We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Boone, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our stay here was fabulous! The service was great and the food was excellant! They found a room for us last minute as we had booked at another Dubuque hotel but left because it was disgusting. Great, great place!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Julien, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We are so glad we had the opportunity to take care of you. We will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,359
    412
    155
    75
    48
See reviews for
430
973
64
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Why would anyone want to stay in a limited service hotel when you can stay here! The entire staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The room was wonderful, clean, quiet and spacious. The Keurig in the room was convenient but we found ourselves running over to the coffee shop across the street frequently. We ate at Carolyn's Restaurant (in the hotel). The food was fantastic every time! I would eat there even if I was not staying in the hotel; great bargain and service! It is conveniently located and we walked to many of the local downtown shops and tourist activities.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Julien, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We couldn't agree more, why would you want to stay anywhere else? Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled we had the opportunity to have you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tower, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We spent 2 nights at this hotel during a recent vacation in Iowa. It is a wonderful old hotel that has been beautifully updated and our (deluxe king) room was fantastic. The bed was really comfortable (pillows were not! glad I brought my own) and the room had a nice shower, double sinks, fridge and couch with coffee table. There were bed tables on each side of the bed and the lighting was great! The lady at the front desk was not very familiar with Dubuque, but the Iowa Welcome Center is only a block away and they were very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room - it is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgawboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have stay here when in town for business. I love the architecture and the historic images throughout. You feel like you are at an exclusive fine hotel, but with small hometown charm. The staff is very friendly and helpful with advice on getting around town. I stayed here a long time ago before they remodeled so I can tell you that it has been tastefully restored to its period design. Although, I stayed here for business I imagine it would be a very romantic getaway place where one could relax with a glass of wine at their restaurant Caroline’s or enjoying a dual spa treatment. The spa pedi and mani were very relaxing and completed in a classy atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This lovely restored hotel manages to be high end and luxurious while maintaining its small-town charm and friendliness. Our room was huge and beautiful (although oddly, not very well equipped for two people with only one luggage rack, one comfortable chair and no place for two people to share coffee). Bathroom also large, though again,it didn't make good use of the space with a tiny countertop and smallish shower. Comfy beds, with lots of pillows. Very important to me - plenty of light to read in bed. Even from 6 floors up,on a warm weekend night the noise from the bars across the street continued until 2:00am, so ask for a room on the other side of the building if you're concerned. Staff was very helpful. Hotel very well located right in the middle of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farewell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
18.6 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing