We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
22
21
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
21
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are clean seafood buffet rocking chairs state resort parks swimming pool nearest town is paddling lobby
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I stay at this Lodge quite often because it is near our son's house. It is so quiet and peaceful there. The Lodge is not new, but the rooms are nice and very comfortable. The beds a comfortable. Each room has a balcony overlooking the lake. They serve free continental breakfast in the off season and a bigger breakfast in the travel season. It is a great value for the money. Rates are as low as $45.00 in the off season but could be up to $105.00 on weekends in the summer. They have hiking trails, tennis courts, play ground, an outdoor pool, pontoon rental and fishing, just to mention a few.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruiser843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Clean , Quite , Hiking , good food , inexpenive , great staff . Staying at Greenbo state park in Kentucky was a restful experience . For seniors during the week it can't be beat !
First , the rate of $45.00 a day plus a free breakfast , eggs, danish, bisk., oats, toast, juice, milk , coffee, muffin, cereal , and more . Do the math , 2 people breakfast w/ tip $20.00 elsewhere . Now take this off the $45.00 per night , = $25.00+tax per night . What a deal ! Lunch and dinner prices were very reasonable and the staff was off the charts with service .
The place is beauitful ..The Jesse Stuart Resort is cool and the price is right .

Room tip: just ask for a room overlooking the lake
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon7743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a wonderful time at Greenbo. The rooms are small but sufficient for what we needed. We really enjoy the pool and renting the pontoon boat. It is a must if you really want to understand why people come back to Greenbo! The water is clear enough to see the fish swimming.

The game room does have some broken items but the ping pong table made for a great laugh every night.

The staff is wonderful and very friendly. The front desk, the staff at the marina and the manager Carey was really helpful in making Greenbo the spot for a great family trip on a tight budget!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcatjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

My wife and I booked this property while visiting friends in the area. After staying in an underwhelming Days Inn during our last visit, we were stunned to find this property equally priced. Although it's a bit remote (it took us about 40 minutes to get to Flatwoods), it was a very beautiful little park that provided a nice, relaxing weekend for the both of us.

The property requires driving about 12 miles down winding, hilly roads. Once you are at the park, the directions to the lodge are very well marked. The lodge itself is typical state park, although the doors open to the outside. The facility is very clean and well kept. Although we did not eat at the restaurant, it did have quite a few patrons, even for an off-season weeknight. The room is smallish, with wood-paneled walls and wooden supported ceilings. The furnishings were simple, but functional. The balcony was a very nice touch, with two chairs which overlooked the woods and the playground. We got a very restful, quiet night of sleep.

Both of the pools (hotel and public) were closed, so we cannot comment on those facilities.

While there, we hiked several of the trails. We look forward to returning!

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Publius2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Although an avid reader and resident of Kentucky, I'd never gotten around to discovering Kentucky native Jesse Stuart until my stay here, where the lodge library afforded me a selection of his works, both prose and poetry. Great to read by the pool, on the balcony, or resting on a bench by the beautiful lake. Interesting to see the old schoolhouse where he first taught as well as learn the history of iron-forging in this region. Yummy dining (the Hot Brown is recommended), a clean and comfortable room, and friendly and competent staff all made for a great overnighter. Another fine KY state resort park.

Date of stay: July 2009
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank otterhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews