We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Certificate of Excellence
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“New hotel and nice staff”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel has two main good points: it is new and the staff is very friendly. The room was what I expected from that category of hotel, even probably a little bit bigger. And very clean. You could also enjoy the (small) pool.
But you should bring earplugs since you will have a highway just behind your window and the bed was too soft: that's why I only give them a "poor" for sleep quality". May be you can find quieter rooms on the other side of the building.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissworld_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    56
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
69
22
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We've stayed in many hotels and this one was a really great surprise. We opted for this one based in reviews ad location, which were right on. The Military rate made it an even better value.

We stayed with 2 kids, and we were grateful the crib was set up and ready for us, since we arrived at midnight. Staff was tremendous. She even volunteered a better room away from the elevator upon arrival, and set up the new crib while we got our stuff from the car.

The room and hotel in general was clean and safe, which both seem to be rare with budget hotels these days. Location was great for our road trip. Beds and pillows were comfy. Shower was clean and water pressure was good.

Breakfast was also really great. Most continental breakfast are cold, tasteless, and unattended. This one actually had eggs, bacon, make-your-own pancakes, white AND wheat toast, a toaster that worked, plenty of good coffee. Milk,yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cinnamon rolls and cereal. Everything our kids wanted/needed, and everything well stocked.

I will stay here again the next road trip. Great experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinf00ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I travel into Des Moines quite a bit. It is always a long trip to get here. I was really surprised to find this gem hidden right off the highway. I was really tired and not in the best of modds but the guy at the front desk was super nice and put a smile on my face. I couldnt believe how beautiful and clean this hotel was, I have never stayed in a Holiday Inn Express that was this impressive. I went to my room after my very fast and modern check in. I mean everything is digital here, which being a very green person I loved not wasting paper to sign in.
When I got to my room. I was blown away by how beautiful and clena it was. The larger than normal flat screen tvs were a nice touch.
I forgot my shaving cream at home, but the nice girl at the desk in the evening gave me a complimentary can and asked if there was anything else she could get for me..... I took some deoderant too, even though I had some.... free is free right.

I wokr up early the next morning to use thier gym, and i was so excited to see that I had my own personal tv on the treadmill. After a quick showerI came down for breakfast and found the same breakfast i have come to expect at the holiday inn expresses, but the littl guy that watched over it made my morning, He was smiling the whole time and even asked what my plans were for the day.

The girl at the desk in the morning was delightful. I normally dont stop at the desk on my way out, but i wanted to compliment the manager on the hotel. He was a very nice young man and asked if there was anything at all I thought they could do better. I told him keep doing what your doing and you guys will go far.

I will definately be coming back, if not for the room, then for the super nice staff. Overall this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and conveniently located off the expressway. The check in staff was pleasant and the process was very modern; ie you sign a credit card reader vs a "piece' of paper approving of the hotel rate. The breakfast area was like dining in a 5 star hotel...has a really cool long bench/bar with stool to spread out to work...unless you don't want to be directly across from travelers. The decor is classy modern and not too far out contemporary. The only complaints.) Internet sign in did not work too well and 2) the employee who checked me in announced my room number out loud. Duh! There was another guest standing right behind me and I felt vulnerable and awkward but did not want to embarass the employee. I nicely mentioned this to another employee at the desk later and he assured me it was a mistake and apologized. Lastly, the hotel did not offer me/recognize me as a platinum member as most HIE properties have done in the past. Overall...would probbly stay again as I love the location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This is a beautiful hotel. Right off the interstate. The beds were extremely comfortable and the staff very friendly. The manager was walking around during breakfast greeting guests. I don't remember that happening in a very long time. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paavoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
4.7 km away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
138 reviews
0.5 km away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Address: 8789 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322-6245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing