We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
60
47
19
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
47
19
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome center beautiful park horseback riding campground office gem mining hiking trails growing up balcony overlooking interesting tour putt putt golf shower restroom lodge restaurant the cottages cable tv great weekend enjoyable stay natural bridge
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018

We have been camping here for the past 8 years and I would have rated 5 star because we love everything about the park however the past 3 years were water problems, this year being the worst. NO water at times and then when there was water the pressure was so low it was only a dribble. Their excuse was they were filling the pool, to a paying guest for full hook-up this is no excuse. The pool should be on a different water line. I bet the lodge was not without water. Sadly, we will not be returning until the water situation is resolved.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Yes the water issue is a problem. It was in regards to filling the pool and we will look at alternatives on filling the pool in the future. Maybe do it during the night when the demand for water is low. Again we apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

they turn off the water at the campground almost every day ....DONT stray here it will just get your blood pressure up. they say I dont know a lot and the rangers make false promises...it will be back on by 4.......never again this trip has been a disaster

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

We do not turn the water off in the campground. When we are preparing the pool to open yes we do have low water pressure in the campground. Unfortunately that is an issue we have with our infrastructure. We apologize for that. However that is one time a year we fill the pool. Everything should be fine now. If someone told you that you don't know a lot then forward me their name and I will address that with them, but I can not see a staff member telling any of our guests that they don't know anything. Sorry your stay was not your satisfaction. We do try our best to make everyones visit a good one but there are times we need to do some park maintenance issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

I absolutely loved Carter Caves state park. The lodge was beautiful, beds are comfy, and trails surrounding were very well marked. In short , great place to stay, just bring your own food. My complaint was the restaurant and front desk staff. Staff were uninformed about the park and the restaurant 3 waitresses could not take care of 12 people total. This was off season and the lack of work ethic was definitely off this visit. Park Rangers and welcome center employees were fantastic. Definitely worth a repeat

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cabLouisville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you for your input about your stay. We definitely will be discussing these points. Hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cabins with another couple and kids over spring break. Very inexpensive, fun trip for all ages. Even the gift shop was reasonably priced! —We plan to go back in the summer to explore more trails and caves. Loved it!!!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your post! Most of all THANKS for choosing Carter Caves. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Reservation was easy on the phone. Room was clean and dog friendly. Plenty of clean fresh towels when needed and all the staff were so nice. X cave tour and Cascade cave tour and guide was great. Lodge Restaurant had awesome huge catfish was delicious. Waitress was very courteous. Highly recommend for a kid friendly or family get away. This state park is beautiful.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank None of Your B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

What a great post! THANK YOU!. Please come as often as you can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews