We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place, If You Can Find It”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Des Moines
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butler House on Grand
Ranked #3 of 4 Des Moines B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Butler B&B is located in a magnificent house built in 1921. Larger than many B&Bs in which we have stayed, it features seven rooms, most (all?) of which must be reached by stairs. The ambiance is lovely, and the breakfast we had was excellent. The dining room was set with both a common table and a couple of individual couples' tables; when we were there, two people who had come down before us occupied the former, and we took the latter, so there was less conversation among guests than in some places. The living room serves as a common room; it is well appointed in both period and contemporary terms--antique furniture and flat-screen TV. There is a refrigerator with various drinks on the second floor. The WiFi works well.

Butler House is located just across Grand Avenue from the Des Moines Art Center (which, unhappily but unsurprisingly, is closed on Mondays, so we did not visit). You do have to be alert to find it, however, because there is no obvious sign on Grand Avenue. Coming from the east, we passed it, even though we had the street number. Perched on a rise, the house faces north, so you don't enter from the street. To the west is a driveway that the B&B shares with an adjacent apartment building. Drive past the apartment and park in one of the House's slots.

We stayed in the Cook's Corner room. It is very brightly painted, something like a child's room. It faces north, overlooking the lot. We would stay there again, but one should note the bathroom, which is extremely cramped and awkwardly laid out: the radiator and sink flank the toilet, which, consequently, is hard to rich, and the shower is small. This room would not be a good choice for larger people.

The staff is very attentive. Overall, Butler House is an elegant and comfortable retreat.

Room Tip: (See description above.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_L_C_100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2016

2nd visit to this B&B and another great experience. Lots of little kids that the owners handled with patience (when we were really loud). Breakfast was always excellent. Recommend - great place to stay, great location, great owners.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlerHouse, Owner at Butler House on Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you for your positive post. We have been blessed to be open for almost 18 years and over these years, we have gotten to know many of our guests as they stay with us often. We have enjoyed getting to know your family and watching you all as you start your own families. The children were wonderful. We hope there will be a time soon when you all find your way into our B&B again. Enjoy your summer. Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We arrived on a Friday night to visit our daughter who lives in Des Moines. Preparing for a smooth arrival I always re-read other reviews and even go so far as to view the surroundings on Google maps street views so I know where I'm at when I get there. The Butler House was easy to find and once we arrived the home and surroundings were very nice with the home being set up on the hill. Upon entering the home, it is very well appointed and decorated. At 6100 square feet, there is room to roam. We had chosen the Greenwood room and it was spacious, comfortable. The entire home is almost as it was in 1923 when it was built. Many of the fixtures are from that same time but in excellent working condition. The breakfast was excellent and the stay was a very interesting and relaxing. We will most certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dhornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlerHouse, Owner at Butler House on Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you for you kind remarks. We have been open for 17 years now! While our home was built in 1923 we do try to keep as much of the original fixtures as we can. We certainly do hope you will return again. Thank you too, for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

I enjoyed the charm of the house, our room was on the top floor and it was very quiet despite the busy road nearby. Lauren was a wonderful hostess offering us suggestions for dinner and activities. Check in was seamless with my only complaint being the house itself was hard to see from the road and the sign was too small. We drove past it. The breakfast was deliciously homemade.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OliviaW929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Beautiful house, gorgeous furnishings, excellent location, especially for runners or bikers, with easy access to the river trails, wonderful food, and best of all, the fabulous company of hosts, Clark & Lauren. Whenever we go back to Des Moines, we'll stay at Butler House!

Room Tip: Cook's Quarters is budget-friendly, but bathroom is quite small. Otherwise, was perfect for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmportero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
4.4 km away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 50 in Des Moines
472 reviews
7.4 km away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
5.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 50 in Des Moines
236 reviews
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
4.5 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler House on Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler House on Grand

Address: 4507 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50312-2401
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Des Moines
Price Range: €85 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the oldest B&B in Des Moines. We have been featured in the New York Times, Des Moines Register and many other publications. We enjoy making your stay in Des Moines memorable. Please come and stay! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing