We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant can please your whole party”

Mariah's Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 297 Restaurants in Bowling Green
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant can please your whole party”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We went for lunch and had a great meal. The food was plentiful and very tasty. The menu had a large and varied selection and could please even those that are more selective with some really nice choices. Plenty of tables and efficient seating and service. Definitely a go to place for taking friends, clients, and visitors.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank borntogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    77
    39
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They delivered to our hotel!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Takes awhile, but worth the wait. Excellent food. Had to reheat a few things (luckily, was had a microwave!) but very good overall. Only $5 delivery charge. Sweet.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and ambience. Food is good too.”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Mariah's lives-up to its historic status. The frescos on the walls are amazing and there are lots of little antique pictures and items...but not like Cracker Barrel! Food is good. Desserts are awesome, bread pudding and Mariah's special are my favorites. Salmon, fish tacos, wraps are all good. Portions are small if you get a sandwich/wrap. Entrees are bigger. Sometimes reservations are needed in the evenings, or you may have a short wait.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank OhioYatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuttawa, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN....”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My college roommates and I planned our annual reunion to Bowling Green this year. Last year we had our dinner at Montana Grill and it was truly a wonderful experience all around! This year we were looking forward to going to Mariah's for a festive, holiday dinner. I used to dine at Mariah's in the late 70's and early 80's when it was a truly wonderful place to eat. Remembering that, I thought it would be nostalgic to go there with my three best friends from college. We were only in Bowling Green for one night. We tried to make reservations but was told in a curt tone that they did not accept reservations for parties less than 8 people. That should have been my first red flag. We arrived on the first Saturday night in December at 8:00 p.m. To our surprise, we were quickly seated in an almost empty restaurant. Second red flag. The building had lost it's old charm and was totally redone in a "cold" open room with absolutely no atmosphere at all. We were greeted by our server (who by the way was the best part of our night there...she really was very good, helpful and nice). The first thing we noticed was the loud noise going on upstairs! It was as if there were sumo wrestlers running around all over the upstairs building. It was so loud and annoying that we thought they were tearing down walls up there. There was no music playing....(we would have loved holiday music). We placed our order and it wasn't long before our food arrived. The salads were basically iceburg lettace with some packaged frozen cheese. I asked the server how the fried mushrooms were prepared, beer battered or floured and she told us that they were frozen out of a package. O.K., not gonna order them for an appetizer. We finally settled on steaks & prime rib. One ribeye; 2 prime rib dinners & 1 prime rib sandwich with melted mozzerella cheese. There was no cheese on the prime rib sandwich and the bun was dry and ice cold. The prime ribs were overcooked and touch in the middle. The ribeye was so tought that you needed a saw to cut it. It was sent back and the second one arrived after all of us had finiahed eating, but tougher than before! The server was very apologetic and we acknowledged that it wasn't her fault. She comped the prime rib, but charged my friend for her coke. We were so disappointed in this experience that we asked to speak to a manger. The manager was obviously not genuinely concerned about our experience. Just said "sorry". That's it. The owner, Rick Kelly, was in the bar and we asked to speak to him but were physically blocked from entering the bar to do so! So, we quietly left but vowed to never return again. Three girls in our party visit Bowling Green very often because they live near there. We three vowed we would tell everyone we knew not to go to Mariah's because of the experience we had. Our one and only annual Holiday dinner was ruined and they could have cared less. So, this is one TripAdvisor members who will NOT recommend Mariah's Restaurant in Bowling Green, Kentucky to anyone!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LuvRaccoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaton, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Atmosphere - Good Food”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Mariah's is in downtown Bowling Green. It is an ususal resturant. Has great atmosphere and good food. We have been several times and enjoyed our visits. We really love the fried blackeye peas on the salads!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanaleighann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariah's Restaurant also viewed

Bowling Green, KY
Bowling Green, KY
 

Been to Mariah's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing