We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT--The owners are awesome HOST”
Review of Mayan Cafe

Mayan Cafe
Ranked #3 of 1,994 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Phoenix Hill
Description: The Mayan Cafe is a small, intimate space. Photos of our chef's village in Mexico cover the walls. We serve authentic Mayan food in an atmosphere of simple elegance.
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Small frontage off Market Street. Parking available on street. The service is the BEST!!

It's a hidden treasure in NULU!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 314ljohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Owner at Mayan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Thanks so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2018

Recently had dinner here and had a really great experience - we enjoy Central American food and that seems to be where a lot of the menu items draw from.

We sampled several items, ranked from good to great: salmon entree, gazpacho, pork salbutes, spaghetti squash toss, and scallop ceviche. Everything was solid, but we could have eaten nothing but the ceviche and walked away happy, which was perfectly prepared with a poblano vinaigrette that had just the right amount of heat. Also worth checking out was the spaghetti squash toss, which had great flavors and was very satisfying even though it was vegetarian.

We also tried the Don't Worry About It and blood orange margarita, both of which were great. The former is basically an old-fashioned and the margarita was really refreshing on a very hot day.

Overall a very good place and worth visiting to get out of the typical modern American/gastropub rut.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NRS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Owner at Mayan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thanks for dining with us recently, Nicholas. We are glad you enjoyed your meal! Our chef is a Mayan Indian from the Yucatan Peninsula in Mexico, so that's the foundation of our menu. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and we hope to see you soon!

~Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

While I didn't know many of the ingredients on this menu, all of them were blended to PERFECTION and presented beautifully. I NEVER like eating at the same restaurant twice while on vacation, but I made an exception for this restaurant. It was FANTASTIC!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 901JMF901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Owner at Mayan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you so much for dining with us twice on your visit to Louisville! We so appreciate your support and are really glad you enjoyed your meals with us. Enjoy your stay in town and safe travels!

~Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

The Mayan Café delivers wonderful menu options for any persuasion. I dine vegan, my daughter is gluten intolerant. We both had delicious lunch choices and, for this is a rather rare chance, a decadent chocolate dessert that satisfies both our needs. The drinks menu is interesting, the atmosphere is casual but chic, the staff is pleasant. Every time I go, I am satisfied and looking forward to the next time.
I’ve recommended the Mayan Café to others and have gained a reputation for having excellent recommendations for dining out. I would also recommend the food truck menu at Gravely for street tacos. Enjoy!

Thank marywithgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Owner at Mayan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words, Mary. We truly believe that food is health, therefore it's so important to us to have a variety of options, all with good flavor(!), for folks with dietary restrictions. It warms my heart to know that both you and your daughter can eat well and safely with us. Thank you for suggesting us to your friends! Your support means a lot.
~Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Went there for lunch. The duck tacos & Blood Orange Margarita were both great. Service is really good too.

Thank uncleotho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Owner at Mayan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thanks very much!!
~Bruce & Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayan Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mayan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing