We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
108
34
7
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
34
7
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amana colonies casserole bed and breakfast sweet treats swan room different theme red carpet four seasons breakfast was delicious themed rooms historic place to stay gourmet coffee common room walnut grove served buffet style luggage upstairs mini refrigerator and microwave
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Would stay here again. Lovely and delightful place . Breakfast was delicious . Very clean and welcoming . Owners were very nice and Informative. Tv and game area. Antique furniture. If you are looking for a unique out of the way place that would make a memory, this is your place .

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for taking time to review Zuber's. We try to give our guests an experience that is unique and homey. We would be happy to serve you again in the future, so please stop back and stay with us again when you are in the area. Again thanks for the review. Brian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We haven't been to the Amana Colonies for years so came back to see them. I enjoyed the history at Zuber's. It was an old 1800s hotel built for the stagecoach stop down the street and the RR. It has been significantly updated and it is very clean. It is still decorated with the "history" in mind. Enjoyed the friendly personnel, the nice homemade breakfast, and the packet of historical reading in the room. Our room was huge (the deer tail room) with a fireplace and even a lounge chair. Liked that it was on the first floor and I didn't have to take the luggage upstairs. You have the run of the place with living room type seating, a piano, and game in the Wagon Wheel room. Enjoyed it!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AroundtheWorld36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for your review. Please stop back and stay with us again if you are in the area,

Thanks
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We like Thursday we will be back was very clean and quite quaint
Very close to many places to visit
Large room adequately appointed
Love the Iowa fog early in the morning took a little walk down the street to where the gravel road begin out into the cornfields

.......

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lowellb517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian8793, Manager at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thanks for your review. We are happy you liked your stay with and we would be happy to serve you again when you are ready for another get-away. I wish we could take credit for the fog but I don't have that kind of pull. Ha. Again, thanks for taking time to review your stay. Have a good day. Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We stayed in the Whitetail room. It was just as charming in person as in the pictures. Very clean, beds were well appointed and comfortable. The breakfasts and the afternoon sweet treats were amazing. You feel welcome and at home right away.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank deschmiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Sorry my response is late. I must have missed the notice that you had sent a review. Thank you for your review. Please stay with us again if you are in the area. we appreciate your business and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Thanks
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Beautiful individually theme decorated rooms!! We stayed in the Trumpeter Swan room. Staff was sooo helpful every way they could. Breakfasts were yummy home cooked meals.
Highly recommend.
They offered suggestions on where to eat in the Amana Colonies and told us about a 10% discount at Ronnenburg Restaurant. Also urged us to make our reservations for the van tour right away...we did! The van tour can be booked at the Visitors Center. Two tours a day: 11am and 2 pm. Very well worth it.
We also visited Kolona which is a delightful 1/2 hour of windy, pretty countryside drive. Recommend the Tuscan Moon Restaurant and the Amish Bakery right outside of town!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank KimWinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for taking time review your stay at Zuber's. We are very happy you got to see the Colonies, as well as, Kalona. If you are back in the area we would be happy to have you stay with us again. Again, thanks for your review.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews