We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food, good selection”
Review of New China Buffet

New China Buffet
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Marysville
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Being in town for a family reunion, we stopped in for dinner on a Saturday evening. It was fairly busy with many cars from out of town.

We like to try local and stay away from the chain franchises.

The waitress was fast and friendly. The food was not a huge selection but all was fresh and well prepared. The fruit was ripe, the shrimp crisp. We really liked the peppered steak.
Our only disappointment was the egg drop soup which was peppery and had an odd flavor.

We would eat here again if we travel through again.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Nomibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2016

Great Chinese buffet for a small town! Family owned and always friendly. Try the honey chicken - everyone loves it.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Jen17316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We came by this buffet restaurant for dinner. It was around 6.00pm when we arrived and the restaurant was already packed with diners.

Our tour group of about 50 were quickly ushered to the pre-reserved tables by the waiting staff and very quickly, all of us got the seat and began our buffet spree.

The restaurant was big and spacious, Chinese-themed of decorations and brightly lighted.

Besides having soft drink machines which we could help ourselves, as usual, we could also have tea of coffee. However, these were just next to the used plates collection point, where leftover food items were thrown into trash bag here, thought it could be moved further away as diners were seating around this place.

The buffet spree was massive ranging from Chinese, Japanese, Western, International dishes and most of the dishes were quite delicious and cooked well. We liked the ribs, grilled chicken, fried chicken wings, sweet and sour pork, steamed fish, sushi most among others. You would be spoilt for choices over which to eat first!

The seafood section was great too! Crabs, clams, mussels, prawns were offered and they were fresh and sweet. Must try. Salad section was next to it with lots of different kinds of vegetables (lettuces, tomatoes, corn, potatoes, carrots etc) over several types of dressings.

Then there was a live cooking station, where you help yourself with the various ingredients available and ask the chef to cook for you, for example, fried noodles. However, we didn't manage to try that due to the long queue.

The pastry and fruit sections were great too, offering different types of cakes and cut fruits.

Service was satisfactory considering such a big turn up of diners. As we could help ourselves to the soft drink machines, as such our glasses were not retiled with ice water. Used plates were clearly regularly and staff were friendly and polite.

The best thing was that the depleted food items were replenished very regularly and so one need not have to wait longer than required to take the food.

We enjoyed our meals here very much though we were only allocated about 75 minutes for this "eating exercise". It was definitely value for money as the number of dishes offered was extensive and yet with a good quality.

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ZfyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014

One thing I found appealing was the food was fresh unlike other Chinese buffet locations where the food looks like it was reheated and served the next day. Nice selection of typical favorites to include plump and crispy chicken wings. Service is prompt, drinks are replenished frequently and empty plates are immediately removed from the table. Worth a visit!

Date of visit: November 2014
1  Thank flksfhtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

After several trips to the New China Buffet I can confidently recommend trying it out. I've ordered off the menu and had the buffet and have been happy every time. No mystery meat like many Chinese buffet's and the food is cooked well. Only issue would be that unless it's around a normal eating time the buffet isn't stocked very well, but that is understandable and they always offer to cook whatever items you would like. Good place, give it a try.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheFrequentEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New China Buffet also viewed

 

Been to New China Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing