We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old property, poorly managed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We mistakenly booked this instead of one of the many hotels in the area. Yeah ... big mistake. From the room keys constantly not working (like, several times a day) to the lack of staff, to the nonexistent pool towels (after asking the front desk, they'd point to the dryer, shrug, and then bring out 2 of them 10 minutes later — for a pool filled with 8 people) to the tiny, tiny rooms ... let's just say that we'll stay somewhere else next time. Anywhere else.

Oh, I almost forgot ... part of the shower fell into the tub in our room the night we checked in. Yeah, buddy.

The kicker was when we had 6 family members in the lobby saying goodbye, and we were doing the hugging thing, wishing everybody well, including my 77-year-old parents, and the woman at the front desk shouts at us loudly, "CAN YOU QUIET DOWN?! I HAVE A TRAINEE COMING IN!" We weren't even loud. Oh, and the next day, they booked a huge dog in the room next to us that would not stop barking.

Room Tip: Really, there aren't any here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2016

I stayed here on Nov.11th. & 12th.,2016..to visit my friend Renee who lives in Waterloo, this hotel is very close to where she live;s..very close to shopping and dining in the area..the room was very warm & comforting..very clean & the bed was soft ..best sleep i have had in a hotel in a very long time..Beth, the night manager on duty was very helpful in giving me suggestions where to dine in the area nearby...I will be back here again.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Joseph I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Two of us were on a motorcycle trip and were looking for a place to lay our heads down that was cheap, clean and within walking distance to a place to eat. After a long day on the motorcycles, we did not want to drive to dinner.

We found the hotel was clean, the pool refreshing and the room comfortable. This is not a 5 star but your average 3 star with some evident wear and tear. It was what we were looking for and served our purpose. NO bed bugs or other scary critters.

It was a short walk to a variety of restaurants at the end of the street and a shopping mall virtually across the street. Be aware there are no sidewalks alongside the street so you do have to be careful walking.

Check out was quick and that too was also appreciated.

Alex

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Decent place. Staff was friendly enough. Backdoor to motel is broken. That was the only external issue. Didn't try the pool or coffee. Room itself was ok but they really need to improve the quality of their beds and pillows. They were terrible and it was hard to get to sleep. Of course i know i shouldn't be surprised at that, it is a major problem at almost every motel 6 (especially the pillows) I know it's not the marriott, but i think motel 6 can do a little better. i would give this particular one a 3 except for that issue. Not sure i would stay here again if i needed to.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjeffor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff and the rooms have been updated nicely. Backdoor was broken so anyone could get in and there is no breakfast at this location. Also, no amenities in the rooms (coffee maker, shampoos or conditioner). Just a thought for those who like those things. Plus side...there was a fridge. Those are great to have!

Stayed: October 2016
Thank 20calebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
6.4 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
0.7 km away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Waterloo Cedar Falls
0.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls

Address: 2141 Laporte Rd, Waterloo, IA 50702-2739
Region: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range: €52 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls has indoor heated pool open year around (9am-10pm), with fridges in all modern rooms. Come out in relax and enjoy Free Wifi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Waterloo
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Holiday Inn Waterloo
Baymont Inn Waterloo
Waterloo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing