We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
21
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Michel welcomed us to his home in the jungle and treated us like family. The location is ideal with mountain top views, abundance of wildlife and a pristine garden environment. Each meal was delicately prepared and served and a gastronomical delight. The tours and guides he coordinated where fantastic and activities varied between indigenous tribal villages, net fishing, river exploration and kayaking. Dani, his assistant, was attentive and delightful and a wonderful addition to the already spectacular adventure. Memories were made and are treasured...

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cfosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We've enjoyed our total stay in Panamá, but the stay in the Filo del Tallo Lodge and the many things we've experienced in the rain forest made our vacation unforgettable. Everything was perfectly arranged by our host, Michel. We felt like family and were treated not as ordinary guests, but as VIP's. Excellent breakfasts and dinners were served at the lodge, and we ate together with Michel and our guide, Lincon, who was an enthusiastic guide. We've learned about the jungle, about Darién, but also about the history and culture of Panamá in general and Darién in particular. Michel had so much to share with us and we enjoyed his stories.
The Lodge itself is simple, of course, but with the basic things you need: A good bed with anti-mosquito net, a shower, a toilet. It was really Paradisely, waking up in the morning on the sound of monkeys who were setting out their territory.

Room Tip: There are only three lodges, we had, if I remember well, lodge number 3, which had one double bed and two single bed, divided into three compartments.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Paradise? maybe it's here. Perfect place, perfect hosts, perfect crew, perfect food.. So peaceful.. Landscape is so beautiful, and Michel has always many things to share, to tell about Darien. Discovering the rainforest with its indians is something so interesting, so unique. Please protect future of such places. Just contact Michel. If u go there, u'll never forget it.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank systembenlaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I were visiting our daughter who is in the Peace Corps, serving in the Darien of Panama. She assured us we would never find a decent place to stay near her site. We went through out travel agent and were thrilled that she had contact with an adventure group in Panama who set us up at the Filo del Tallo Lodge. It was a wonderful experience and Michel was a great host who gave us a lot of information about the area, the people, and the culture. We did not get to experience all that his usual guests experience because our main goal was to visit our daughter although we did take a dug out canoe down the river to the Wouhnaan village and spent a day out on the river seeing dolphin and local sights. I am only giving this a 4 star rating because we have actually experienced the very highest level of lodging in Adventure safari travel in Africa and this did not quite hit that level, but is probably the best you are going to get in Panama, and especially in the Darien. In addition, Michel has a true heart for the area and the people. I also know we were there during the low season, and the lodge was not functioning at full capacity. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who wants a ecofriendly but gracious and comfortable exerience in the heart of the Darien.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank netway5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Just to let you know and save research time, this is not a hotel. It is a private lodge owned by a Frenchman in the darien province of panama. The only way you can stay here is by booking on one of his tours through Panama Exotic Adventures. We have just done a four day trip with him that can only be described as unique, staying in a Waanoun indian lodge, followed by a couple of nights at the Filo de Tallo. This is not for the faint hearted, or those looking for luxury - hot water and AC are irrelevant and are nowhere to be found. However, this should not put off anyone wanting real adventure and the chance to be at one with both nature and traveling in relatively undiscovered part of the world. Michel, our host, is a true professional and his passion is the Darein and the life within it. Jungle trails, integrating with the idigineous communities, river trips in dug out canoes are just some of the things to look forward to. And of course being French, a good meal is never far away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cjmj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews