We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half-Price Online Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Red Baron
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Garden City
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I just happened to find an online deal for $52 per night with a King bed!

That's the highlight. Now for the lowlights:

The door seal was so bad that there was a half inch gap under the door which allowed all the spiders and crickets to walk right in. No problem, they were dead and laying along the baseboards, except for the one that rubbed his legs all night.

I reported the shower curtain rod problem to the front desk. It was one of those that has a half circle shape extending out past the edge of the tub. Those allow for more room in the tub but really increase the weight on the brackets that attach to the wall. So this one had been repaired many times before and to fix it properly, it will need a major remodel. The towel bar had the same issue. So now, they need to remove and replace the sheetrock and add additional studs to create a place to attach the brackets. When I reported the problem to the front desk they said that they would let the maintenance crew know but in three days there was nothing done.

The breakfast: Waffles, cereal, toast, mini muffins, juice, scramble eggs, small pieces of sausage links, white gravy, biscuits.

The gravy was from a can so not very good. The sausage was frozen and microwaved (I think). The biscuits were really bad. I think I was the only one brave enough to take one but after a slight nibbled, it ended up in the trash.

If this hotel wants to improve their reputation, the things I mention are easy fixes. I felt sorry for the staff because they seemed like really nice people who were tired of making excuses for the management/owners.

I place all of the blame on the owners. Fix the rooms so they are presentable. Correct the problems with the door seals. If you are going to put a mattress pad on the bed, buy the correct size. Our King bed had a full size pad and the sheets had a hard time staying tucked in the tall mattress.

Add fruit and yogurt to the breakfast bar and stop serving frozen food. It requires someone to work the breakfast bar who can cook so that the front desk staff isn't tasked with so many duties at once.

To me, this place has potential. But if the owners are not serious about the place, why would the staff ever care? Get your act together!

Room Tip: West facing rooms have high heat from the sun in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2016

This place is a con game.Reserved a non-smoking king via a national web-site.Broken Chair, cracked table legs, cable only worked on 2 channels.microwave totally dead.Room reeked of smoke.When requesting another room.I was told they were booked.Cleaning crew told me many of rooms where not working. Met with the owner a Mr Patel.His response we are working so hard to fix these items.I could have left at 11 am .He did not speak to me until 2pm.There has been no one to my room all day.His interpretation of reality is from a different cultural mindset. DO NOT Go There. Also the room smelled of pet urine. I left without a refund nor an apology.

Room Tip: go somewhere els
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shortage2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We were traveling from Oklahoma to Colorado for Thanksgiving and Garden City was about half way so all we needed was a bed for the night. For a $60 motel we were satisfied. Room was clean but the surprise was their breakfast. Most motels in this price range offer no or just a continental breakfast, but they had the usual cereals, but also waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy. Usually these type motels have a heat/ac unit that blows all night long.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Good motel for business travel...reasonably priced, nice rooms - microwave, fridge, coffee maker, even has irons and boards...breakfast in mornings is okay - eggs, sausage, biscuits, rolls, etc. - another savings of $10 a day

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank trebortaews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The room was clean,with fridge and microwave. Large flatscreen tv. Pet friendly with a fee and room to park anything. Mexican resturant on property.
Very friendly helpful staff. 24 hour coffee and breakfast.
Very quiet. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garden City hotels
2.4 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City
1.5 km away
New Sunflower Inn & Suites
New Sunflower Inn & Suites
#16 of 16 in Garden City
25 reviews
1.7 km away
Clarion Inn Garden City
Clarion Inn Garden City
#4 of 16 in Garden City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Heritage Inn & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Garden City
1.8 km away
Best Western Plus Emerald Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Red Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Red Baron

Address: 2205 Fulton Street, Garden City, KS 67846
Region: United States > Kansas > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range: €52 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Red Baron 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Red Baron is minutes from the Garden City Community College, Finney County Museum, Sandsage Bison Refuge and Wildlife Area, and Lee Richardson Zoo. This hotel offers a delicious FREE HOT BREAKFAST each morning consisting of SCRAMBLED EGGS, SAUSAGES, BISCUITS & GRAVY, WAFFLES, DANISHES, MUFFINS ETC. ETC; FREE HI-SPEED WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS, 40" flat screen tv, a business center, laundry facilities, free parking, and pets are welcome with additional fees. Standard rooms feature: Refrigerator & Microwaves, free wireless internet access, cable TV with closed caption, SHO TIME, air conditioning, alarm clock / radio, free local calls, hairdryer, microwave, mini-fridge, and iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Red Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden City
Garden City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing