We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
39
12
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
12
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big walk in shower marriott properties front desk person mini kitchen both mornings the manager's reception plenty of hot water water pressure living area we've stayed hotel room business trip staff was very friendly recommend this hotel stove micah cookware
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

The Residence Inn is a bit of s surprise. Usually hotels in Cedar Rapids are not nice, for instance the Marriott is the worst I’ve ever been in. I checked in last weekend not expecting much and was surprised to find a couple year old hotel that is actually still holding up. It looks trendy and comfortable and room was clean and did show any age. It was standard newer Residence Inn design and well done. The staff was friendly and chatty and made me feel welcome.
Parking is free and the hotel is near the interstate and the airport. I meet some friends at a downtown bar and an Uber was less than $10. Good hotel for a low price. Probably the best in Cedar Rapids.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jtndenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Jtndenver,

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding our Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South after your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, staff and accommodations. It was our pleasure to be of service to you during your travels and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our Cedar Rapids area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We stayed here to attend the Newbo festival and concerts over the weekend. First of all the check in was quick and the front desk person was extremely friendly. The room was over the top clean and a really nice size room based on other Residence Inns we have stayed at. The beds were comfortable including the fold out. Water pressure was great with plenty of hot water. The hotel is just of the interstate and easy to find. The kicker for this place was the breakfast. They had eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, make your own waffles, multiple choices for fruits and yogurts. If you could not find something to eat you are over the top picky. The only thing negative I would say and it is minimal was this is in a more developing area with lots of more industrial buildings. There was a train that came through around 6 am but that is not their fault.. Definitely check this place out as an option in Cedar Rapids…

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeffrey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Manager at Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Jeffrey W,

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding our Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South after your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, staff and accommodations. It was our pleasure to be of service to you during your travels and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our Cedar Rapids area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Check in staff was fabulous, friendly, and professional. But the property leaves something to be desired - primary among which is that it is in a deadly boring part of town, the only virtue of which is that it is not far from the airport. If you want to find something good to eat, you need to cab it or otherwise drive into downtown Cedar Rapids.

Room Tip: Ask to face the front of the hotel (I think those are the even numbered rooms). The back faces onto truck loading docks
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Swb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Swb3,

Thank you for your review of our Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South. We are delighted to hear that your check in process was fabulous, friendly and professional. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our Cedar Rapids area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

I booked a room here last minute. I was quite pleased, especially with the breakfast. Breakfast included some very nice cheese omelets, and high quality extras. The room was comfortable, clean and updated. I felt safe at this hotel, which was very important to me, given some recent experiences elsewhere. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Jennifer N,

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding our Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South after your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, staff and clean accommodations. It was our pleasure to be of service to you during your travels and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our Cedar Rapids area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

We stayed at this hotel with my sons baseball team. Over the years we've staying in several hotels for sports travel weekends. We have NEVER stayed in a hotel that literally kicks guests out of the lobby, much less kicks you out at 10 pm. They turn off the lights and ask you to leave. This isnt a matter of our group being noisy or having any problems this is just this hotel's POLICY. If you are part of a sports team or family or others that enjoy hanging out together past 10 pm this is NOT the hotel to go to.

They were very accommodating allowing us to eat dinner as a group in the lobby area and provided large garbage cans.

Time for breakfast was short (2-2.5 hours) and it wasnt served early enough for us. (began at 7 and we had to leave for the fields at 630. I called the night before and asked if it could start early or if a brown bag bfast could be put together for the kids at least (we've had this provided for us at other hotels) and they said no.

Hotel was new and the room was clean and nice and spacious.

No ice machines at this hotel. Only have ice in the icemaker in the fridge in your room. Which you have to turn on yourself to get it to start making ice.

When you sign on to their wifi, there are two options, one is free and the other is a $4.95 upgrade. We had to constantly sign in coming and going from the hotel. We signed on to the free one each time and there were two $4.95 charges on my bill anyway. I called and complained because we never knowingly "upgraded", no reason to.

I normally dont write reviews but knowing how many families travel for sports related weekends, I wanted to give others a heads up about the 10 pm "CURFEW"! We've stayed at other marriott properties, for instance the Fairfield inn in Coralville and the Springhill Suites in Coralville and there was no "curfew". In fact, I've never ever even heard of this at a hotel before and wouldnt think to ask a hotel about this when choosing where to stay, but I will from now on.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 280bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Cedar Rapids South, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear 280bb,

Please accept our apologies for the lack of hospitality you have received during your stay. This is certainly not acceptable and it has been addressed with the appropriate department managers and individuals. Thank you again for your review and look forward to seeing you again should you find yourself in our Cedar Rapids area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews