We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mountain Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We were so excited and looking forward to our one-night stay at Kinabalu Pine Resort, a mountain resort, located at Kundasang, a small countryside town situated at the foothill of Mt Kinabalu. It has 64 wooden cabins with open porches and mountain views. As the resort is on an elevated level and the air temperature is cold, we had to put on warm jackets.

Upon checking in at the reception, we were given a cabin at Block K, Room 1. We had the impression that all the rooms would face Mt Kinabalu. However, Room K1 does not have a direct view of Mt Kinabalu at all. Instead it overlooked the reception area, restaurant and roof tops. When we told our local guide that we wanted the mountain view, she told us that we had to walk to an outdoor platform to see the full view of the mountain. My husband went onsite to check and we were offered a room at the lower level of Block R, Room 4, which has a small porch which faces the mountain view.

After we have checked in, we found to our dismay, that R4 is a very small and basic standard room. It has a king size bed, a small tv console and a walk-in section where we could hang our clothes on a railing. On the opposite end, there is a small table with a kettle, coffee and tea-making facilities and a wall-mounted mirror and hair-dryer. The room is sparsely furnished and not air-conditioned as the air temperature at the resort is cold. There is a wall fan if the temperature gets too warm. The water heater took 20 minutes to warm up before any one of us could take a shower. When my daughter went into the toilet, she let out a scream and rushed out quickly as there was a menacingly-looking black beetle behind the toilet door. After much chaos, I bravely picked up the beetle on a tissue paper and set it free outside our room.

We were unable to connect to the free wifi/internet access in the room, probably because we were located at the lower level of the block and had to go to the reception area or restaurant to check our messages. Our door also locked automatically when it was closed so we were told not to leave our key card in the room otherwise we would be locked out. We found out from a map later that we were given a different category room. Our guide had booked a Deluxe room for the 3 of us for us but we were downgraded to a smaller standard room because we wanted a mountain view. Somehow, we felt short-changed and disappointed that the reception staff had not informed us about the downgrade of the rooms as we would have made a more informed choice of whether we wanted to stay in a Deluxe room with no direct view of the mountain or a small standard room with a mountain view. We thought all the rooms were of the same size and it was such a major disappointment and let-down as our comfort had to be compromised. Service was also lacking as we had to call the reception twice to deliver the mattress for our daughter. She had to sleep on the floor and did not have a good night sleep as her movement was restricted due to the tight space on the floor.

As we recce the resort and surrounding area, we found out that Block P, Room 1, a standard room on a higher slope, has one of the best mountain views from its porch.

Young children at the resort can visit the rabbit house where a few rabbits were housed in a caged house. There is also a small playground at the foot of the resort.

The Pines Restaurant at the lower level, serves both halal local, Chinese and Western cuisine. We had a set dinner comprising of sweet-corn soup, fried broccoli, fish and beef rendang, served with Chinese tea and a platter of fruits. A big group next to us, had steamboat which was a perfect meal on a cool, chilling night. There is also a karaoke lounge which opens nightly from 9 pm to 11:30 pm.

The next morning, we were awakened at dawn by the continuous crowing of roosters. To city dwellers like us, it was a delight to be awakened by roosters rather than an alarm clock. It was 5:30 am and the sky was still dark. We decided to venture out of our room to the capture the sunrise and Mt Kinabalu. We went to the viewing platform where there were wooden chairs and a sun-dial and enjoyed the fresh, crisp mountain air. We waited patiently for the misty skies to clear and clouds to move away from the peak of Mt Kinabalu, as it has been covered with clouds and we could not see its peak. Our patience and efforts paid off at 6:30 am as we witnessed a breathtaking, magnificent view of Mt Kinabalu, as the clouds moved away from its peak briefly and the dark sky was transformed beautifully as day breaks. The mesmerising view unfolded before our eyes: the grandeur and majestic view of Mt Kinabalu with its glorious peak, nestled in the background of a picturesque and rustic village, coloured tiled roofs of houses and surrounding casuarina, pine trees and fauna at the foothill. It was so tranquil yet so majestic and the sounds of birds chirping and the rooster crowing, complete the picture-perfect view and we were completely awed. Out came our cameras and handphones as we snapped away pictures and videos quickly, capturing every moment. After a few minutes, the clouds covered the peak again. We lingered at the viewing platform for more than 2 hours and met friendly mountain-climbers who shared about their conquest of climbing the 4095.2m Mt Kinabalu.

Breakfast items were limited. It was a one-dish meal of either nasi lemak, soup noodles or an American burger, which we had to order one day in advance, and served with coffee or tea.

Kinabalu Pine Resort is a beautiful mountain resort, for leisure travellers like us who were there just for the mountain view, or for the enthusiastic mountain-climbers who stayed at the resort before or after conquering Mt Kinabalu. However, the downgraded room dampened our stay otherwise it would have been a perfect stay and the highlight of our trip in Sabah.

Room Tip: Block P1 has one of the best mountain views but it is a standard room. Choose the Deluxe rooms if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JustinaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kpineresort, General Manager at Kinabalu Pine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Dear JustinaLee,

Thank you for your review which has well described our Resort, our facilities, the delightful experience of countryside stay and the magnificent view of Mt. Kinabalu from our Resort!

Sad to learnt that you were disappointed and felt let-down by the room changed which actually was upon the firm request of your husband after he has checked, confirmed and being explained by your guide on the consequences of changing room category.

Delivery of extra mattress was slightly delayed due to the change of room. As for wifi connection issue, we do wish the kind understanding of all our guests that it depends much on the services of the service provider which is beyond our control. However, we will try our best to improve our services ensuring an enjoyable stay for all our valued guests.

Thank you & Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

Kinabalu Pine Resort comes with breathtaking views of Mt Kinabalu and Kundasang colourful village. The resorts is very well maintained and all the team members who managed the hotel are very courteous, friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and reasonably well kept, hot shower is very stable. Food in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner are very tasty. Strategically located near the Kundasang market, KK Park, Poring Spring, Desa Cattle Farm are all nearby. We have had an awesome 3 days 2 nights stay here in June. I will let my photos here do the talking.

Room Tip: Majority of the rooms come with excellent Mt Kinabalu view, so just sit back and relax yeah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irenesoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised with the amenities as well as service provided. The staffs were all really friendly and helpful! The patio outside the room serves as a really nice place to enjoy the scenic view Kundasang has to offer! Would recommend this place as it's quite strategically located near places of attraction as well i.e. Desa cattle dairy farm, Kinabalu park

Stayed: June 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

I spent a night at this resort with my family. I expected a cold condition and a shivering night but it was quite warm. A wall fan was installed instead of an air conditioner. My stay was pleasant. This resort is up on a hill so you will exercise walking to your room. Sadly, the WiFi was useless. I woke up in the morning around six to catch the view of Mount Kinabalu. Sadly, it was a cloudy morning so the peak was all covered up by the clouds. But the morning air and views were so nice. So I was able to take a lot of pictures. We had breakfast at the restaurant and the food was excellent!

Room Tip: best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stcyaudry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

KPR was a nice hotel with a good view of Mount Kinabalu. We landed in Kota Kinabalu airport, hired cars and drove there ourselves. Roads are in reasonably good condition but do take it slowly as there are numerous large vehicles which also use the roads up into the mountains. Location in Kundasang is also convenient with easy access to Poring Hot Springs, the Kinabalu park, cow farm and the vegetable markets provided you are driving.
Rooms in KPR were spacious with either King sized beds or 2 super single beds. Basic amenities were provided in the room. Bathrooms were clean with separated shower area. The best feature of the room was the large balcony provided which has 5 chairs and a decent sized table, and has a view of Mount Kinabalu. Our neighbours for 1-day, organised a big family steamboat session on the balcony and appeared comfortable. All rooms come with their own car parks right below/ outside the rooms so parking is easy.
Food at the restaurant was reasonable. Breakfast comes with the rooms and has to be ordered the night before. We had dinner in the hotel, the night of our arrival and it was reasonably good.
Other facilities include a small playground, a barbeque pit, a rabbit hutch with a handful of rabbits and a mini fish pond which was good for keeping the kids entertained for a while.
All hotel workers were all polite and helpful.
Will definitely be coming back on our next trip to Kundasang.

Room Tip: All hotel rooms face Mount Kinabalu but those higher up on the mountain have a better unobstructed v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundasang
1 km away
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
2.6 km away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#4 of 12 in Kundasang
174 reviews
3.6 km away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 16 in Kundasang
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#3 of 16 in Kundasang
112 reviews
22.6 km away
Sabah Tea Garden
Sabah Tea Garden
#3 of 36 in Ranau
142 reviews
0.4 km away
Ceaser's Place
Ceaser's Place
#11 of 16 in Kundasang
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Pine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Pine Resort

Address: Kampung Kundasang (along Kundasang Ranau Highway, Kundasang, Ranau 88990, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Price Range: €42 - €57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kinabalu Pine Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinabalu Pine Resort is a multi-award winning & privately run accommodation that caters to budget-conscious travellers.All of our cabins have wide open porches facing Mount Kinabalu. Unlike our competitors, all of Kinabalu Pine Resort's wooden cabins are fully built using the exclusive Selangan Batu hardwood. There are Standard or Deluxe cabins, with blocks S & N at the resort's crest. All rooms come with WiFi internet access, satellite television channels, intercom facility, en-suite bathroom, hair dryer and coffee & tea making facilities.Dining & entertainment'The Pines' caters local, Chinese & Western cuisine. On cool windy nights, try ordering Steamboat (Chinese hot pot). Our karaoke lounge & bar opens nightly from 9.00pm to 11.30pm. A Conference hall to conduct your meetings and seminars surrounded by lush greenery and beautiful landscaping. Our facilites can cater up to 150 delegates in theatre setting, or up to 60 in classroom setting.Other facilitiesIncludes an on-site children's playground, outdoor barbecue pits and public telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kinabalu Pine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Pine Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing