We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
46
31
34
20
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
31
34
20
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beds were comfortable pool area is college tile funeral
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Other than the pool being approximately 30 degrees colder than it probably should be it was a fantastic stay! Rooms were clean, check in was a breeze and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Thank you!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Latisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.
Kind regards,
Neil Soppe
General Manager
Clarion University Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

The pictures look good. But don't come here if you need to sleep. Service in the bar was awful. We went for drinks at 830pm by 930 we had only been served once by the manager/bartender who was gone over half of that time somewhere else in the building. At one point for over 20 minutes, people were coming up and leaving never being served. She came back with excuses blaming "guests whining needs" wow! Pool hours 9am to 9pm. Kids yelling from there still at 1030pm. Running around the upper balcony at 1130pm last night. And the pool is not heated to a comfortable temperature at all. The 3 days we were here a sconce in the hall had its cover on the floor with the light blinking, until someone just pulled the bulb. The 1 positive was free breakfast , except hot water for tea was actually cool unable to use for the tea. It's close to stores , food , and movies, and cheap. You get what you pay for.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank KARINZ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017


Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Clarion Inn University Plaza.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the staff service and noise to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Cedar Falls.

Kind regards,

Neil Soppe
General Manager
Clarion University Plaza
319-277-2230

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

The hotel is a former Holiday Inn Holidome with rooms opening to the indoor pool. Expect noise until the pool closes.

Currently the access to the hotel is on a major thoroughfare that is under serious construction. Difficult to get to but not impossible.

Breakfast was very disappointing with not enough staff to keep up with the number of guests as most everything was gone.

Also no elevator to access the second floor. Not good. Finally, rooms are dated. Not sure how this hotel meets the Clarion standards.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Iowa_hawkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Clarion Inn University Plaza.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding your recent stay to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Neil Soppe
General Manager
Clarion University Plaza
319-277-2230

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Location is great (minus the road construction, but that isn't their fault) hotel staff was great with my family and our room was everything we needed! Very clean environment and would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Make requests at time of reservation, staff will work with you to make sure you get everything you need!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alexm7412017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 April 2017



Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind regards,

Neil Soppe
General Manager
Clarion University Plaza
319-277-2230

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Room cobwebs everywhere!, could not get temp in room below 80, no windows, very soft beds, & bus parking very hard. no where to turn around. probably would not stay again. smelled like chlorine the minute you walked in. Sorry not a good experience.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Cindy N Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil s, Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Clarion Inn University Plaza.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the room condition with our housekeeping staff to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Cedar Falls.

Kind regards,

Neil Soppe
General Manager
Clarion University Plaza
319-277-2230

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews