We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
6
22
12
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
22
12
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews road noise decent place to sleep one night close to downtown air conditioner bed was comfortable hilton mattress desk
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We were on a budget, and everything in downtown Des Moines was booked or pricey, so we tried Cozy Rest.

Cozy Rest has an old-time "motor inn" feel. Located on a busy road in a vaguely Latino area south of town, it looks dumpy from outside (aging sign, crumbly staircase), but the rooms are OK. Spartan and threadbare, for sure, but the mattress was firm and shower hot. Free parking, pleasant staff.

I liked the “Clean Remote” which is designed to be disinfected. Very clever. But I struggled to get a signal on the TV. Plus the gent at the front-desk provided the wrong wif-fi.

My biggest gripe: no coffee. Not in the room, the office, nothing for a mile (the “Git-n-Go” by the Des Moines River.) Other gripes: no towel hooks, no fridge (as advertised), no clothes hangers. A few basic improvements could really help this place.

Room Tip: No coffee in room or office
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdub333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Clean Room and Friendly Staff. Great Value. Amazing Shower. Couldnt ask for anthing more. Located very clost to downtown. A uber ride cost around five dollars and management is also willing to drop you off at the airport.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank mrjackson1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We had an early morning medical appointment and just needed a decent place to sleep and shower. Cozy Rest provided just that. If you're looking for fancy with lots of amenities, this isn't the place for you. No breakfast but that was fine with us. We could hear some road noise and the TV/conversation in the room next to us. It didn't keep us from getting to sleep. We'd choose Cozy Rest again if we are in the Des Moines area again.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank jbzak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

My overall rating reflects a heavy weighting of value.

Stayed three nights in Room 41 (2nd floor, near the middle). Interior of room was quite nice and clean, and appeared to be recently remodeled. Outdoor high temperatures were in the upper 90's, but the through-the-wall air conditioner kept the room quite cool. Barely noticed any noise from other rooms, but I could hear a fair amount of traffic noise from the adjacent street. The chief downside to the facility is the building exterior, and lack of amenities aside from a very small in-room refrigerator and free wi-fi. The owner and his family were extraordinarily friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robertf169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The inside is small, but nice and comfortable. There's even a small refrigerator in the room, but no coffee maker. You can hear some road noise, but I still got a good nights' sleep. The free wifi worked very well. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews