We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare visit. Don't waste your money!”
Review of Fieldhouse

Fieldhouse
Ranked #16 of 50 Restaurants in Clear Lake
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Description: Fieldhouse is located in downtown Clear Lake next to beautiful City Park. Our restaurant features a seasonal menu, which highlights simple, quality ingredients, sourced locally whenever possible. Our goal is to offer our customers the freshest farm-to-table experience in North Iowa, and introduce you to the area growers & producers who make it possible. At Fieldhouse, we encourage the sharing of dishes, which creates an atmosphere ideal for interaction & conversation. Beverages parallel the food in its simplicity, and we offer a menu of classic cocktails & local beers. Fieldhouse opened in June 2017. It was created through a partnership between Clear Lake-based nonprofit organization Opportunity Village — now One Vision — and Fieldhouse managing partner Joshua Frederick. Our mission is to elevate area farmers and promote responsible growing practices, as well as provide meaningful jobs to people supported by One Vision. All sale proceeds at Fieldhouse benefit One Vision services.
Restaurant details
Description: Fieldhouse is located in downtown Clear Lake next to beautiful City Park. Our restaurant features a seasonal menu, which highlights simple, quality ingredients, sourced locally whenever possible. Our goal is to offer our customers the freshest farm-to-table experience in North Iowa, and introduce you to the area growers & producers who make it possible. At Fieldhouse, we encourage the sharing of dishes, which creates an atmosphere ideal for interaction & conversation. Beverages parallel the food in its simplicity, and we offer a menu of classic cocktails & local beers. Fieldhouse opened in June 2017. It was created through a partnership between Clear Lake-based nonprofit organization Opportunity Village — now One Vision — and Fieldhouse managing partner Joshua Frederick. Our mission is to elevate area farmers and promote responsible growing practices, as well as provide meaningful jobs to people supported by One Vision. All sale proceeds at Fieldhouse benefit One Vision services.
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

I have eaten at some of the nicest restaurants in the world, and this place is trying to come off as a fancy place, but when you charge the prices they do you should be able to order your food the way you would like it prepared. Steaks are all prepared rare and can not be prepared any other way. Salmon medium rare and no other way. Almost all dishes have onions so if you are not an onion lover forget it! No substitutions allowed. I felt like we were dealing with the soup nazi in the Seinfeld show. It's really sad that a place so nice that charges this much does not understand customer service, and that the customer should come first. I've live here in Clear Lake for over 30 years and it saddens me that I've head this story over and over from many people and that people will never go back after one dinning experience here. This place had such nice possibilities, but I'm afraid it is doomed to fail with the way it being run.

4  Thank msdslpdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 January 2018

Hello! We regret that you did not enjoy your experience at Fieldhouse; however, we thank you for your feedback. Our goal at Fieldhouse is to offer our guests a unique experience with friends, and in recent months, we acknowledged that in order to offer unique experiences, that meant eliminating the no substitutions or modifications policy we put in place upon opening Fieldhouse. The policy was only intended to maintain the composition and flavors of each dish. We do hope you come back and see us again soon!

~ The team at Fieldhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

A new restaurant in downtown Clear Lake and very interesting. The source of their food are the local farmers, fresh, fresh, fresh I had one of the best salads I've ever had that contained lots of greens, tomatoes, cucumbers etc My husband had a delicious sandwich. Service is exceptional. Right across from the city park, don't miss it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 January 2018

Thank you for your generous feedback! We're thrilled you enjoyed your experience at Fieldhouse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The restaurant is newly opened. The food is prepared nicely and each bite is nummy. Remember to make reservations as it is open Thursday through Saturday for lunch and dinner; Sunday is brunch all day, but as the saying goes, "first come, first served," so if you read on the posted menu an item that draws your attention, go in and order it right away. If you wait, it may sell out--freshly made each of the days, the menu items will change as they are sold out. There is no waste; it is truly a farm-to-table restaurant connected to the Village, a local special needs area. Go there--you won't be disappointed!

1  Thank nanookune47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 January 2018

Thank you for your kind words and for supporting our mission!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I was shocked to be able to find a really nice place to eat. When I say nice I mean All Natural Or Oraganic Food. This Resturant will make you enjoy all natural food. The staff is amazing. I am looking forward to making a drive down to enjoy their lunch time menu. Due to health reason I have to eat organic or natural foods and it is very hard to locate restaurants that are on board with the organic or all natural food movements.

1  Thank baldman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to be able to provide you a dining-out option that fits your needs. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fieldhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fieldhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing