We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$146
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/21
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/21
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$117
PricelineUS$146
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
107
87
59
27
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
107
87
59
27
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean hotel bar beautiful hotel breakfast buffet check in was easy buffalo trace mini fridge nice place to stay stayed two nights checking in yogurt lyn wedding conference frank
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2019

We had to come to Frankfort for a funeral about 2 weeks ago and stayed at the Capital Plaza Hotel. Our stay was very pleasant and our room was very nice. Lyn the manager and Brandi greeted us in the morning when we had the breakfast buffet and were very kind and pleasant The desk clerk Kelly was the one that took my reservation and she was very kind and helpful also. Our overall experience was excellent and we would stay there again. We were treated with that southern hospitality.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank Venture58504385539
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2019

Thank you for being our guest! We are glad to know that our employees were able to make your trip pleasant given the circumstances. We will share your comments with the staff and let them know you were impressed with their service. Thank you for sharing your experience and we do hope you will back to visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2019 via mobile

Great place to stay, convenient to downtown and all areas, clean, staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast great, would definitely stay again, pool nice, restaurant staff very helpful especially Lyn

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ADG62111226
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2019

Thank you for being our guest! We really appreciate the feedback and we will share your wonderful comments with Lyn and the staff. We do hope that you will be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2019

Terri and Lyn, the front desk clerks were very nice and professional. Terri made our check-in experience pleasant. Lyn is helpful and always available to accommodate hotel guests. Our only complaint was housekeeping. We regularly came back to an unclean room and we never had enough towels. As a matter of fact the last day of our four day stay we had no face towels.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinaHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2019

Thank you for being our guest! I am happy to hear that our staff made your stay a pleasant one and we will share your comments with Lyn and Terry. I do apologize for the towel and housekeeping issues. We will take corrective action and make sure that our guests get proper service and towels replenished. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. It is only through comments such as yours that we can improve our service. We do hope that you will visit us again on future trips to Frankfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2019

First and foremost, Lyn, Maine and Monique were the best!!!! Their assistance in preparing the banquet room was just phenomenal. Words alone cannot express how much we appreciated their professionalism, willingness and eagerness to provide wonderful service with a smile. It was so refreshing. We had at least 70 people at the banquet and 20% had the steak, which was ok and 80% had the chicken, which was not good at all. Our choice of sides were Candid Sweet potatoes and green beans. The candid sweet potatoes we received on our plates consisted of two or three cubed sweet potatoes along with purple and red potatoes. Not what we ordered. Can't say much about the green beans either. They are doing some construction and there happen to have been a mice in our banquet room. It was seen during the preparation for the banquet. However, during the banquet 2 of our members that served as hostesses alerted hotel staff that it had been caught behind the bar in the banquet room. Inspite of all that was not to our liking, the banquet room was a nice size. Again, hats off to Lyn, Maine and Monique!!!!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Connect45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2019

Thank you for the feedback on your recent event. We are happy to hear that you were impressed with our staff and that they met your every need. We do offer taste testings prior to any event and we strongly encourage our guests to sample their options before making menu choices as we want our guests and your attendees satisfied. Again, thank you for acknowledging our outstanding staff members and we do wish you well on your future events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2019

First impression when you walk in is that it's a fairly nice, clean hotel. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. The decor and just overall look and feel of the lobby seems a little outdated but not terrible. Once you get in your room, that feeling is confirmed. Very stale cigarette smell, old dingy carpet, couch and curtains. Things looked clean for the most part but didn't feel clean, if that makes sense. The room we stayed in (on the 2nd floor) is in need of an overall update. There were a few holes in the shower - where they moved/replaced the fixtures. Water pressure wasn't the best and hot water seemed limited. There was also not an exhaust fan in the bathroom. Only one of the receptacles in the bathroom outlet worked as well. There were no extra outlets beside the bed for cellphone chargers. There was one single receptacle in a lamp on the desk, that was it. TV and ac unit worked fine. Bed was fine, nothing stained from what I could see and sheets looked clean but didn't smell fresh. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night and the beer, food and service were really good! The male bartender was very friendly and very attentive. The food was good and came out very quickly as well.
One thing that was bothersome about the stay was the maid ignoring the "Do Not Disturb" sign. The maids were working in our hallway, cleaning rooms and making their way to our room. We had the sign hung on the outside of our door while we were packing and getting ready to check out. We were close to finishing up when there was a knock at the door, I went and answered it and the maid just said "Oh sorry..." and then quickly walked away. It just gave me a really uneasy feeling and the more I thought about it, the more it bothered me. What if we weren't in there? Would she have came in? The sign was on the door for a reason, yet she still knocked to see if anyone answered. Just overall seemed really shady. There IS parking for the hotel, but it's a parking garage across the street - dimly lit and very uncomfortable feeling. I definitely wouldn't have felt safe walking too and from my car in the garage at night.
Overall the stay was fine but I don't see myself ever staying in this hotel again. I think from now on I'll just stick with Airbnb's.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mdhb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2019

Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry you were not happy with our hotel. I do understand your displeasure with our room attendant and we will address the issue with them to make sure that does not happen again. It is not our policy to ignore a do not disturb and we do apologize for this happening. We do regret that you were not pleased with our hotel and can understand your decision to choose differently on a future visit. We do sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews