We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a prearranged tour. Obviously the company haven't stayed here in a while.

The rooms are okay, but basic. No aircon and you could only open one window so cooling the room down when you get back isn't easy. Loved the inventory on the wall.

With the horrendous breakfast this place was definitely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. All I had for breakfast was toast and butter a few pieces of fruit. I didn't fancy the cold chips and chicken nuggets

But to add insult to injury you couldn't drink alcohol in the restaurant. You could buy booze from a very limited range in the shop and then drink it in your room. Or, you could go to the Karaoke bar for a drink. However they didn't have a bar so the staff had to get booze from the shop, which took over thirty minutes!!

Nightmare. Our travel provider will be getting a letter from us!!!!!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank FlashDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kpineresort, General Manager at Kinabalu Pine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear FlashDevon,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor.

We are sad to know that our breakfast served did not meet with your expectation. Although menus were carefully planned to cater for both local and foreign guests' needs.
Be assured, we take your comments as a constructive criticism to further improve ourselves.

Though we are operating a Halal Restaurant (non-alcohol), we do have a karaoke/Bar for our guests to relax and enjoy a glass or two. Our newly renovated Karaoke lounge was re-opened during your stay with us.

As our valued guest, We truly appreciate your patronage and comments. Appropriate action will be taken to further improve our services accordingly to meet with our guests' expectation.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2016

Pluses:-
Easy n friendly checking in
Fair sized room n clean wash rooms
Decent dinner n breakfast
Great ambience.

We checked in with another couple for a 1 night 1 say stay. We were very impressed with the hotel and strongly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank chelvijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Very beautiful panoramic views. I can see the beauty and uniqueness of Mount Kinabalu from my room because my room standing right in front of Mount Kinabalu. I greatly admire the beauty surrounding the hotel where the flowers are beautiful and green pine trees and the sound of crickets and birds are all very calming my mind. The hotel location is not far from the Village Dairy Farm and Kundasang War Memorial ..buah and vegetables are readily available for not far from the hotel. Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC) is also available here less than five (5) minutes drive. Staff here are friendly clean room conditions also .. Stay at this hotel to experience first-hand experience and feel for themselves the beauty of the mountain scenery at this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ctfazillarem73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We stayed at the lodge as part of a honeymoon tour organised through Kuoni. Whilst we expected to stay in some basic lodgings throughout the tour, there is a vast difference between basic and somewhere that is tired, run down and generally poor.

Yes, the views from the veranda were great but I could have got the same view from the road outside the place.

In terms of location, it wasn't too far from Kinabalu Parks HQ however it was still at least a 15 minute drive and I am convinced that better accommodation could be found within a similar radius.

The bedrooms were clean however they were stuffy, the bedding uncomfortable and the shower little more than a trickle. Every time we, or seemingly anyone else in the resort, flushed the toilet we had to listen to the water tank right outside our window (lovely view) rumble on for an inordinate amount of time. Alongside this noise was the noise from anyone and everyone outside the room, the shaking of the lodge anytime the neighbour moved and all the noise from the neighbours due to paper thin walls. Trying to sleep when your neighbour decides to watch the Chinese cooking channel all night and you can hear every word is less than easy. A call to reception on the out of hours number provided offering no assistance as they simply didn't answer.

The promise of wi-fi was a joke. Yes there is a secured network and yes you get the password however whilst it can be unlocked it cannot be accessed so a little defunct really.

Breakfast was a strange affair with chips and chicken nuggets one morning and what appeared to be spaghetti bolognese the next. There was very little choice and when food ran low the lady manning the serving platters appeared extremely reluctant to replenish them despite there being hours of service left.

For dinner choice was again limited and what came alongside the rice was generally just bone. On what appeared to be a fist sized serving of chicken one evening I struggled to find a couple of mouthfuls of meat! Cheap cuts were clearly the order of the day.

All in all this was the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 1984LAD2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kpineresort, General Manager at Kinabalu Pine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear 1984LAD2016

Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are disappointed to learn that our services and facilities did not meet your agreement. And we do realise that we may not live up to each individual expectations.

Whilst providing magnificent Mt. Kinabalu views from the comfort of our rooms, it has been our priority to offer best service and hospitality to our valued guests.

Detail information are placed in every rooms to ensure guests' convenience in requesting assistance from our dedicated staff at any time of the hours, whenever required.

Thank you for bringing up the issue pertaining to our wifi service. The occasional unstable internet connection in the rural area is beyond our control but rest assured, we will try our very best to improve it.

All your comments have been noted and we take them as constructive criticisms to further improve our standard and services in ensuring satisfying and enjoyable stay for our guests.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Staff are pleasant, accommodation is clean and functional. This is not 5 star luxury, but it doesn't try to be either...

You come for the view, Mount Kinabalu on the doorstep. Our only real complaint is the lack of things to do locally? We stayed 2 nights as part of a longer trip and had excursions during the day, but quickly exhausted the local area of entertainment in our free time. Ok we could have climbed the mountain but chose not to.

I think they are pushing it to say that they cater for "western palates", however I'm in two minds as to whether they should? If you come to Malaysia, you should expect to experience it fully, that said I have pretty much had my fill of rice after 2 weeks.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundasang
2.6 km away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#5 of 12 in Kundasang
171 reviews
3.6 km away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 15 in Kundasang
118 reviews
0 km away
Ceaser's Place
Ceaser's Place
#12 of 15 in Kundasang
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Skyville Zen Resort
Skyville Zen Resort
#5 of 15 in Kundasang
3 reviews
22.6 km away
Sabah Tea Garden
Sabah Tea Garden
#4 of 35 in Ranau
139 reviews
0 km away
Nabalu Lodge
Nabalu Lodge
#6 of 15 in Kundasang
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Pine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Pine Resort

Address: Kampung Kundasang (along Kundasang Ranau Highway, Kundasang, Ranau 88990, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Price Range: €38 - €55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kinabalu Pine Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinabalu Pine Resort is a multi-award winning & privately run accommodation that caters to budget-conscious travellers.All of our cabins have wide open porches facing Mount Kinabalu. Unlike our competitors, all of Kinabalu Pine Resort's wooden cabins are fully built using the exclusive Selangan Batu hardwood. There are Standard or Deluxe cabins, with blocks S & N at the resort's crest. All rooms come with WiFi internet access, satellite television channels, intercom facility, en-suite bathroom, hair dryer and coffee & tea making facilities.Dining & entertainment'The Pines' caters local, Chinese & Western cuisine. On cool windy nights, try ordering Steamboat (Chinese hot pot). Our karaoke lounge & bar opens nightly from 9.00pm to 11.30pm. A Conference hall to conduct your meetings and seminars surrounded by lush greenery and beautiful landscaping. Our facilites can cater up to 150 delegates in theatre setting, or up to 60 in classroom setting.Other facilitiesIncludes an on-site children's playground, outdoor barbecue pits and public telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kinabalu Pine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Pine Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing