We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
46
18
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
18
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews island hopping family and friends banana boat food was great master suite small children semi suite my son little bit resort activities paradise fun bacolod vacation beach water
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Hear my story. Nabulao is a classy beach resort tucked within a cove in Hinobaan.It is an ideal getaway for families who wanted the best of both worlds, serenity and adventure. We booked the cattleya room, the biggest that they can offer as we are a family of eight with the small children. When we arrived, we were instantly greeted with smiles. However, I noticed that they have given us the master suite 1. Having seen the room, I got confused and when I cleared things up I was told that they have booked our room with another guest and said it was an upgrade for us to have the new room. Thinking that they were only sugar coating the mistake they made, and my dad keeps reminding me of the welcome drink he wanted that front desk promised, which never showed up, I was really turned off and I told my wife I dont want our vacation to be put to waste, she said just put a bad review if they really can't do anything as we already paid for the room we wanted. We went to the front desk again and I asked them the room was not big enough and we wanted the one we booked and paid already. Staff said that there were problems on the online booking and things messed up so they can provide extra beddings for free. My wife insisted of giving us a better offer. After a few discussions, they gave us another room for two free of charge. Free breakfast was given as well. It turned out to be a delightful and lush experience for my family. Food was great and water sports activities give this resort an edge compared to their competitors. A little bit on the pricey side, be prepared to spend a few more to enjoy more. Overall, this resort prides itself for its activities and amenities but what makes it great is the hospitality abd courtesy its staff offers.

PROS:
1. Beautiful landscaping, well maintained facilities, and a variety of water sport activities.
2. Staffs are courteous and hospitable.
3. Food were mostly great, some of them are subpar but pasta dishes were delightful, Halo halo is a must try as well.
4. Watersport activities. Island hopping- snorkeling, banana boat just to name a few.

CONS:
1. Internet sucks. Almost always disconnects. I am not bothered that much though as I always stroll the beach and enjoy the view in the hammock with my feet covered with sand and my kids smiling beside me. But my siblings being single were oblivious. Please improve this as we are in the digital age.
2. Food service can be more improved. As this resort restricts outside food and beverages, all guests order food in the restaurant and it takes time for it to arrive. It is a bit pricey, guests wanted quicker service and sufficient water serviced as well as the Philippine weather can dehydrate you and salty breeze can dry you out. Rooms have terraces as well so I don't see why guests cant have room service and eat at each room's terrace as it gives a homey feel to the place and lessen congestion at the restaurant.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ThatDoubleChinnedGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely resort and staff! Owners were so kind and thoughtful. We visited from the states with our large family. The accommodations were wonderful,so relaxing. We will stay there, again!! Hopefully for longer!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank olesonangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nabulaobeachresort, Public Relations Manager at Nabulao Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

thank you so much for your kind review, we appreciate you taking time to tell people of your experience and are looking forward to seeing you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We just had our company outing in this resort and there were more than 80 of us. The place was nice, the rooms were spacious and great, the pressure of the water in the shower was strong, the buildings were well-kept but did not crowd out the open spaces and the place was generally peaceful, quiet, clean and well-maintained. The staff was efficient and the best of all, the food was great. The only thing that was slow was the wifi. Except for that, the resort was perfect and it made our stay a great experience and we look forward to booking our company outing in this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rollyrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nabulaobeachresort, Public Relations Manager at Nabulao Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciate you taking time to tell us of your experience with us. it was a pleasure to have you and your group at the resort and we welcome you to return again and again.

With regards to the internet this is something we are continually working to improve and develop. we are currently working closely with Globe to be able to provide the best service we can in our location.

Thank you again and take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We booked for 2 days on arrival and added a extra night big mistake , although the staff were friendly hard working up to 16 hrs a day which the staff confirmed it was poorly organized particularly the restaurant.
The senior manager inso I believe was his name appeared very arrogant only interested in a party of his guests with disco loud music late into the night .we arranged for family and friends who come from a poor village for a once in year day out which they looked so forward to ! They were so happy playing in the pool it was a pleasure to see there faces until management told them they had to leave as they didn't have the right swimming attire on they looked so humiliated being asked to leave . Plus the sea is cloudy smelling of fish fertiliser. Avoid

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nabulaobeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Nabulao Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate for you taking the time to let us know of your experience. We sincerely apologize that you didn't find your stay with us satisfactory, however, we would like to address the points you raised.

Firstly, we would like to apologize for the music. The weekend you were here, there was a private function and the music was louder than it would normally have been, for this, we are sorry if it effected your stay.

With regards to the hours, our staff are employed to work, no member of staff works for 16 hours a day. Our staff have a set schedule of work all within government guidelines and within health and safety standards.

As a resort, we have set of standards with regards to our facilities and services. It was never our intention to make the kids you were with to feel uncomfortable nor humiliated. However, as part of our rules and regulations, we state that any client using the swimming pool must be wearing the correct swimming attire. We cannot allow customers to wear day clothes into the swimming pool for safety reasons and for the customers own well-being.

Regarding the condition of our beach area, our resort is situated in a shallow bay of golden sand. The water in the bay may appear cloudy but this is in fact due to the shallow water and the color of the sand underneath. As the bay gets deeper, the water becomes clearer and opens up to some amazing coral reefs and marine life. So although this gives the water a cloudy color, it is in fact clean and safe for children to swim in due to how shallow it is. There are no fish farms in the bay and therefore no fish fertilizer in the area.

We trust these answers the points you have raised, should you have any other concerns we would be more than happy to discuss them with you and welcome you to contact us at the resort via phone or email.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights. Called to book, but receptionist couldn't explain how we could get a room for 4 people, but only 3 breakfasts. Finally booked online, but spent 45 mins checking in because of confusion over booking. Finally got our room with the 4 breakfasts included. Dinner was mediocre. Breakfast was cold and undercooked. Service at both meals was poor. They depend a lot on trainees from local colleges, but don't bother to train them. They had WiFi, but no internet access. Pool water was dirty because filter wasn't turned on. The room was large, but the mattresses were hard. The AC worked well. The electric instant water heater (Bagwhan-type) was hard to find and never seemed to heat the water. The only saving grace was a nice sunset, but the hotel has nothing to do with that. We paid for 4 star accommodations and food, but got a 1 star hotel and service. If you're wheelchair bound, good luck with trying to get around on the property.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank philvet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nabulaobeachresort, Guest Relations Manager at Nabulao Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and letting us know about your stay with us. We would like to apologize that you found your stay unsatisfactory. That being said, we would like to address the points you have raised and hope to address some of your concerns.

Firstly, with regards to the room you booked, the room is booked with an occupancy for 3 people but extra people can be added to the room for an additional fee. This however does not include a free breakfast and would have an additional cost. We appreciate this may have been confusing and we sincerely apologize if it was not explained to you correctly.

We have very high standards within our kitchen and restaurant and are surprised to hear that you did not enjoy our food. We wish you would have brought to our attention that the breakfast was not to your liking at the time so we could have addressed this issue for you.

With regards to our Staff, at the time of your stay, we had agreed with some of the local schools to allow their students to take their on-the-job training with us. It is a requirement as part of their studies for them to complete 80 hours of work and we feel by allowing them to do this at our resort we are able to help the local schools and community. We also feel that it is a great opportunity to employ new members of staff from within the local community. We however do not rely on them and we have our core team of staff who oversee the running of the resort.

With regards to the wifi, we have had some issues due to the lack of infrastructure in place form the local internet provider. We have and are continuing to work on this issue and can now confirm with some recent modifications. We now have a steady and reliable internet connection.

As for the water heater, we have checked our electric water heater and wish to confirm to you that does work and we have checked that it heats the water. Again, we would greatly appreciate it if you had mentioned this to our staff so this issue could be brought to our maintenance manage. We would have been happy to assist you with this matter.

We would agree with your comment that wheelchair access at the resort is restricted to certain areas, however we do not advertise that our facilities are suitable for wheelchair access. We would however work on this matter to make sure that our resort would be more inclusive next time.

We hope that we have addressed the points you have raised, should you have any further concerns or queries we would be happy to answer these for you so please do not hesitate to contact us via email.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews