We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 16:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Destrehan Plantation
from US$125.00
More Info
from US$145.00
More Info
from US$102.00
More Info
from US$89.00
More Info
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
307
145
45
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
145
45
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomas jefferson our tour guide gift shop historical society jefferson room period costume the main house new orleans river road explore the grounds slave quarters great tour louisiana purchase spanish moss live oak trees louisiana history oak alley
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Visited Destrehan Plantation on a combined Plantation/Swamp tour package from Gray Line Tours. The house and grounds are gorgeous, in a lovely location a short ride, 30 minutes or so, outside New Orleans. We had an engaging and informative tour hosted by our knowledgeable guide, Jim, and then some time afterwards to explore the grounds, slave quarters and additional displays on our own, take a few photo's etc and a quick once around the gift shop

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The plantation in and of itself is not the best you can see but it's history is fascinating and our guide, Beverly, was informative, interesting, funny and made the visit wonderful. We all loved learning the history of the place and are so impressed with the fact that it has been saved after falling into disrepair. well worth the visit.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Amazing tour with interesting history. Then see the grounds and film on your own. Many items to see and read at your own pace. Only 30 mins from NOLA and they open approx 9:00/9:30am, so it's a great short trip to see the plantation for the am or allows you a great start to then head further west to see other plantations. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank BOSTRVLR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Just a 30 minute drive from New Orleans, this unassuming house sits close to the Mississippi River and is a beautifully peaceful location. Our guide took us round the house and explained the work done by the staff and owners of the plantation, with interesting detail about the building and its construction over the years, with history spanning indigo, sugar and petrochemical production. I was fascinated to learn that the film "Interview with a Vampire" was filmed here (and having since watched it, there are plenty of views of the house featured in it). The guides wear period costume and are very informative. Photography is permitted throughout, apart from the Jefferson Room (which houses an original document signed by Thomas Jefferson). There are slave quarters behind the house and a fascinating exhibition on the 1811 slave revolt. There is a gift shop and an adjoining room containing tourist information leaflets.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Tosca1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Informative guide, lovely home, interesting history, beautiful grounds, gift shop, adequate parking. If visiting New Orleans, it's only about a 30 min. drive. Great for day trip.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank jgoinstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews