We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian Food Restaurant”

Shalimar Indian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Shalimar Indian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #176 of 1,989 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: East Louisville
Cross street: Bunsen Way
Description: Growing up in an immigrant Indian family, we understood that America is the land of opportunity, where dreams come true. We're grateful to all the guests who have given us the opportunity to share our vision. Some restaurants are ideal for special occasions. Indeed we hope many of you, our guests, will celebrate birthdays, anniversaries and other memorable events with us. But, at Shalimar we strive to make every lunch and dinner a special occasion for every guest. When we open the doors to the restaurant for lunch, dinner or catering, it's as if we're opening the doors to our own homes and inviting guests to enjoy extraordinary food paired with a rich Indian lager beer or a glass of wine from our extensive wine list. Our menu features the finest Northern Indian entrees and our specialty Tandoori (Clay Oven) dishes. Shalimar is elegant, relaxed, and affordable, inviting guests to enjoy the hospitality that reflects our Indian heritage.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We happen to be there for our Lunch. And believe me the Authentic Indian Test, quality of food and the choices were great.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chetan_Yangalwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2018

loved it. we had the big non-vegetarian sampler plate and loved everything there. also had the potato appetizer.

service was outstanding too. much of the staff are so authentic that their english skills are low, but that adds to the authenticity of the meal.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank arizona-mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

I CANT GIVE YOU ZERO or Minus STAR.....look at the photographs ...ordered Paneer Chilli for to go and what i was served was chicken CHILLI ....ARE YOU KIDDING ME ?? ...after all this i gave call to restaurant and person at the reception hung up on me ....WHAT A SHAME ..

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Service
Thank Daya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Beyond awful service. Would give zero stars if I could. Lamb was 90% fat. We ordered chicken korma mild and it came out spicy. Waiter never once checked on us. Waiter got defensive when we reminded him that he never checked on us after our food was brought to us. This was previously one of our favorite Indian restaurants but we will not be back.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank YoYoMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Our church challenged us to try a new cuisine from a country we support with our missions. We chose Indian and then came here. My husband, son, and I have never tasted Indian food before. We very much enjoyed the flavors. We just left two hours ago and my son is already asking when we can go back.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank ms_blue_eyes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shalimar Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Louisville, KY
 

Been to Shalimar Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing