We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Beach Hotel(Arnos Vale)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachcombers Hotel(Arnos Vale)
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariners Hotel(St. Vincent)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Young Island Resort(St. Vincent)
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Haddon Hotel(Kingstown)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grenadine House(Kingstown)
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
28
29
16
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
29
16
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightwould stay here againocean viewnice poolstaff was very friendly and helpfulcaribbean breakfastnice hotelribslocation is greatnikonvincenterrorbarbadosislandgemscomforttransit
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Ok Hotel for a vacation for sun lovers. The staff was friendly and professional but like the rest of the Caribbean islands, slooooow. We where a bit surprised one night when the staff decided to have a party in the reception, playing so loud that our windows was vibrating even we had a room most far away. Nobody at the hotel had a calm evening/night that day. We was compensated for one night the next day. It was a strange and bad decision by the staff. All in all, it was a good stay

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JDTon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola S, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sunset Shores. We are located directly on Villa Beach overlooking some of the Grenadine Islands. Most of the time, Sunset Shores is a very relaxing place. It sounds like you were there during the staff end of year holiday party. It normally shuts down at a relatively early hour but we were celebrating the approach of our 45th Anniversary. Apologies again if the party went on later than planned. We know that some guests joined in on the fun.
If you return to St. Vincent, we hope you will stay with us again.
Island Hospitality at its Best - Proudly serving SVG since 1973.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel continues to be in a great location , with the ability to do better . I can't say much about the grounds as I only was there during the night . My interaction with the front desk was a very pleasant one .
I would stay here again .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank boyce1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola S, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for being a loyal customer and for sharing feedback about your stay. Sunset Shores is situated directly on Villa Beach. The hotel is surrounded by lovely tropical gardens and has a great view of some of the Grenadine Islands....and wonderful sunsets. Guests can choose to lounge by the pool which overlooks the sea and enjoy cocktails from our beach bar and delicious food from our poolside grille or main restaurant. The pool courtyard has been refurnished with comfortable lounge chairs and new dining furniture. Our staff try to ensure that every guest is made to feel welcome at their home away from home, whether you visit for business or pleasure. We look forward to serving you again. Warm regards and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

We stayed here en route from Bequia to Barbados. The location is great, right on the beach. Our room was a little 'tired' - cracked plasterwork on the ceiling and a water-damaged bathroom door. It was a little curious that, with a largely empty hotel, the room above us was also occupied and there was a certain amount of noise resulting from that.

Our biggest complaint was about their billing. The first occasion was at breakfast when my husband ordered a Full Caribbean breakfast consisting of salt cod and bakes served with toast, juice and coffee. When the food arrived we queried the non-existant bakes and were told that 'there weren't any today'. It would have been nice to have been informed of this when ordering as without them the Full Caribbean was a bit Empty. Worse was that when we got the bill, the Full charge for the Full Caribbean was made. When we asked why, we were told that toast had been supplied instead of the bakes though the menu was clear that toast was always served. After much discussion, the staff finally relented and a small discount was given.

The second billing error occurred at dinner. The main dish ordered by my husband was not available and he substituted another. When the bill arrived, he was charged both for the unavailable item and the one that was served!

The third error occurred at checkout. Included on the bill was the room rate, which we had paid in full on our arrival!

None of these errors could have resulted from stress due to the number of guests being served in the restaurant or handled by reception as, barring us and the person in the room above us, there were pretty well no other people staying in the hotel that night!

Please Sunset Shores management, get your act together so that your hotel and staff live up to the wonderful location.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola S, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Carol C,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while en route to Bequia. We must apologize for the billing errors. Despite your experience, the staff are usually very competent with billing. Having said that, we will review your case with each department involved to see what we can do to ensure that our procedures are followed properly. Our staff strive to provide "Island Hospitality at its Best". That is our motto. We can't live up to that standard if our actions are remiss. We will also investigate why bakes were not available. They should always be in ample supply.
We are conveniently located between Argyle International Airport and the ferry dock which is just a short drive from the hotel. This makes Sunset Shores a convenient place to stay overnight for travelers who are going onward to the Grenadine Islands.
The hotel is presently undergoing renovations. All public areas are being upgraded with new furniture. Rooms are being completely updated from the floor to the ceiling with draperies, bedding, mattresses and furniture being replaced in the process. Renovations are progressing slowly to try to minimize impact to our guests.
We agree that our location is wonderful - directly on Villa Beach with a southern exposure. Guests can enjoy beautiful sunsets from the Coral Deck by the pool bar where renovations have been completed and new dining and lounge furniture complete the look.
If you return to St. Vincent, we hope you will try us again. We are certain you will enjoy the changes. Warmest Regards & Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Stayed at this boutique hotel on a return visit and was very impressed. New pool furniture, lovely upgraded lobby seating and fresh color scheme. Great pool bar. Rooms very comfortable with nice A/C. This establishment is stepping up their game. Saturday night BBQ with an added bonus of a fantastic steel drum artist. Thumbs Up !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola S, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hello Westley S,
Thank you for taking the time to share the great news about our property upgrade. We are definitely stepping up our game and are pleased that you like the improvements that we are making. :) We are also thrilled by our new fresh look. Room renos are underway, menus are being updated, new dining room furniture is on order ...we are renewing our commitment to delivering Island Hospitality at its Best!

Rodney "Vincy Fresh" Small came out to play two weekends in a row for our Saturday Night BBQ. He is definitely a rising star and fantastic pan player. We hope to have him return several times throughout the year, especially for special events. We held two Hurricane Relief fund raiser events for our sister Caribbean Islands that have been so badly devastated by the storms that passed to the north of us. We will be donating an additional EC$1000 plus food and supplies that we sent a couple of weeks earlier following Irma.

Thankfully, Sunset Shores Beach Hotel and all of St. Vincent and the Grenadines were not caught in the storms' paths, and we are open for business! When you return to our beautiful island, we hope to see you again so you can see the and enjoy the entire business transition that is underway.

Safe Travels & Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

When to these hotel to have a drink and decided to have a looking on their menu in general price wasn't too bad affordable it's a nice big hotel lots off space big deck pool balcony dinning inside out side nice inside bar out side bar and BQ ND very clean but there sum thing the hotel was empty no staff on the floor it see only the bar guy and one lady the bar guy was in the bar and have to do watriess at the time it was only 3 people's dinning and at the bar 3 people have drinks and me and my husband so that was 8 off us it was a Thursday night we decide we are going to have our meal their after look true on the menu we had starter which wasn't too bad I had samosas with sum dressing it was a little not so hot the samosas the dressing was OK on it the rolls was freshly two slice banana bread that was okay and my husband had the crab backs which was OK to him but our main course was a disaster I had the grilled pork chops with sum season edos pumpkin planters and green peas the pork chops was a stale meat look like it was on the deeper freezer for months it actually don't have any pork chops smell it's was just off and it's was cold food serve us nothings on my plates I didn't enjoy because it's wasn't fresh food my husband had the fillet mignon steak and it's wasn't fresh it's old meat on deep freeze his green salad was okay but the steak wasn't fresh we wouldn't not go back their for a meal it was my 1st time my husband had be their in the past about 10 years ago but he say it's wasn't like that the best we would do is go their for a drink it's a nice hotel it just need to promote more for all view and people that wish to go their just watch out for the food in general cause stale food can cause medical health

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Racquel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lola S, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Racquel F,
Thank you for taking the time to describe our hotel. We are located directly on Villa Beach overlooking the Caribbean Sea and some of the Grenadine Islands offering a breathtaking view and magical sunsets.
We take you comments very seriously. If you read through our reviews, most guests say that our food is very good. I do hope that you said something to the waiter because this is definitely not typical and we apologize most sincerely for such a terrible experience. We serve locally grown fruits and vegetables, fish is brought to our kitchen directly from the sea (by fishermen), and other meats are sourced through reputable providers on the island. Our food handling procedures should prevent this. We will conduct an investigation to determine how this happened and ensure it does not occur again. We are quite confident that if you were to come back your next dining experience would be very enjoyable.
Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews