
78
35
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aqua bar thai restaurant kids club fish water villa overwater suite fushi cafe our honeymoon beach guru sunrise villa room boy water sports sister island front office manager sunset beach outdoor bathroom half board
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 2,331 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Really lovely week spent here.
Booked through Purely Maldives all by email and much better deal than direct or through the usual booking.com, agoda, kayak etc as included complete taxes and transfer. Also they arranged complimentary champagne for our anniversary.
We booked the overwater sunset villa which I strongly recommend...didn’t think I would take full advantage of the sunrise each day but know I would always be in the mood for sunset (and awake). There were a couple of the overwater villas with pool but didn’t see the point as one could step down from the balcony directly into the sea (which was shallow) from all the overwater villas.
Chose here for distance from Male (not too far but away from sight of main land and not on flight path and no sign of Rubbish Island.
Snorkeling trip was good...mostly dead coral but wonderful colorful fish and well worth going.
Kayaks free of charge and sea so clear..beautiful.
Staff lovely and deserve any gratuities that you might leave for them.
We took the 1/2 Board option which gave a choice for the adjoining anantara vila restaurants too. After first morning of breakfast at our resort we breakfasted the other mornings at Vila which was adult only and quieter. For evenings we sampled all the restaurants ..Italian was fine, Thai good (if you like spicy food you need to tell them as was very mild and for some reason they assumed I would not like alcohol in my cocktail..but this was quickly rectified), seafood restaurant very good and the Japanese restaurant we preferred to the others (make sure you reserve stating you want Teppanyaki as just booking a normal table does not get a seat at the live action). Alert time: there is an additional charge on the nicer dishes and most of the fish dishes (surprising as we were surrounded by water and fish) at the restaurants and even the full buffet option had extra charge for lobster.
Alcohol is expensive and cheapest bottle of wine including taxes was $100 per bottle...so budget accordingly for check out. FYI- It is illegal to bring alcohol into the Maldives and all check-in bags were checked at airport.
The inroom snacks also eye watering expensive and in hindsight would have brought our own snacks and bars....and I’m talking just under $20 for a small can of nuts including taxes.
Resort arranged two complimentary cocktail nights to mingle with other guests which was a nice touch.
Our favorite night was dining at the Private Island for a Michelin style dinner with wine pairings. Two nights of week offers this option (at a price) and was very glad we went on the Tuesday night as food was best we had...really special.
Spa was great...reflexology one day and back massage another and staff well trained and so welcoming.
WiFi slow but works ...and you are on holiday after all!
Overall we had a fab week here, I would highly recommend it with proviso that (a) you book a deal that includes the 20pc taxes and transfers, (b) budget for alcohol and extras like dish options on menus, spa and water sports....for us it was an extra $1,700 on final bill so be aware, (c) leave small tips where you are happy with individuals (and yes I know it is supposed to be service charges included but life is short), (d) bring your own sun cream/moisturiser, sun hats, snacks, meds (with prescription copy), burn creams.
And enjoy!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CoClareIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear CoClareIreland,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Dhigu for your holiday. I was delighted to read about the memorable time that you spent with us.

We always appreciate when our valued guests share their feedback as it makes the service we provide even more worthwhile. The Sunset Over Water Suite is always popular in all our guests, just as what you mentioned.

Our consistent aim is to provide a harmonious combination of the romantic, relaxation and a sense of adventure for all of our guests. The crystal clear waters filled with various species of marine life, the luxurious and stylish accommodation and our white beaches, all conspire to deliver your amazing experience. Also, sharing this stunning lagoon with our sister resorts, Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives, means we can offer unique dining experiences, all with the backdrop of sophisticated luxury and Maldivian hospitality.

Along with these unique experiences and the dedicated service from the Anantara team members, all of our guests leave with new and lasting memories of their time spent with us.

Thank you once again for the glowing feedback which we will share with the wider team and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of welcoming you back at the resort in the near future.

In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraDhiguMaldives. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaradhigu) or by using the hashtag #anantaradhigu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of paradise again soon.

Island Greetings,

Gauderic H
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We took a sunset over water villa. It is gorgeous! Massive very well designed space great views from any place in the villa. Even the bathroom! Our house man Roonie was the best! Decorating our bed for my wife’s birthday and a couple of days later the bathtub with rose petals! Nice touch! Restaurants are great! Sea Fire Salt as well as the Thai and Origami, were the best in our opinion, not to say that the rest were not, but we felt they stood out! Location is fantastic! Get half board which covers you for mostly everything for your dinners in almost any restaurant with a reasonable supplement for special items drinks not included of course. Waterfanatics were great! Did snorkeling with turtles on a reef out in the middle of nowhere, amazing diving experience, rented a SUP (not as easy as it looks), and you could do a whole lot more, like sports fishing, dolphin swim, kite surfing etc etc. People working there were always so polite and helpful! Last but not least AMAZING Spa! You MUST do the Thai massage ... out of this world! Altogether an amazing experience and would love to go back!

Room Tip: Sunset over water villa. Best view plus sunset plus a little shade in the morning!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeN1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear George N,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Dhigu, and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your stay in our little paradise with the online community.

We are delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience during your time with us.

We have shared your kind words with our colleagues, especially Roonie from Housekeeping, who are deeply thankful, and pass along their greetings.

Since we share our beautiful lagoon with our sister resorts – Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives – it allows our valued guests more dining options and the variety of restaurants certainly means that meal times never have to be the same during your stay. We aim that our guest leave from here with amazing stories.

Thank you once again for the lovely feedback and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of having you back at the resort in the near future. In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraDhiguMaldives and please do keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaradhigu) or by using the hashtag #anantaradhigu. Till we meet again, stay well.

Island Greetings,

Gauderic H
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

We choose the Bungalow me and my husband, it was really fascinating , the view is wonderful . If you are looking for an active place.
you should try the massage. Dhigu spa is highly recommended, its the best in Anantara .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mashael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear mashael A,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Dhigu for your holiday. I was delighted to read about the memorable time that you spent with us.

We always appreciate when our valued guests share their feedback as it makes the service we provide even more worthwhile. The Anantara Over Water Spa in Dhigu is always highlighted by our guests, just as what you mentioned.

Our consistent aim is to provide a harmonious combination of the romantic, relaxation and a sense of adventure for all of our guests. The crystal clear waters filled with various species of marine life, the luxurious and stylish accommodation and our white beaches, all conspire to deliver your amazing experience. Also, sharing this stunning lagoon with our sister resorts, Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives, means we can offer unique dining experiences, all with the backdrop of sophisticated luxury and Maldivian hospitality.

Along with these unique experiences and the dedicated service from the Anantara team members, all of our guests leave with new and lasting memories of their time spent with us.

Thank you once again for the glowing feedback which we will share with the wider team and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of welcoming you back at the resort in the near future.

In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraDhiguMaldives. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaradhigu) or by using the hashtag #anantaradhigu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of paradise again soon.

Island Greetings,

Gauderic H
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

First of all, nothing can be bad in such a place like Maldives!!! The best restaurant is Origami, is you are sushi guru- you will deffo love it !!!
Also we want to thank our villa cleaner Waheed ! Best guy ever! He is so talented of making beds surprises with flowers! Our room was always clean and fresh! Such a friendly person! We stayed in sunset villa 78. However, the breakfast buffet is very boring, not a lot of choices. Thanks again for your hospitality! Maldives is the best place to go on vacay!!! We will miss the views !

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pavel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Pavel L,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Dhigu, and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your stay in our little paradise with the online community.

We are delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience during your time with us.

We have shared your kind words with our colleagues, especially Waheed from Housekeeping, who are deeply thankful, and pass along their greetings.

Since we share our beautiful lagoon with our sister resorts – Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives – it allows our valued guests more dining options and the variety of restaurants certainly means that meal times never have to be the same during your stay. We aim that our guest leave from here with amazing stories.

Thank you once again for the lovely feedback and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of having you back at the resort in the near future. In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraDhiguMaldives and please do keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaradhigu) or by using the hashtag #anantaradhigu. Till we meet again, stay well.

Island Greetings,

Gauderic H
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We stayed with our 9month old for 3nights at this paradise to celebrate our anniversary. This was our best vacation and we sure will go back . It's a class apart. Staff were so friendly, food was awesome. We took upgrade to over water pool suite and it's the best in the world. Island is managed so well , full credits to every1 working there.special mention of Mr. Ameen and Ms.Sanaya.we have loads of memories and it's sure a best story of our lives!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
1  Thank Raviteja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Ravi T,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Dhigu, and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your stay in our little paradise with the online community.

We are delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience during your time with us.

We have shared your kind words with our colleagues, Ameen from Front Office and Sanya from Food & Beverages, who are deeply thankful, and pass along their greetings.

Since we share our beautiful lagoon with our sister resorts – Anantara Veli Resort and Naladhu Maldives – it allows our valued guests more dining options and the variety of restaurants certainly means that meal times never have to be the same during your stay. We aim that our guest leave from here with amazing stories.

Thank you once again for the lovely feedback and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of having you back at the resort in the near future. In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraDhiguMaldives and please do keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaradhigu) or by using the hashtag #anantaradhigu. Till we meet again, stay well.

Island Greetings,

Gauderic H
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews