We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Woods Lake Recreation Area
Save
Review Highlights
Big Woods Campground

We love camping here when in town visiting family. It is a peaceful campground and well taken care... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
virginias729
,
Santa Rosa, CA
Kayaking

Wonderful place to take kayaks. You need to explore the west end of the lake and go under the... read more

Reviewed 2 October 2018
toddkris
,
Cedar Falls, Iowa
via mobile
Read all 46 reviews
  
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
32
14
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bike trail nice bike entire lake no wake dog walking kayak rentals great place to walk nice campground main street fishing prairie trees shore boat kayakers picnic geese
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Great place to fish, and also great for kayaking, and canoeing. Walking trail encircles the entire lake. Trail is very wide and has sunny and shaded sections. I enjoyed walking my dogs. There is a nice campground on the backside of lake. I will definitely make use of this area again in the near future.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank bjbraun2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We rolled into this campground around 5:00 pm and were LUCKY to get the last spot! We were expecting a campground in the woods because of the name, but were pleasantly surprised to see it all out in the open. The sites were large and not packed in tight. The site we got was right next to the road, but because it’s a dead end road there wasn’t much traffic. We could hear the highway but it wasn’t enough to bother us. Our boys fished in the lake to no avail. My husband and I took a great walk along the paved path that circles the lake. It was beautiful. We’ve camped in a lot of parks on the cross country trip and this was a good one.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Ckjbamorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Campsites are new with excellent services of water, sewer, electricity. Local residents use this as a quick get away. Friendly folks with evening campfires.. Bring your canoe/kayak to enjoy the lake and surrounding backwaters. Fishing from shore or boat. Boat docks available. A "no wake" lake. Hiking/Walking/Biking trails. Follow the short trail around the lake or hook into the awesome bike trail network in Cedar Falls. Wildlife is abundant for birders or photographers. Otters in the lake, eagle nest in the backwaters, lots of migrating birds and nesting birds in the lowland natural forest. Since this is a new facility shade is lacking, but trees are planted for future.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

My wife and I were in town for a workshop. The evening was very pleasant and we wanted to get outside somewhere in Cedar Falls. This was recommended so we checked it out. We did the paved loop trail around the lake. We did not walk it too fast, so we had time to observe the birds that appeared to be migrating through, and enjoy the lake scenes. The trees were just barely starting to bud out. Nice place to take a stroll. We would do it again.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank OutdoorKidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

This is a beautiful place to get outdoors and play/relax with your family! It's also a great spot for photos - and on just about any given day, you'll see a multitude of family sessions taking place. Even so, it is vast enough that it rarely feels crowded, and is still a quiet, relaxing get-away.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews