We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get-away...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rising Star Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rising Sun
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Stayed here for one night. The hotel room was quiet and comfortable.. Hallway carpet needs really cleaned or replaced. Looked very dirty. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Victoria Pub prime rib special was awful.

Room Tip: We had a room on 2nd floor. Quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Front Office Manager at Rising Star Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Tonya P,
Thank you for your feedback. We have began renovations on our guestrooms, and hope to replace carpeting in our hallways in the near future. Our goal is to provide a great experience for our guests. I will also inform our Food and Beverage Management Team about your experience with the prime rib special. We hope to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Laura W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here because it was a good deal, and in the middle of the places we were visiting. The first impression was not a good one. I dropped our party off at the main building to check in. The only pull-up-to-the-door service was for valet parking, so we had to pull through a farther drive. 3 of the 4 people I dropped off were handicapped, so I wasn't happy about that. I got parked, then got a call from my party that our rooms were in a building across the street. This may seem very minor, but when it's very difficult for people to walk, it's not very minor. We got to our building, though, and were able to park very close, with the elevator right inside the door. All was well. The rooms were nice, the air conditioning worked great, and the bed was very comfortable. There are no amenities here....well, very few. There is no refrigerator or microwave (but there may be some in the king rooms. There were none of those available), and certainly no free breakfast of any kind. The hotel restaurants were pricey, and in the main building, so there's the whole walking thing again. The staff we encountered was friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, and we were happy with those things. The little town has few choices of restaurants, but there are several in a closely neighboring community. It's not that I'm not recommending it, just be aware. I didn't make the reservation, so I wasn't aware of the lack of amenities I have come to expect in most hotels we stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Front Office Manager at Rising Star Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Dawn M,
I apologize for your experience at our resort. I will certainly share this feedback with our management team. Thank you for reaching out and letting us know what we can do to improve. I hope you choose to visit us again.
Sincerely,
Laura W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I stayed one night here and it was perfectly acceptable.

There was no free breakfast, and the pool was small, but the rooms were quite clean and the air conditioner worked well. Generally quiet, there was nothing wrong with this experience, it simply wasn't anything particularly spectacular or great.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Front Office Manager at Rising Star Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Michelle J,
We appreciate your feedback. I will forward your suggestion regarding free breakfast to the Food and Beverage Management Team. There are plans to work on the pool area to improve our guests experience. We hope to have you as our guest again soon!
Sincerely,
Laura W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

The casino has a non smoking section but it doesn't matter. There is the smell of smoke everywhere. We were there on a week day and it was practically empty so the slots were cold and not paying out. More people came as evening came and things started warming up. We spent the night at the Lodge. The room was clean and a good size. The bed was very comfy and I slept well. My only disappointment was no free breakfast. The Buffet offers breakfast till 11am but if you stay at the Lodge you have to go over to the Casino. The Lodge provides a shuttle between it and the Casino.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank picky307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Front Office Manager at Rising Star Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Picky307,
We appreciate all feedback from our guests. I will forward your suggestion regarding free breakfast to the Food and Beverage Management Team. We hope to have you as our guest again soon!
Sincerely,
Laura W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

After reading reviews on here, I was a little worried I had made a mistake getting a reservation here, but we were pleasantly surprised how nice the hotel was! Yes, it does need some carpet cleaning/replacement, but other than that, our room was clean and had everything we needed including a fridge! Had soap, shampoo and conditioner and beds were comfy. We had a pretty good view of the river and riverboat from our room. The lobby of the casino was awesome, looked like Sam's Town in Vegas. We stopped in at the snack bar type place in the lobby at 10:55pm and they closed at 11, but were happy to make us a pizza! It was tasty! We had the getaway package and it included free breakfast buffets and casino cash. The buffet was good, had made to order eggs and omelets among the usual favorites. The casino could use some updating, but we found many machines that we hadn't played in a long time because they were older ones. All in all I would stay there again, and it was worth the money!

Room Tip: This was the only time we stayed there, so don't have anything to compare. Our room was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Front Office Manager at Rising Star Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Tammie S,
Thank you for your feedback. We agree and have began renovations on our guestrooms, and hope to replace carpeting in our hallways in the near future. Our goal is to provide a great experience for our guests. We hope to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Laura W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rising Sun
15.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrenceburg
16 km away
Hollywood Casino Lawrenceburg Hotel
18.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Lawrenceburg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence/Cincinnati Airport
19.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 7 in Lawrenceburg
160 reviews
14.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lawrenceburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Star Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Star Casino Resort

Address: 777 Rising Star Dr, Rising Sun, IN 47040-9513
Region: United States > Indiana > Rising Sun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rising Sun
Price Range: €48 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rising Star Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising along the shore of the mighty Ohio River in scenic Rising Sun, Indiana, is a spectacular resort casino. Step aboard our 322 ft. long, 40,000 sq.ft., casino...all ship-shape in the style of a Victorian sternwheeler. As soon as you walk through the door at Rising Star Casino Resort you receive the STAR treatment. Check into one of our 294 rooms, splash into our sparkling indoor pool, hit the fitness center, make a tee time at our Scottish links-style golf course or try your luck in Rising Star's exciting casino. Our casino features nearly 1,000 of the most popular slot machines or you can sit with one of our friendly dealers & play your favorite table game. Rising Star Casino has weekly live entertainment in the Pub & Pavilion, a wonderful selection at the River View Buffet, mouth watering specialties at Wellington's Steakhouse & fast choices at Queen City Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Rising Star Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victoria Casino And Resort By Hyatt Hotel Rising Sun
Rising Sun Grand Victoria
Hyatt Rising Sun
Rising Sun Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing