We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality sandwiches”

South Union Bread Cafe
Ranked #61 of 638 Restaurants in Des Moines
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Deli, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Had the Sarah's Revenge - it's a quality sandwich. Great roast beef and focaccia. They also give you a side of bread too. Get the olive oil as it's of great quality too. All around, worth it for an $8 sandwich.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank johnlwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2016

With so many delicious sounding sandwiches on the menu to choose from, I had to go with my first instinct and ordered the Sarah's Revenge. This was a great decision, as the rare roast beef and bacon(!) melded with the gooey mozzarella and soft sauteed peppers with a light kick from the mild horseradish sauce into a flavor combination that was truly one of the best sandwiches I've ever had. The only thing that could maybe have improved it was a more potent horseradish sauce, but that is a minor quibble.

The sandwich came on focaccia bread, which was great, but I was even more impressed with the little sides of bread we received to accompany our sandwiches. These were soft, a little garlicky, and a lot tasty, and made for a fantastic little extra with our meal. I was less impressed with the rather average pasta salad; I may go for a different side with my sandwich combo next time.

Ambiance is pretty basic, but with food like this it's hard to complain. My only issue now is whether I stick with this fantastic sandwich on my return visits or continue to explore the rest of the mouth-watering sandwich menu!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cyclone05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Came here for lunch while on business. Ordered ham and cheese on rye with mustard and lettuce. Also ordered the turkey sub. Received a hot ham and cheese on there own bread with no mustard. /the turkey sub was pretty good. Prices moderate.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Nailcutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Best sandwiches in town and the service is awesome. Tends to get noisy around lunch time so you have to stand near the counter so you can hear when your order is ready.

Date of visit: July 2015
1  Thank torpdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014 via mobile

I absolutely LOVE this place. Usually go here 3 times a week for lunch as I work nearby. I order online, pickup is super easy and the guys that are at the checkout counter are seriously the nicest. Love the bread and their Caesar salad is phenomenal! Check this place out, you won't regret it.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank heather l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Union Bread Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Union Bread Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing