We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad , bad, bad Chinese buffet, no service, waste of time and money”

Hong Kong Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #286 of 656 Restaurants in Des Moines
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Went to HK for dinner buffet on a week day evening. We arrived about 7:30 pm.
Restaurant was quiet only one customer was in the dinning room.
We paid for our buffet, at HK you pay before you eat. Steam table was pretty much picked over, food was cold, very greasy looking. It was a surprise we did not get sick. The entire time we were there no fresh food was brought out.
Great disappointment, may be the students from Drake U with limited cash like it because it was cheap Chinese food and you can get full.
Will never return, yuk!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Travelprn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We ordered from this restaurant based on a recommendation by the front desk manager at our hotel. Oh my goodness! Our order was delivered promptly to our hotel room and it was DELICIOUS!!! Who knew you could get amazing Chinese food in Des Moines Iowa? Too bad this restaurant isn't closer to our home in Michigan - we would order every week!

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Boysens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

You can get the buffet, or have them make a dish from the fairly extensive menu while you wait. Cantonese, Hunan, Szeuwan, etc. style.

The buffet is a bit small, but the items are good and the price is very low. We go there about once a month and never get tired of it. Nice people, good food, reasonable prices.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank seacorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

The boys were playing with their Legos as usual. The buffet was fresh and stocked I am full however the barbecued chicken was not a do over tonight! Still it is nice to be recognized when you walk in and get fresh crab rangoon.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank reikep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

If you want a NYC experience of an original style Chinese restaurant than this is it. Not one of the fancy commercial buffets. The food is excellent. When you go, make sure it is very close to noon. All the food is fresh. Or wait until they bring out the food fresh from the kitchen. Family owned. Its not fancy but clean. Not sugared down food like commercial places. I make my own dish with the noodles, peanut sauce and hot pepper spice.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hong Kong Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing