We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenup
Reviewed 16 August 2015

I camped here in my travel trailer and have quite a bit of experience staying in Kentucky's State parks.

The bathroom in the campground was filty and the showerstalls were dirty. It appears that there is no upkeep to keep the painted block walls in the showers clean and free of mold or dirt. The floors were dirty as well.

The hiking trails are pretty long and be sure to bring water. The trails were actually nice, just be sure to use plenty of bug spray before going out. There are also camping spots for primitive and horse camping as well.

You can go to the lake and rent a pontoon to go fishing and I believe there is a pool there as well. As you pull in to check in, the office is actually farther down at the lake where you can rent boats.

It appears that they have a shortage of workers there, hence the closed check-in station and dirty bathrooms.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Tachdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Greenbo is a great park to spend the day with family. There is so much to do and see here. Growing up only living 10 mins away from the park makes me miss it so much now that I am 45 mins away. I still come here to either to take a walk and site see, hike, fish, or go to the lodge all while still spending time with family.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Bethann6435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Really enjoyed the drive through the country, roads could stand to be repaved on Rt 1. Enjoyed the old one room school and the old iron furnace ! grounds were kept up good. The lake is of decent size and they have a place where you can scuba dive as well. They rent canoe's , paddle boats, pontoons, kayak's and fishing boats at the Marina. The lodge don't have very many rooms, so best to call in advance if your planning on spending the night... we seen some deer grazing on the side of the road as we can into the park ( daytime ) . Nice pool with a slide at the bottom of the hill before you get to the lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brewer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

Pros:
Nice scenic lake
Fully stocked lake with fish
Decent food
Came with blow dryer
Plenty of towels etc.
Playground and pool (family friendly)
Plenty of parking

Cons:
Middle of nowhere
Dated
Small uncomfortable beds
Tv was small and picture was fuzzy
Low water pressure in shower
Water gets HOT!
limited wifi-- if you can get connected
Horrible customer service in the restaurant! Had to flag down my server every time.
Meals were expensive
Took forever to get our food
Lack of lake views

Would NOT recommend! Go to another resort like Lake Cumberland or Barren River are nice.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank OAWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

The lodge is quite large, but the lobby is a little dimly lit. Check-in took only a few minutes and the lady at the desk was very helpful and friendly, giving me advice about several nearby places to see.

My room was on the first floor, which was the floor below the main lobby. The door opened from the outside and when I entered my room, I walked directly through the bathroom, which I thought was a strange arrangement, but it was OK. The room was inviting, but a little dark. There were three lamps, all with low watt bulbs, and no ceiling lights. The room, hardwood floors and bathroom were very clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable with better quality linens than some places I have stayed. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom and lighting over the large vanity was very good. The room was spacious with nice furniture and a flat screen TV. There were black marks on the walls and baseboards so maybe some fresh paint would be in order.

Another door across the room opened onto a large grassy lawn with a hill that went down to the river. I could see a dock through the trees, but didn't walk down there because the grass was wet from all the recent rain. The large pool looked inviting, but due to the weather there was no one swimming. There are several hiking trails in the park, along with camping and boating.

The lodge has a large dining room serving three meals daily. My dinner of lightly breaded fish fillets and stir fry vegetables was very good and nicely seasoned, except I thought the vegetables were too greasy. The cole slaw was very thick and overly creamy and not to my liking. The server and other employees were very friendly and helpful.

I stayed here because this lodge was recommended by someone on the internet who posted a driving route to the covered bridges in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenup
19.1 km away
Days Inn Ashland
Days Inn Ashland
#5 of 10 in Ashland
289 reviews
19.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland
18.8 km away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
8.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
10.5 km away
Best Western River Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)

Address: West KY Hwy 1711, HC 60, Box 562, Greenup, KY 41144
Region: United States > Kentucky > Greenup
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenup
Price Range: €56 - €113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge) Hotel Greenup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing