We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
12
8
11
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
8
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain jacks hot tub dog runs big rig tow vehicle easy access western kansas across the street pub pull destination shoes laundry hook jessie wifi wind
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We were unable to make a reservation because they require two days in advance, but there were plenty of sites open when we arrived about 4;pm - off season of course. Jessie signed us in with a Good Sam discount and gave us driving instructions which need to be followed because they have mostly 90 degree drive throughs and we were soon hooked up to water and 30 amp. Next of course is internet. Using our WiFi Ranger we saw all 4 of their transmitter sites, but could only hook up to one - not sure why technically, but we were able to watch netflix until about 7:pm, when the bandwidth was not enough for anything by emails with about 10 rigs in the park. This is a problem with many/most RV parks, but they do have a huge assortment of DVD's that they loan out. We did have great internet the next morning at 5:am!

We were fortunate be there on a fairly calm day, and spent a restful night with very little noise from the interstate. We will definitely stop there again, and we didn't see a single sticker burr! :)

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bsjcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

While most seem to be overnighters, for us a base to explore the surrounding areas for several nights. Sites have plenty space. The plantings break up the interstate traffic noise so that we did not notice it at night. Check in efficient and quick and all necessary information dispensed. We enjoyed our time

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank DaSarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRDJAD, Owner at High Plains Camping & RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for the nice comment. Please come back anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

The campground is right off I-70 so it was good as a stopover as we traveled home. Our site was pretty level, with a fairly good surface. The above-ground pool was well maintained and clean. This campground caters to adults so children are not allowed to swim in the later evening. However this is well-noted on the signs. There is no play area for children. The shower house/restrooms were very clean and up-to-date. The campground overall was very clean. The price was decent for the amenities offered. Having grown up in Western Kansas, we were familiar with the "Mexican sand burs" or stickers that were in the campground. We cautioned the grandchildren to check their shoes before getting in the camper or pick-up. Also, be advised that the campground is within smelling distance of a cattle feedyard. If the wind is right, you will smell it. That's the way it is in farm country.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
Thank HMP32015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

This campground is conveniently located off of I-70. It was perfect for one night, our site wasn't level but we have a 40 ft motorhome. The park was clean. There is a restaurant in front of the campground, Captain Jacks, which was good. The owner, host was very polite & knowledge. We loved the scenery. There was a beautiful lighting storm we watched before it came it. Great for one night stay, it was clean, quiet, big rig access.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 942maggied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We choose this place based on the website photos and descriptions, which turned out to be not at all what we found upon check in. The pool was closed (in June), the splash pad not set up (though the owner did offer to set it up, but not before lecturing us about not turning it off and on repeatedly because she didn't want to deal with broken pipes), and the mini golf had been reduced to a pile of rubble. There was lawn and farm debris every where and more gravel and dirt than green grass. The owner was not terribly friendly and spent most of her time discussing the rules and making excuses for why the advertised amenities weren't functional. No pool or mini golf might not seem like a big deal to many, but when traveling with children and making lodging choices that will have something for them to do after a long day on the road, it's a real disappointment when two of the three things that drew us there aren't available. The kids begged to not stay there, so we forfeited our fee and went in search of better lodging. If you want to do more than just sit inside your camper while you're​ stopped, I do not recommend this place.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRDJAD, Owner at High Plains Camping & RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

First let's be truthful. You did not forfeit your fee and go look for better lodging. You were here for the entire night.
Now, the mini golf has been gone from our website and all other sites we have control over for a year. The mini golf course is something that was rarely used, but cost us over $18,000 per year in maintenance. It is being turned into parking for our 5 star onsite restaurant, and you were advised of this at check in.
There is no lawn and farm debris all over, however this is farm country. Sorry if you are offended by farms.
The pool was 54 degrees when you were here. We still have nights in the mid 30's so at 54 degrees it is way to cold for anyone to get into.
When we bought this park almost 6 years ago it was a "kiddie park". A market analysis determined that our average customer is 68 years old and does not have children with them; hence we catered to them and built more adult oriented amenities.
You were asked to supervise your children in the splash zone as required by our insurance company. You would be surprised how many parents turn their kids loose when they get to the campground, expecting someone else to look after them. Hmmm..maybe you wouldn't be surprised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews