We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Old Louisville Elegance”

Buck's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #10 of 1,994 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Louisville
Reviewed 18 September 2018

This is a very lovely restaurant filled with white flowers and tablecloths and styles as a garden courtyard setting. The food is delicious; everything from appetizer to dessert is worth ordering. The service is attentive and kind and you are really taken care of as a guest. The piano playing is fun and charming and definitely adds to the uniqueness of your evening. The bourbon choices are exemplary of the region and other cocktails highlight the best of Louisville. You will not be disappointed!

1  Thank kimsmithdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy B, Public Relations Manager at Buck's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2018

While staying at the Dupont Mansion, our host recommended Bucks as our dinner choice. He told us about the live piano player and even suggested a tune that was a local favorite......so we walked two blocks to a most wonderful restaurant. The restauraunt's atmosphere is haunting and romantic as it is painted in dark colors of the night. All the flowers, and there were so many of them, are white to represent the moon and stars. The food was excellent! I had the crispy fish and needed a doggy bag. My husband had the quail and he too took his home. The music was so perfect and the pianist extremely personable. All in all it was such a great evening. At the end of dinner, we were given a stem of "Star of Bethlehem". We were given instructions on how to cut it for continuous blooms for weeks to come. Having it as a reminder was so nice as it bloomed in our bud vase for several weeks upon our return. Seating is available indoor as well as outdoor. The menu is varied and wonderful. Stop in for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RosemaryK156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy B, Public Relations Manager at Buck's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

We say that when the Start of Bethlehem loses its bloom, it's time to come back to Buck's. I hope you can make a return trip to visit us for another celebration. Thank you for posting this review and Happy Anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We went to Buck's to celebrate our anniversary and were blown away with the bourbon selection and the quality of the food. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Louisville.

Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy B, Public Relations Manager at Buck's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for including us in your anniversary celebration and for sharing this review. Please come back and celebrate with us any time!~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We were hosted in Louisville by friends and at their recommendation we took them to Bucks to repay their hospitality.
None of us were disappointed in any part of the night. From the outside Bucks seems a unassuming but once inside things change, decor is nice and we had a nice pianist as background.
The service was friendly and courteous without being in your face in any way.
The wine list was a fine selection of US wines and even some AUS wines that we were familiar with and could discuss with the wait staff.
What can you say about the food other than go and try it for your self. We especially liked the crab cakes and my travelling companion's New York cut steak was excellent. The chef can do better then just rare/medium etc, describe the amount of pinkness you'd like and that's how it arrives at your table.
Prices seemed OK to us even when we went for AUD to USD and added a tip, certainly not food truck prices but they didn't melt the plastic either.
Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Fwombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy B, Public Relations Manager at Buck's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your review. I'm so happy you enjoyed yourself and your meal. Hope you enjoyed your trip to Louisville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We recently spent a long weekend at a B & B located on south 3rd Street. The proprietor suggested we dine at Buck's. What a great referral. Buck's is a quiet modestly sized restaurant with a wonderful piano player/crooner who performed tunes from the 1940s forward. The ambience was nice and the food was wonderful. We were there with a group of 10 friends who have traveled together on a long weekend for the past 39 years.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChuckR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy B, Public Relations Manager at Buck's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you so much for stopping in with your group. We appreciate your review and we hope you'll come back to see us next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buck's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Buck's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing