We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
6
22
12
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
22
12
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews road noise decent place to sleep one night close to downtown air conditioner bed was comfortable hilton mattress desk
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night prior to flying out the following morning. I booked it off a third party site for a very good price. When we pulled up, I was very unsure. Luckily I had read on here to not judge it from the outside. I will say had I not read that, I would not have even gone in. The front desk is old school, ring the bell and such. Before I checked in I did ask to see the room. It was so nice! Newly remodeled! The whole room was new. Bed was very comfy and bathroom very nice. Big shower. The hotel is on a busy street, I had earplugs with me anyways. And the only other negative is the deadbolt on the door did not work. No chain lock either. This was not a deal breaker for us, I would stay here again, but would feel more comfortable if the deadbolt worked.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank funlover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

I'm on disabialty so I can't aford much.
I took my two grandkids to go to Adventurland.
I got a room for this place on Exspedia for very cheap.
The owners are so nice and helpful.
The room is exactly like the picture you see.
The room is very small but it worked for me and my two grandkids.
We ate on the bed for there's no table.
But warning! Don't let the kids use the tv remote.
Because on channel 22 it's xxx rated porn all day and night.
I got their and turned on tv and that's what came on, luckally I changed it quick enough before kids saw it. They're 6 and 8 years old.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker the room is bigger.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Katherinegrandmaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

To pass by this hotel, you’d see the faded sign and what looks like a bad 70s design. What you can’t see from the outside is that the rooms have been updated and renovated. Even though it’s gotten new paint, toilets, lights, and doors, it’s still a little sparse. For example, the doors have a deadbolt, but no secondary sliding chain lock and no viewhole. Our room had a fridge, but no microwave, clock, or do not disturb sign. Traffic on 14th Street, which the two-story part of the hotel faces, never really ends, so there was some noise from passing cars, but we heard nothing from the adjacent and lower rooms. We had to ask for the WiFi password, but the signal seemed relatively strong once we logged on. The room was very clean, and the price seemed good. We would definitely consider this strongly if we ever need a room in Des Moines again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dmarkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

My wife and I spent the night. We got in late with no problem checking in. At 930 am the manager/housekeeping knocked then started to walk in (check out is at 11am) I stopped him at the door. No locks on the doors other than the keyless card. The toilet was loud, and rattled when we got up. The noise from the outside was loud due to being next to a busy road. Overall the room was clean.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank joseph l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

This motel has recently been renovated and refurnished. It is clean and has a massive shower that was an excellent creature comfort at the end of a long day. There was a nice open closet. The room was little small, but not uncomfortable for 2 people. Our bedspread was a little warn, and there was no fridge or microwave. We arrived late, and the motel is located on a loud, four-lane road, but much better inside.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sionna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews