We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, fabulous cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bwthyn Derwen

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Llanfaethlu, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sh9rrs
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, but .....”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Initially the cottage looked clean, but upon further inspection there were cobwebs throughout. We were greeted with our welcome package of a local cake and bottle of wine - very welcome, but as we went to put the wine in the fridge door, the shelf gave way (wondered what the pieces of plastic were!) Luckily we were able to save the wine, but it was obvious that this shelf would be useless! Next problem occurred when we tried to get a pan from the pan drawer which would not open for the dishwasher handle. Eventually managed to get a pan, but when we wanted to load the dishwasher with our dirty pots, we then couldn't pull down the door because of the pan cupboard handle. Bad design flaw that didn't end there. Having eventually opened the dishwasher, the whole unit pulled forward as it wasn't fastened in - the door was scraping on the floor. We reported the problems to the owner first thing on Saturday morning, but had to live with this for all our holiday. To make matters worse because the door was constantly dragging on the floor, it eventually fell off completely.

All in all not the standards we would expect from a cottage costing £400 at this time of year.

Final point of clarification, the cottage is located on Anglesey not Holyhead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Poor overall condition
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerwys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Creaky floorboards!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lyn M
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage, location and facilities”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Booked to stay at Bwthyn Derwen last minute. We were looking for somewhere quiet but with outside space and beaches to visit as we were travelling with an active 5 year old! The pictures on the website looked amazing and the reality did not let it down. The spectacular views on the drive down from Liverpool made the 2.5 hour car journey worth it. On arrival, I was so impressed with the cottage. The ultra modern furniture and facilities made our stay very pleasant and luxurious. The bedrooms and beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were well stocked up with towels and essentials. The high spec kitchen and all the gadgets any top kitchen would have, made our self catering holiday very comfortable. The living area and dining room were very spacious and would easily accommodate over 6 people. The games, books, magazines, Xbox, DVD and other facilities made sure our family evenings were entertained. The outside space was the highlight for me and the weather just enhanced this even more. The private patio and communal garden area gave us plenty of space to enjoy the sun and we dined out there every day. I would highly recommend this cottage for people who want to get away for some peace and quiet, but who have the facility to drive only 5mins to local shops and glorious beaches. I've already looked at availability to get back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and outside space
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing