We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Cedar Falls(Cedar Falls)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$150
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn by Wyndham Cedar Falls(Cedar Falls)(Great Value!)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
154
55
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
55
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblackhawk hotelmotor lodgemain streethistoric hotelthe main hotelwithin walking distanceantique furnituremodern amenitiesrestaurants and shopsstarbucks coffeedowntown areabath saltsnight lifebeautiful roomenjoyed our stayhotel lobbyfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017

had a great retro room on the back side. clean and quiet. great breakfast. the lobby of the main hotel is enjoyable to sit and relax. the staff on the evening shift when we checked in was great, fun, and helpful. the down town area is hopping with small businesses. very much alive. wish we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: new section rooms are clean and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crc763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Hello and thank you for your review! We love when guests enjoy every little part of a trip. Our desk staff is exceptional and we are very lucky. We hope you come and stay with us again! Take care.

Maryann Hinman
Guest Relations
BlackHawk Hotel, Cedar Falls, IA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding. There is not a lot to choose from when it comes to hotels in the Waterloo/CF area. We chose this hotel because of its great location in Main st.- lots of great shops and restautants on the block.
Unfortunately, the location is the best part about this hotel. While the place has interesting historic woodwork, overall it looks pretty messy and uncoordinated. Another example was the breakfast, which was a mess (literally) mostly due to being woefully understaffed.

The staff was the main issue with our stay. Except for our cleaning lady-- who was incredibly friendly-- it felt like the rest of the staff should not be in the hospitality industry. Manager was rude, front desk staff was clueless to the line while guests dominated the area talking on and on. The woman attempting to pick up after people in the lobby could care less that guests were present. It felt like the whole crew was just exasperated that people needed things (like coffee cups) or had actual questions. Overall, there wasnt a sense of customer focus. It was like the guests were just annoying the staff! :)

Our room was in the back, so it was basically a cinder block motel room behind the hotel- nothing historic, but quiet, (at least) and clean.

Overall, I think they could use some customer and efficiency training. If this is "Iowa nice" I will stick to the coast.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rodgernm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Hello and thank you for sharing the details of your stay. I'm very sorry to hear you were not given the "Iowan" hospitality. Customer service is very important to us and our staff is trained to always be pleasant and professional. I'd like to hear more so this issue can be resolved. You may contact me directly to discuss further details. Thank you for your review. Take care.

Maryann Hinman
marymo.blackhawk@yahoo.com
Guest Relations
BlackHawk Hotel, Cedar Falls, IA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Historic hotel with very friendly people right on Main Street in Cedar Falls. This hotel is center for walking distance to bars and restaurants. In the hotel you will find 1800 decor with older rooms. Lots of character but know this is not a Hilton. That being said if you are in on business, highly recommendable.
For dinner, hit the Montage and try the sweet potatoes.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank MTH0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Hello and thank you for your review! Your nice comments are appreciated. We love working with Montage and are lucky to have this location near them. We hope you come and stay with us again! Take care.

Maryann Hinman
Guest Relations
BlackHawk Hotel, Cedar Falls, IA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The Black Hawk Hotel is a great place to stay. I really like the Contemporary wing but the rooms in the historic section are nice as well. Super great location across from a great brewery (Singlespeed) and lots of dining options within walking distance. Staff is super nice. Really close to great biking which is why we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Hello and thank you for your review! We love being close to bike trails and accommodating bike travelers. If we did not store your bikes for you, we can next time or rent one for you. We hope you come and stay with us again! Take care.

Maryann Hinman
Guest Relations
BlackHawk Hotel, Cedar Falls, IA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The BlackHawk Hotel in downtown Cedar Falls, IA is a beautifully restored historic hotel. The lobby is vintage with wonderful woodwork. The rooms are modernized, but still retain the period charm of the historic hotel. Our room had plenty of space for us and a nice king size bed. It is well worth staying here if you come to Cedar Falls. I would certainly come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank drdeputy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Hello and thank you for your review! Your nice comments are very much appreciated by our staff as we work very hard to maintain this 164 year old building! We hope you come and stay with us again! Take care.

Maryann Hinman
Guest Relations
BlackHawk Hotel, Cedar Falls, IA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews