We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
82
103
77
28
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
103
77
28
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews papa john's pizza room was clean great location budget option within walking distance kfc yum center blow dryer priced hotel whiskey row yogurt fourth street live per night louisville slugger museum would definitely stay here again motel fridge concert
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First off, we were booking ‘just a bed’ for one night in Louisville. So I get that it’s not high end. We arrived at 1.30pm and asked to check in early. The lady behind the desk didn’t even check before we were told a curt ‘you will have to come back after 3pm’. Thankfully the car park was most empty and we were allowed to leave it there. So we spent the afternoon/night exploring Louisville. Checked in 9.30pm. King bed was nice, bedding was clean. Room 211 is right near the lifts. So there was noise from people at all times. There was also a lot of noise when people showered and toilets flushed. Our toilet had a mysterious puddle next to it by the morning. I went to sit in the chair at the desk and it was all torn up. Breakfast was so basic. No butter to be seen for toast/bagels. No water. So far we have stayed at a Sleep Inn, Holiday Inn and it hasn’t been so noisy. Location is good. Just bring earplugs.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Travel a lot and like the budget hotels most of the time but this one needs work. Location in process of renovation and much over due. My room not far enough along. NO molding in the bathroom; see attached pic. Very limited or no usable WiFi; TV pixelates too. Plan to use your personal WiFi on your phone if you need to get on line. Doesn’t bother me that much but lots of noisy riff-raft hanging out on balconies late into the night; panhandlers too. However very reasonable price for this location if you can tolerate negatives. Probably would not stay here again or recommend. Good Luck!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
Thank Dennis4742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

This hotel is a really decent place for a downtown location. It is across the street from 2 4/5 Star hotels in a nice area of the city. The room was clean, comfortable. The carpet was a bit worn. Otherwise, not bad. There is a Papa Johns on the property and down the street 2 blocks is a full on Food Court. I will certainly go back to this property if I'm in the area. Also, there is a good convenience store across the street as well.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for the review. I am glad that we provided clean and comfortable room which is our goal for each and every guest. I agree that Papa John on the property is very good options for food. Once again, thanks a lot and we will see you soon!

Pete Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

The hotel across the road looks much more luxurious, but for the price the Econolodge is in a great location, breakfast is good and the staff were very friendly. You're right in town so can walk to everywhere you'd possible want to visit, but it's not particularly loud/noisy. Each night we walked back from whichever bars/restaurant we'd been to. Parking is $5/day extra.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nathanwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Greeted by an extremely pleasant guy at check in. Plenty of parking spaces($5/day). Room although a little tired it was extremely clean.Wifi a little slow at times, the breakfast was fine with a reasonable sized eating area. Cereals, toast, fruit but nothing hot. Great location only 10 minute walk to 4th Street Live area & 20 minutes to Slugger, Frazier, Muhammad Ali & Sons Of The Revolution Museums. All round a great budget motel, would definitely recommend to friends & family staying over in Louisville.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews