We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iemsa conference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Hotel staff was very professional however it would be nice to have breakfast on weekends start at 6 am. We had to be at conference by 7:30 so had no time for breakfast. Thanks to front desk Michelle for check in process.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown is a little dated but the rooms are clean and there is plenty of free parking. I had one of the best restful nights in quite a while at this hotel property. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. I also had a wonderful buffet breakfast (Guest have the option of ordering from a menu). The hotel is centrally located close to everything in downtown Des Moines. The hotel is also located across from Mercy Hospital. I will definitely stay at this hotel property the next time I am in the Des Moines area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank TravelGuy2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Noisy guests, beds sucks (slanted to the middle), bad pillows, guests were smoking in their rooms, dirty, and the management was very unhelpful/unfriendly after reporting loud guests partying in the hallway at 3am. Stay clear of this one! Wow, it was bad.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank msifuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear msifuentes,

I am so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your experience at our hotel. What you have described is not the type of stay we strive to provide every guest every day, and it does not meet our expectations. I have shared this information with management in order to ensure that what you have described will not happen in the future. I greatly appreciate your business and your review.

Sincerely,

GretchenT
Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed at this hotel and found management entirely unresponsive to calls for help with a large and unruly group of guests. There was marijuana, swearing and fighting in the halls. After asking the hotel for help three times we finally called the police who got control of the situation and evicted some of the guests

Room Tip: Avoid the freeway side on the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi David N,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay with us. Your thoughts are valued. I feel concerned that the service from our hotel staff fell below your expectations. It is our goal to meet your needs as a guest and I have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail. The hotel management will be alerted so that no other guest will experience this same level of dissatisfaction again.

I am glad that you found the room's upkeep adequate. It was a pleasure to host your stay! We hope to hear back from you.

Kind Regards,

Anna B
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Ceckin staff were friendly. We stayed in a suite which was massive and had two bathrooms. Room was clean and had a comfy bed.

Breakfast buffet was standard selection and was very tasty and the hot items were actually hot.

Overall the hotel could do with a rethink I the decor. I didn't think the decor was old but just a bit old fashioned. Brown is not a modern color these days. It made the hotel look like something out of the 70's.

However we enjoyed our stay albeit only one night and would use it again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center
8.5 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
1.3 km away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Address: 1050 6th Ave, Des Moines, IA 50314-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: €91 - €163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown, Des Moines, Iowa. Our convenient downtown location provides the ideal setting for both business and leisure travel. With convenient access to Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Veterans Auditorium, Des Moines Civic Center, Iowa State Fairgrounds, and Mercy Hospital, you can not go wrong when you stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown. Located in the heart of Des Moines, we are minutes away from an assortment of entertainment options. Indulge and have a ball at Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo or the Science Center. Also, exceptional dining and nightlife are just blocks away at the Court Avenue Entertainment District and the trendy Historic East Village. Downtown Des Moines is alive with special events every weekend, and our area shuttle makes navigating downtown a breeze! Relax, it's Holiday Inn. We offer free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, an indoor pool, and a complimentary downtown/airport shuttle. If you love classic American cuisine set in a casual but elegant dining atmosphere, then Genevieve's Restaurant and Cityscape Lounge are the place to go. Whether your visit brings you to Des Moines for business or pleasure, allow the Holiday Inn Downtown to be your hotel of choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing