We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave you cell phone at home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenup
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is a really good Lodge one of many in the Kentucky park system. The lodge had a great new years eve party with many people and a great time was had by all attending. The lodge has a calming effect on you, walk the trails even in the winter time. You should leave all your electronics at home and just get away from the electronic leash world.

Room Tip: "2nd and 3rd floors have balcony's"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I stay at this Lodge quite often because it is near our son's house. It is so quiet and peaceful there. The Lodge is not new, but the rooms are nice and very comfortable. The beds a comfortable. Each room has a balcony overlooking the lake. They serve free continental breakfast in the off season and a bigger breakfast in the travel season. It is a great value for the money. Rates are as low as $45.00 in the off season but could be up to $105.00 on weekends in the summer. They have hiking trails, tennis courts, play ground, an outdoor pool, pontoon rental and fishing, just to mention a few.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruiser843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Clean , Quite , Hiking , good food , inexpenive , great staff . Staying at Greenbo state park in Kentucky was a restful experience . For seniors during the week it can't be beat !
First , the rate of $45.00 a day plus a free breakfast , eggs, danish, bisk., oats, toast, juice, milk , coffee, muffin, cereal , and more . Do the math , 2 people breakfast w/ tip $20.00 elsewhere . Now take this off the $45.00 per night , = $25.00+tax per night . What a deal ! Lunch and dinner prices were very reasonable and the staff was off the charts with service .
The place is beauitful ..The Jesse Stuart Resort is cool and the price is right .

Room Tip: just ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon7743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a wonderful time at Greenbo. The rooms are small but sufficient for what we needed. We really enjoy the pool and renting the pontoon boat. It is a must if you really want to understand why people come back to Greenbo! The water is clear enough to see the fish swimming.

The game room does have some broken items but the ping pong table made for a great laugh every night.

The staff is wonderful and very friendly. The front desk, the staff at the marina and the manager Carey was really helpful in making Greenbo the spot for a great family trip on a tight budget!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcatjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

My wife and I booked this property while visiting friends in the area. After staying in an underwhelming Days Inn during our last visit, we were stunned to find this property equally priced. Although it's a bit remote (it took us about 40 minutes to get to Flatwoods), it was a very beautiful little park that provided a nice, relaxing weekend for the both of us.

The property requires driving about 12 miles down winding, hilly roads. Once you are at the park, the directions to the lodge are very well marked. The lodge itself is typical state park, although the doors open to the outside. The facility is very clean and well kept. Although we did not eat at the restaurant, it did have quite a few patrons, even for an off-season weeknight. The room is smallish, with wood-paneled walls and wooden supported ceilings. The furnishings were simple, but functional. The balcony was a very nice touch, with two chairs which overlooked the woods and the playground. We got a very restful, quiet night of sleep.

Both of the pools (hotel and public) were closed, so we cannot comment on those facilities.

While there, we hiked several of the trails. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Publius2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenup
19.1 km away
Days Inn Ashland
Days Inn Ashland
#5 of 10 in Ashland
288 reviews
17.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
32.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
386 reviews
10.5 km away
Best Western River Cities
19.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)

Address: West KY Hwy 1711, HC 60, Box 562, Greenup, KY 41144
Region: United States > Kentucky > Greenup
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenup
Price Range: €56 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge) Hotel Greenup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing