We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very scenic place, questionable noise insulation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for a base from which to climb Mount Kinabalu. The place is very well set out, affording great views of the summit and has a cafe/reasuarant serving very tasty food (although the selection is a little limited). The room size/decor was great but all chalets here are construsted of timber and are, at best, semi detached so noisy neighbours could prove a sizeable inconvenience. The climb up Mount Kinabalu itself (we opted for the 1 day, all the way up and down) was challenging but a lot of fun.If you want a greater chance of a view from the top (it was clouded over by the time we reached the top at around 1pm) then stay at the lodge around two thirds of the way up and set off to reach the summit for dawn - even then though there are no guarantees.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 294 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Best view ever! Our room was directly facing Mt. Kinabalu. Waking up to it every morning was just breathtaking. The rooms might look a little old but it's clean nonetheless. Bathrooms looked like they were newly renovated. There was a little walk in closet to keep your luggage and that's also where the dressing table was. The room came with a stand fan and no air-conditioning. Both were not needed as the weather was cooling up there.

Only complaint was the food. On our first night, instead of having rice and 3 or 4 dishes, we opted for a steamboat dinner. It costs RM10 per person to upgrade. It was more like a vegetarian steamboat. The 'fishballs' and 'fish paste' were made out of flour. Breakfast was mediocre as well. Sausages with super red tomato sauce (looked like colouring was added), nasi kunyit (colouring again as there was no kunyit fragrance), sambal, toast, and some bland noodles.

On our last day, we were awaken by other guests who came onto our verandah at 5 am. We didn't mind people coming but they should keep their voices down.

Stayed there for 3D2N and had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Chose rooms P1-P4. They have the BEST VIEWS of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sher1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

After a very long and tiring journey, we finally reached our first destination, Kinabalu Pine Resort :) And yes we made it without GPS! So that's one of the travelling proud moments for us. We checked in at 2.30pm local time and it was just us at the reception area. Maybe it was off peak hence not many people staying at the hotel during that week. By the way, I made the booking through their website; deluxe room RM240 per nite with dinner and breakfast. (Required to pay RM100 refundable deposit)

After all, I just couldn't find any other interesting hotels or resorts while searching online, so when several friends suggest KPR, I was like "Ok let's settle for this". This is Kundasang after all, where you definitely can find hundred other motels and lodges there but very few family oriented hotels or resorts. With that, KPR is the best fits my criteria and well well well, partly because I was completely sold by the "RABBIT HOUSE" in KPR as reviewed by others. Rabbits and kids, they sure gonna love it. :P

Room was clean and tidy and spacious enough for kids to play around. Large patio facing Mount Kinabalu is another bonus point here. But heh, with two kids around, not a single second that we had a chance to just sit and enjoy the majestic mountain view. -_____-" Owh, it's a wooden flooring chalet, so please expect the noise. All I can say, it's a basic chalet but with good room amenities. Water heater, electric kettle, coffee making facilities, TV, hair dryer and standing fan. No air-condition unit and I think we don't even need it pun as it was cold enough during the day and even more at night. So yeah, don't forget to bring your warm clothing okels? And insect repellent too because the window panels are not air tight.

Ok now here the good part of choosing this hotel, at least to keep my boys entertained during our stay; they have rabbit enclosure, fish ponds, playground and well landscaped garden. With pine trees all around and the climate, it gives you the feeling of being in another country. Plenty parking bays, or maybe we made a visit during off peak so finding a parking spot is not a big problem at all ;)

Foods? This is the only setback here. As for dinner, it was totally below average but considering our whereabouts that time, we just have to make do with that four dishes served that night. Breakfast was ok, the normal American breakfast, suffice enough to supply the energy for our next destination - Desa Cattle Dairy Farm. Other tourist spots like Kinabalu National Park, War Memorial Park, Tea Plantation, Poring Hot Spring all is just a drive away. So you don't have to be worry about being bored while visiting Kundasang.

Tips! For you to catch the beautiful breathtaking view of Mount Kinabalu, please wake up early. As early as 5.30am local time. Otherwise you won't be able to see the mountain peaks as it will be hiding behind the clouds :P

Room Tip: Deluxe room for spacious room and huge terrace :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ShilaShower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I loved the place the instant I set foot there. Clean, fresh air, a little chilly as it was about to rain. The reception area is very small but the staff are friendly. What I liked most is the resort was not as crowded as I expected it to be so it was nice wandering around the area all to myself. I would recommend to take a cab (though it is pricey for solo travellers) but for comfort and view of the surrounding villages and landscapes, I did not regret it at all.

I was fortunate to also arrive at the resort on a friday where there is a 'Tamu' in the kundasang town just about 10-15 minutes walk from the resort. Everything from handicrafts to apparels to foodstuff are sold here by the local kundasang villagers as well as nearby other nearby district traders...plus the landscape around the tamu is equally breathtaking...

My room was very clean though though basic. No fan or AC was necessary at all throughout the night as the area was chilly but comfortable.

One thing to remember: bring snacks and food of your own as minus the Friday tamu, there is absolutely nowhere to find food (except of course if you order room service or go to the resort restaurant). The restaurant caters more of chinese-styled cuisines (and halal) and if you want western meals, you need to let them know. The prices are pretty steep but you will not have much of a choice if you're hungry...Small portions are at RM 15.00, medium is at RM21.00 and large portions are at RM 26.00 per plate (as at May 2012). The breakfast at the resort is so-so...eggs, toast, sausages...the usual fried noodles with tea/coffee and juice....

Other than that, for entertainment, there's a TV avaliable with local channels but HBO, ESPN and CNN if you decide to just do nothing but relax in your room.

Make prior arrangements to the kinabalu park and other attractions if you like on your own. I requested the reception to make arrangements to the park on my behalf and i must say it was very expensive. A whopping RM95 return trip from the kinabalu park to the resort.

Overall, I did enjoy the entire trip and I plan to visit again. This time with friends and with preparation regarding trips and snacks....oh...did I tell how spectacular the view is in the morning?...;)

Enjoy your stay...

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahesh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for a night which we got ourselves 2 out of 4 rooms chalet. Our rooms are facing Mount Kinabalu and the view is breath-taking if the day is not cloudy but I got the best shot in the morning session as the skies are very clear. However, we got a family staying at the first floor on that night so their kids just running up and down the staircase which makes the whole unit shaking and noisy... Recommended to take the breakfast and dinner package as there is no cafe or restaurant nearby the resort. Steamboat and BBQ available upon request... Nice place to relax with no regrets...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calvin_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundasang
2.6 km away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#6 of 12 in Kundasang
171 reviews
3.6 km away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 15 in Kundasang
118 reviews
0 km away
Ceaser's Place
Ceaser's Place
#12 of 15 in Kundasang
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Skyville Zen Resort
Skyville Zen Resort
#5 of 15 in Kundasang
3 reviews
22.6 km away
Sabah Tea Garden
Sabah Tea Garden
#4 of 35 in Ranau
139 reviews
0 km away
Nabalu Lodge
Nabalu Lodge
#6 of 15 in Kundasang
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Pine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Pine Resort

Address: Kampung Kundasang (along Kundasang Ranau Highway, Kundasang, Ranau 88990, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Price Range: €38 - €55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kinabalu Pine Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinabalu Pine Resort is a multi-award winning & privately run accommodation that caters to budget-conscious travellers.All of our cabins have wide open porches facing Mount Kinabalu. Unlike our competitors, all of Kinabalu Pine Resort's wooden cabins are fully built using the exclusive Selangan Batu hardwood. There are Standard or Deluxe cabins, with blocks S & N at the resort's crest. All rooms come with WiFi internet access, satellite television channels, intercom facility, en-suite bathroom, hair dryer and coffee & tea making facilities.Dining & entertainment'The Pines' caters local, Chinese & Western cuisine. On cool windy nights, try ordering Steamboat (Chinese hot pot). Our karaoke lounge & bar opens nightly from 9.00pm to 11.30pm. A Conference hall to conduct your meetings and seminars surrounded by lush greenery and beautiful landscaping. Our facilites can cater up to 150 delegates in theatre setting, or up to 60 in classroom setting.Other facilitiesIncludes an on-site children's playground, outdoor barbecue pits and public telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kinabalu Pine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Pine Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing