We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute must if you visit”
Review of PM Park

PM Park
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Clear Lake
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: American
Description: We are open from mid-May until Labor Day. We serve lunch and dinner in an unique setting, under big, beautiful mature oak trees, next to the lake with grass as the flooring. You will be waited on by one of our friendly servers at one of the many picnic tables. Our restaurant does not have walls but we do have indoor seating for those who choose to be inside. PM Park was built in 1914 and has served breakfast every season since then, with a full menu you will find something everyone will like. We do have a quite a few items that are gluten free and will accommodate any special needs if possible. Children love this place, they have a beach, a pirate ship. a frisbee for a plate and all the space they need to run and play.
Restaurant details
Description: We are open from mid-May until Labor Day. We serve lunch and dinner in an unique setting, under big, beautiful mature oak trees, next to the lake with grass as the flooring. You will be waited on by one of our friendly servers at one of the many picnic tables. Our restaurant does not have walls but we do have indoor seating for those who choose to be inside. PM Park was built in 1914 and has served breakfast every season since then, with a full menu you will find something everyone will like. We do have a quite a few items that are gluten free and will accommodate any special needs if possible. Children love this place, they have a beach, a pirate ship. a frisbee for a plate and all the space they need to run and play.
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Great food, and the best service around. This is a historic landmark in Clear Lake, and they have done their best to keep it preserved and working. It is an asset to the community. We went to one outdoor concert toward the end of the season and wished we had known so we could go to many more. It was free, and their little outdoor Tiki Bar was hopping! Great service anyway even though the place was packed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maggiemae58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cris B, Manager at PM Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

MaggieMay58,
Thank you for the review and the appreciation you expressed. It's nice to be noticed for the historic aspect of PM Park.
Thank you again,
Cris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

OMG the pulled pork. And I'm not a pulled pork fan, it's usually very boring. This.Is.Amazing.
Onion rings? We all agreed some clogged arteries were worth it, ha! They.Were.Amazing.
Ate outside...some bark mulch on the ground to cover up the big bare potentially muddy areas would be nice...
Great service and there were 12 of us--large groups aren't always easy for a server!
Only complaint was the iced tea--don't bother, get water, hard to tell it was even tea.
Looking forward to going back some evening.

Thank 5Martini5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This is a fun place for families to enjoy everything in one stop...good food, drinks, water, sunset. It isn't fancy, but is fun.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Betty50428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

OK - so four of us couples, plus one adult son (total of 9) decided to go to PM Park for supper together. I think the other 3 couples had been before but this was our first time. Everyone else thought it would be a great idea and had good experiences in the past.
In a nutshell, here's what happened:
1) After being seated and having a drink order taken, we waited about 20 minutes to have our food order taken. We were completely ignored during that whole time.
2) While our order was being prepared, 3 of our party were informed that there was no more pulled pork left, so their Carolina burgers would not have that ingredient. We'd waited so long, everyone decided not to change their order.
3) An hour after being seated our food came.
4) At the end of our meal, we had one request for a box. All other empty baskets were removed. A few minutes later, our waitress came by, took the last basket that was to be boxed, and left. When she brought the bills, the lady whose food was taken asked about it, thinking she probably took it to box it. Nope - she threw it away.
5) We looked at our bills - no reduction for a Carolina burger with no pulled pork in it. I asked about it, "How much for a Carolina burger with no pulled pork in it?" "10.99" "Really?" "Yes."
So, we had a really good time visiting with friends. We roasted in a hot restaurant that the air conditioner couldn't keep up with. We made fun for a half hour of missing ingredients in the order. The taken home food was thrown away. And when she came back from processing our credit card payments she said, "Sorry to take so long. The credit card machine kept messing up." To which I said, "That doesn't surprise me at all."

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cris B, Manager at PM Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Oh John, I'm so sorry your experience didn't live up to the hype. I have a one serious server problem with one server. We were subbing ham for pulled pork, it should have been offered, you should have gotten a to go box, the credit card machine worked just fine, I'd guess operator error. Saturday was a scorcher and our air wouldn't keep up with the crowd coming in and out. We really do try our best to make each and every guest happy, I'm so sorry we let you down. I hope you give us another chance and another rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

The onion rings are my favorite. My wife loves the tenderloin. You can drive a car or drive your boat over and dock

Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cris B, Manager at PM Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thank you for the review, we make both our tenderloin and onion rings from scratch each and every day. Also, thank you for mentioning our dock, visitors to the lake will appreciate the local info.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PM Park also viewed

 
Clear Lake, IA
 

Been to PM Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing