We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Home, Caring Family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Des Moines
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butler House on Grand
Ranked #3 of 4 Des Moines B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Des Moines is my hometown and even if the location weren't perfect for me (and it is!), I will always stay at the Butler House on my trips home. Travelling alone, my stay was over the Christmas Holiday and Clark and Lauren were gracious with flexibility that road trips can demand. Breakfasts were outstanding, and always included inquiry to my wishes. On my last morning, I wanted to get a very early start, planning to miss breakfast, however Clark met me the best brown bag breakfast I’ve ever enjoyed! My local family was so jealous they have suggested we just have Christmas 2015 on 3rd floor of the Butler House. Haha!

Unfortunately, I became very ill with the flu on Christmas Eve and was back in my room before 7pm. Clark and Lauren couldn't have been more caring, seeing to my needs and quietly checking on me at least a couple of times – during their own Christmas-time with family.

My stay was in the charming Secret Garden Room, windows all around make it light and airy with views to both the little garden below and the Art Center across Grand Avenue. The room has a queen sized four poster bed with super comfy feather bed to snuggle deep into - being from Florida, I was never cold in the room. The refrigerator and light treats in the hallway are an especially nice touch.

I will definitely stay there again and wholeheartedly recommend the Butler House.

Room Tip: Tell Lauren or Clark your plans needs and they are wonderful at suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2015

This is a grand Victorian B & B. The rooms were spacious and elegant. The place is magnificent! The owner greeted us warmly. We were Breakfast was outstanding. Glad to have experience this B & B as we traveled across the country. High recommend!

Room Tip: Great elegant room, great sleep. Couldn't have asked for more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob and Lucille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

This place was beautiful, historic, comfortable, and felt like visiting family. The hosts are amazing, and the food was incredible. Went there to do some biking on a rails-to-trails bike trail, and the hosts were very accommodating. They suggested good places to eat and good places to visit. There's a beautiful park across the street with lots of flowers, too. If I ever find myself needing a place to stay in Des Moines, this is the first place I'll look. It really is that good.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank ParkvilleITGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We have stayed at Butler House on Grand several times when in Des Moines to attend conferences and each of the rooms we've stayed in have been bright and sunny, very comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts are delicious and beautifully presented, and the hosts, Lauren and Clark, are some of the nicest people you'll ever meet. We've always had exceptional service, and many extra niceties are provided. We love staying at Butler House on Grand and can't wait until our next visit. It's like coming home to an old friend.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SherrieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night en route I-80. The inn is a restored mansion, with lovely comfortable rooms. Parlor is beautiful, with moldings on the ceiling. Hosts are very helpful about recommending nearby local restaurants, suggesting only local businesses, not chains. Breakfast was excellent. Might have to go back and enjoy the sights of Des Moines sometime.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank ChicagoBurnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
4.4 km away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 50 in Des Moines
472 reviews
7.4 km away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
5.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 50 in Des Moines
236 reviews
4.5 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler House on Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler House on Grand

Address: 4507 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50312-2401
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Des Moines
Price Range: €85 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the oldest B&B in Des Moines. We have been featured in the New York Times, Des Moines Register and many other publications. We enjoy making your stay in Des Moines memorable. Please come and stay! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing