We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Hawk Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Black Hawk Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

I think this hotel is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stated in.
Our room was so charming . It had old world charm with updated facilities.
Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful!
The lobby area was spacious and comfortable.
The restaurant/bar area was very nice as well with welcomed outdoor seating.
All in all, this is a place I would definitely recommend to anyone
Visiting the Cedar Falls area.
It is easy to walk up an down Main St to the many shops and restaurants.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your review! We are honored that the BlackHawk is one of the most beautiful hotels you've ever stayed in. We are also very lucky to be downtown so our guests can walk to our local shops and restaurants. Your nice comments are very much appreciated by our staff as we work very hard to maintain this 164 year old building! We hope you come and stay with us again! Take care.

Maryann Hinman
Guest Relations
BlackHawk Hotel, Cedar Falls, IA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

had a great retro room on the back side. clean and quiet. great breakfast. the lobby of the main hotel is enjoyable to sit and relax. the staff on the evening shift when we checked in was great, fun, and helpful. the down town area is hopping with small businesses. very much alive. wish we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: new section rooms are clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crc763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your review! We love when guests enjoy every little part of a trip. Our desk staff is exceptional and we are very lucky. We hope you come and stay with us again! Take care.

Maryann Hinman
Guest Relations
BlackHawk Hotel, Cedar Falls, IA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding. There is not a lot to choose from when it comes to hotels in the Waterloo/CF area. We chose this hotel because of its great location in Main st.- lots of great shops and restautants on the block.
Unfortunately, the location is the best part about this hotel. While the place has interesting historic woodwork, overall it looks pretty messy and uncoordinated. Another example was the breakfast, which was a mess (literally) mostly due to being woefully understaffed.

The staff was the main issue with our stay. Except for our cleaning lady-- who was incredibly friendly-- it felt like the rest of the staff should not be in the hospitality industry. Manager was rude, front desk staff was clueless to the line while guests dominated the area talking on and on. The woman attempting to pick up after people in the lobby could care less that guests were present. It felt like the whole crew was just exasperated that people needed things (like coffee cups) or had actual questions. Overall, there wasnt a sense of customer focus. It was like the guests were just annoying the staff! :)

Our room was in the back, so it was basically a cinder block motel room behind the hotel- nothing historic, but quiet, (at least) and clean.

Overall, I think they could use some customer and efficiency training. If this is "Iowa nice" I will stick to the coast.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rodgernm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for sharing the details of your stay. I'm very sorry to hear you were not given the "Iowan" hospitality. Customer service is very important to us and our staff is trained to always be pleasant and professional. I'd like to hear more so this issue can be resolved. You may contact me directly to discuss further details. Thank you for your review. Take care.

Maryann Hinman
marymo.blackhawk@yahoo.com
Guest Relations
BlackHawk Hotel, Cedar Falls, IA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Historic hotel with very friendly people right on Main Street in Cedar Falls. This hotel is center for walking distance to bars and restaurants. In the hotel you will find 1800 decor with older rooms. Lots of character but know this is not a Hilton. That being said if you are in on business, highly recommendable.
For dinner, hit the Montage and try the sweet potatoes.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank MTH0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your review! Your nice comments are appreciated. We love working with Montage and are lucky to have this location near them. We hope you come and stay with us again! Take care.

Maryann Hinman
Guest Relations
BlackHawk Hotel, Cedar Falls, IA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The Black Hawk Hotel is a great place to stay. I really like the Contemporary wing but the rooms in the historic section are nice as well. Super great location across from a great brewery (Singlespeed) and lots of dining options within walking distance. Staff is super nice. Really close to great biking which is why we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your review! We love being close to bike trails and accommodating bike travelers. If we did not store your bikes for you, we can next time or rent one for you. We hope you come and stay with us again! Take care.

Maryann Hinman
Guest Relations
BlackHawk Hotel, Cedar Falls, IA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
2.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Cedar Falls, IA
7.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#2 of 14 in Cedar Falls
454 reviews
7.3 km away
Best Western Plus Technology Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#3 of 14 in Cedar Falls
603 reviews
6 km away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
3 km away
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Clarion Inn University Plaza
#10 of 14 in Cedar Falls
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Hawk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Hawk Hotel

Address: 115 Main St, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-2621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cedar Falls
Price Range: €75 - €108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Hawk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Hawk Hotel, listed on the National Trust of Historic Places, is the oldest continuously-operating hotel site West of the Mississippi. The historic building offers 28 rooms from standard accommodations to luxury suites with marble bathrooms/jacuzzi tubs and antique furnishings. A business center is also available to our guests. Adjacent to the historic hotel is our vintage Motor Lodge which offers 15 king rooms with mid-century modern style furnishings and original art. This facility includes a workout room and all the modern conveniences demanded by today's sophisticated traveler at an affordable price point. The Black Hawk occupies a prime location in the heart of Cedar Falls on Historic Main St. where all the action is...great restaurants, shops and entertainment options. We are also steps from the picturesque Cedar River with its walking and bike trails and just 5 minutes from the UNI Campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Black Hawk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing