We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS!!!!!!!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Le Mars
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

You get what you pay for. Stayed one night with my sister In law and husband and we had bed bug bites. So beware! Also there was no remote in the room and when I told them they said good thing you said something otherwise you would've been charged. Decent staff but only issue is they have an issue with bed bugs!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mader23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

I got 3 rooms for the week for my crew are work got delayed so we had nothing to do tell the following week asked to check out and they wouldn't refund me for the rest of my stay never ran into that before the bathroom is nasty dated beds are hard as a rock half the lights in the hallway don't even work very dark back door is taped open first room they gave us was still dirty shower and sink drains were both very very slow the air conditioner was very loud overall I've stayed in many hotels I travel every week for work and this one is probably the worst I've ever stayed in so your self a favor and go across the street

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Seth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya N, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. As you were informed upon check in you were on a reduced rate due to your length of stay. You were also informed upon check in that reduced rates are not eligible for refunds. We will however take your other complaints into consideration when scheduling further improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The hotel has the lowest rate in town. Repainted all rooms with new mattresses carpet and bedding. Anyone who complains about a FREE breakfast not being up to there expectations needs to remember that before discounts are rooms are $65/night. If you want to specify the room type u want "away from smoking or on a specific floor. MAKE A RESERVATION! THATS WHAT THEY ARE FOR.

Room Tip: First and 3 foors are most quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blakechristopher2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived at a little after 5pm. Was told our room wasnt ready. So we went to supper. Stormed that evening. Our daughters room the window leaked and had rain pouring in. I ask to get a differant room and was told all rooms were down. (Not sure what that meant). Thankfully the rain stopped. Our room had bugs in the tub. The next morning we went for breakfast at 7:30. They were out of biscuits and gravy and said they werent going to make more because it takes too long. No coffee either. When we mentioned that to desk girl she just said yeah i know. Price was good but will we will pay more to stay some where else next time.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank RICHARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Very disappointed...was to be "newly refurbished" and from observations had hardly started. Shower did not work, no stopper in sink, toilet unsafe to sit on. One party in our group requested their toilet be fixed because it was broken, only to be told there was no one available to fix it.
We arrived at 3:30ish and they were aware our group was coming. They were not ready stating "they had a full house the night before and weren't ready yet."...it would be another half hour. We were on a tight schedule, but our bus took a half-hour drive through town.
Breakfasts were a joke. "Columbian" coffee which is usually very strong was like brown water -- BOTH MORNINGS. I couldn't even drink it. The "orange juice" was either orange kool aid, or maybe Crystal Lite...definitely NOT orange juice.
No one assisted with luggage and since there were necessary steps to either floor, and we had some handicapped individuals, it was quite a handicap.
We would never stay there again, and in fact, if it were a hotel used on a future bus trip, we would not go on the trip,.
The 2 stars is because it was very clean...although was very old and run down so was difficult to get that fresh, clean smell. Sheets were very clean and in spite of condition of bathroom it was very clean.
Oh...also train several times, but we love the train so wasn't a problem for us. Air conditioner was a bit noisy, but kept room adequately cool.

Room Tip: No clue...someone said their room smelled smoke, but ours did not. Again, we would NOT stay there ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank logo968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Mars hotels
0.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites LeMars
0.9 km away
Amber Inn Motel Le Mars
Amber Inn Motel Le Mars
#3 of 4 in Le Mars
29 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Le Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1201 Hawkeye Ave SW, Le Mars, IA 51031-1865 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn / Le Mars)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Le Mars
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Le Mars
Price Range: €48 - €60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Le Mars
Super Eight Le Mars
Le Mars Super 8
Le Mars Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing