We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the freeway and a great little Pub with excellent seafood!”

High Plains Camping & RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Plains Camping & RV Park
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We pulled in on Saturday evening right after Thanksgiving. Easy access to our spot, which are all gravel and level. Not a bunch of rocks and signs you need to dodge to get in or our with a big rig. We walked over to the Pub and had a great meal with great service. They did let us know about the possible freezing temps that night (They were forecast in the upper 30's) and recommended we unhook our water lines. I have a heated hose so no problems and it didn't freeze that night. The WiFi was excellent, several routers around the campground and we had no issue streaming NetFlix shows.

Room Tip: Very quite campground for being so close to the freeway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoMaddMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

We were unable to make a reservation because they require two days in advance, but there were plenty of sites open when we arrived about 4;pm - off season of course. Jessie signed us in with a Good Sam discount and gave us driving instructions which need to be followed because they have mostly 90 degree drive throughs and we were soon hooked up to water and 30 amp. Next of course is internet. Using our WiFi Ranger we saw all 4 of their transmitter sites, but could only hook up to one - not sure why technically, but we were able to watch netflix until about 7:pm, when the bandwidth was not enough for anything by emails with about 10 rigs in the park. This is a problem with many/most RV parks, but they do have a huge assortment of DVD's that they loan out. We did have great internet the next morning at 5:am!

We were fortunate be there on a fairly calm day, and spent a restful night with very little noise from the interstate. We will definitely stop there again, and we didn't see a single sticker burr! :)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bsjcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

While most seem to be overnighters, for us a base to explore the surrounding areas for several nights. Sites have plenty space. The plantings break up the interstate traffic noise so that we did not notice it at night. Check in efficient and quick and all necessary information dispensed. We enjoyed our time

Stayed: August 2017
Thank DaSarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRDJAD, Owner at High Plains Camping & RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for the nice comment. Please come back anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

The campground is right off I-70 so it was good as a stopover as we traveled home. Our site was pretty level, with a fairly good surface. The above-ground pool was well maintained and clean. This campground caters to adults so children are not allowed to swim in the later evening. However this is well-noted on the signs. There is no play area for children. The shower house/restrooms were very clean and up-to-date. The campground overall was very clean. The price was decent for the amenities offered. Having grown up in Western Kansas, we were familiar with the "Mexican sand burs" or stickers that were in the campground. We cautioned the grandchildren to check their shoes before getting in the camper or pick-up. Also, be advised that the campground is within smelling distance of a cattle feedyard. If the wind is right, you will smell it. That's the way it is in farm country.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank HMP32015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

This campground is conveniently located off of I-70. It was perfect for one night, our site wasn't level but we have a 40 ft motorhome. The park was clean. There is a restaurant in front of the campground, Captain Jacks, which was good. The owner, host was very polite & knowledge. We loved the scenery. There was a beautiful lighting storm we watched before it came it. Great for one night stay, it was clean, quiet, big rig access.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakley hotels
8.9 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Oakley
7.7 km away
Kansas Country Inn
Kansas Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Oakley
121 reviews
6.4 km away
Annie Oakley Motel
Annie Oakley Motel
#4 of 6 in Oakley
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 6 in Oakley
95 reviews
0.6 km away
Free Breakfast Inn Motel
6.1 km away
1st Travel Inn
1st Travel Inn
#3 of 6 in Oakley
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Plains Camping & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Plains Camping & RV Park

Address: 462 US Highway 83, Oakley, KS 67748-8901
Region: United States > Kansas > Oakley
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Oakley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing