We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$86
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Wheelersburg)
US$138
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn(Portsmouth)
US$56
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
US$144
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ashland Inn(Ashland)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Four Keys Motel(Portsmouth)
US$61
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
21
21
10
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
21
10
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailsrooms are cleanworking orderstate resort parksswimming poolnearest town ispaddlinglobby
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

We generally don't do buffets for my wife's health reasons; but figured that the food volume being served would have everything at a safe temperature.

Kentucky State Resort Parks offer a Thanksgiving buffet, and since it was just the two of us we thought we'd give it a try; and chose Greenbo Lake since neither of us had been there. It was a pretty day for a drive.

The buffet was plentiful, and as was hoped everything was steaming hot. Besides the Ky SRP staples of fried chicken and catfish fiddlers there was ham, chef-sliced beef and turkey. Lots of good sides and a great desert selection.

A large table of cheese, crackers and vegetables was set up next to the roaring fireplace in the main lodge room to nibble on while waiting for your table. We sat at a window overlooking the lake and woods.

All in all, not a bad day.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ranger505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your comment and hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We wound up staying on a whim after planning to go to the lake for a few hours to paddle board. The paddling was abs beautiful. Stayed over, had a delicious breakfast buffet even though we showed up 5min to close. Wound up spending part of the afternoon exploring and geocaching. We'll be back!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SQuitter79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your comments and review of our park. We look forward to having you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We stay here every year, so was expecting a lot of changes since is was closed for nearly a yea after a major fire.
So everything does look vey clean, some new furniture in the lobby, but it remains vey institutional looking.
Our 3d floor room looked as the rooms did before, The new heating/cooling system is a challenge to operate.
The food in the restaurant is nothing more than just mediocre.
The chicken strips were terrible, the banana pudding contained black bananas, the Friday night buffet was not worth what is charged, the breakfast buffet is nothing special and well overpriced for what is available. The grits wee runny and tasteless.
The service remains impeccable, the wait staff is very friendly and attempting to make everyone's stay special.
Sadly I don't think the service is enough to get us to return. Its time to find a new state lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank justanotherman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Please accept my sincere apology for the poor food quality you experienced during your recent visit to our restaurant. At Greenbo Lake State Resort Park, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. We are working to make improvements and hope you give us another chance to provide you with the excellent quality of food that Kentucky State Parks are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

A group of us stayed two nights at this lodge. We were expecting a new lodge because of a previous fire but it was just redone because of smoke damage. The rooms were old but clean - did not like the fact that you walked thru the bathroom to enter! The front desk and cleaning ladies were very friendly. THE RESTAURANT WAS TERRIBLE. The first night was a seafood buffet and the food was cold. The scalloped potatoes were so thick you could not spoon them. The breakfast of oatmeal was not edible -so thick a spoon stood straight up in it. The BLT's were skimpy. We ate our lunch & supper the next day away from there and left early to eat breakfast elsewhere. I told front desk and they just smiled and said they were in transition and "trying" out cooks. Well, they may lose customers before they get this solved. VERY Disappointed. And they didn't even offer us anything to make up for our bad experience!

Room Tip: ok if you do not want any activities as you have to drive to everything.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Please accept my sincere apology for the poor food quality you experienced during your recent visit to our restaurant. At Greenbo Lake State Resort Park, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. We are working to make improvements and hope you give us another chance to provide you with the excellent quality of food that Kentucky State Parks are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

I debated between 3 or 4 stars. The fact that it's full hook up pushed it to 4. Overall a decent quiet campground. Our site backed up to the creek which was a little scary during the storm. It went from barely a trickle to a raging river within a couple of hours but, thankfully, never came over the bank- in our loop.
We had intermittent phone signal, no wifi at the campground. Not a bad thing when you're looking to get away though.
The major disappointment was the extra cost for the swimming pool. It's $2.50 a day per person. Very frustrating since swimming is not allowed anywhere in the lake. Also, you should be aware that it is not close to the campground. Trying to walk or ride a bike to it would be dangerous as the road is narrow and winding. There is no bike path. You need a vehicle to access the pool.
The bath houses differ. The one in our loop had locks on doors. Another loop had no locks, only curtains and a wide open entry door. A little weird.
Would be nice if there was a garbage dumpster at the exit to make disposing of trash easier on the way out.
Yes, there are snakes to watch out for.

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank MichiganPhotogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your comment. We hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews