We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
58
39
21
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
39
21
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub very nice hotel other hotels in the area in town breakfast area comfortable room decent breakfast next morning would stay again nancy hie fridge workout casino
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We needed a block of rooms for a funeral. The accommodations were great. They booked the family together on the same floor, allowed for handicap members. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic. The staff was very helpful and professional at check in and always wanted to know if everything was okay. The parking is great, and the location is superb. Great resturants, shopping, grocery store and casino all within 5-10 minutes away. Just more than we expected from a Holiday Inn Express. We all were very pleased.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank 2554Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are truly pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very sorry for the circumstances that brought you here but glad we were able to help in a small way. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to see you again when you're back in Waterloo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Let me tell u leana at the front desk was amazing great person to run into after a long day drive and needing some rest. The room was clean and cool upon entry, bathroom was clean and had the usual toiletries only thing I found strange was we had a fridge but no microwave in our room

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and the entire stay we had flies! Flies in the room and breakfast area. People in the breakfast area without shoes! After seeing the same disheveled shoeless man every morning for breakfast, we asked the hotel management to tell him to wear shoes! She rudely refused, saying their policy did not require shoes in the food service area! Kids were running in the hallway all night, again staff couldn’t be bothered. There are other hotels in the area and we will not be coming back to this one!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Nancy,

I apologize your stay with us was less than satisfactory. It was a very busy weekend for everyone in our area with youth soccer, the John Deere 100th Anniversary and Arts Festival. With such large events happening and many people entering and exiting the building constantly, it is inevitable that flies will come inside.

It is not our policy to require shoes in our breakfast area. We do not have signage posted that it is necessary since we are not a restaurant. The "disheveled shoeless man" you saw in the morning has been a guest with us for almost 2 months. He was very offended by the way he was spoken to felt he was being profiled because so many children were also shoeless. My Front Office Manager politely told your husband that she would not single out one person without shoes and ask them to leave since so many others did not have shoes. I personally feel it is common courtesy to dress appropriately in any eating area but this is not enforced by law.

The soccer tournament did have children up at all hours. Unfortunately their schedule had them playing at 11:30PM so it was late when they returned. Our 3rd shift auditor does a walk through of the building but cannot always catch the culprits of noise. Our staff does their best at controlling a full hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel staff was friendly during my stay. The room was typical hotel fair, but clean. What impressed me most though was that my room was right by the elevators, and I never heard any noise coming from that area. As a matter of fact I didn’t hear any ambient noise from the hallway which normally plagues hotels of this nature. I would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jeffery D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

We are in town to visit a family member who is sick. We got a great deal on the price and the hotel is newly renovated. Easy check in and pleasant greeting. We were given room 217 wich was right off the elevator, but there was allot of traffic noise. Clean comfortable room king size bed that was comfortable as well. When back intown we will stay here agaain.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank trooper198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews