We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$111
US$100
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$155
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$145
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
48
47
19
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
47
19
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskbreakfast hostbreakfast was excellentattending an eventcinnamon rollsstay there againbreakfast itemsstateballkeurigjessiealumnifurnishingscampusindiana
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We selected this hotel because we wanted to relax in the hot tub and swim . This was a huge disappointment due to the fact that the hotel policy states that if ONE person rents ONE room they can invite up to FIFTEEN guests! During our stay a grandmother rented a room and threw a birthday party for her granddaughter. There were 17 children and 9 adults all in the pool area! The area was completely taken over by this group who were not even paying guests! Other families (who did pay to use the facilities) were coming down to swim and then turning right around and headed back to their rooms when they saw the mass chaos. On top of that, the hotel manager was so busy taking care of the needs of the birthday party that guests who wanted to check in were left to wait at the front desk while she ran to get band aids, extra towels, and whatever else the birthday party needed. When I was finally able to speak with the manager about this ridiculous situation, I was promised a discount on our bill , but later was told no discount was possible because we had booked through a travel website. Instead, they offered me $50 off our next stay at Holiday Inn Express...Thanks, but I'll pass.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Faith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hi Faith P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding our hotel. It is disheartening to learn about the level of service you have experienced during your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in detail so we have sent you a private message in order to obtain additional information regarding your concerns.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to hear back from you soon and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Alvin M.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

This is an older facility, while the furnishings, the bathroom floor tiles, and the bathtub showed some minor wear and tear, everything else seemed to be well maintained. I stayed in a king leisure room which was of average size. The desk was one of the smaller desks that I've ever seen in a Holiday Inn Express room but it was adequate. The flat panel television was rather small for the size of the room, but there were plenty of television stations available. The station guide was not accurate - it listed stations with the wrong channels. The bathroom was spacious. My room was clean. The bed linens were fresh. The bed was comfortable. The air conditioner was a floor/window unit that was very quiet. The morning breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn Express menu which needs to be updated. The hotel is located near Ball State University.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BVDPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessy B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

BVDPA,
Thank you for your candid feedback and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Jessy Bent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We only stayed one night, December 27, 2016, at the Holiday Inn Express on West Bethel Avenue, but what an impression the young lady at the front desk made on us. I asked her name, and she wrote it down for me but I've misplaced her card. I believe her name started with a "J" Jessie, perhaps? Anyway, we travel A LOT. We stay at some very nice hotels and this young woman's excellent customer service skills really set her apart. She greeted us with a sincere smile and warm hello. She was very professional. She anticipated my every question and need. Another thing that really caught my attention was her dress and grooming. She was dressed appropriately professional. We don't always see that. I was pleased. I noticed everything about her because she was "spot on." The hotel is a little older but it was clean, well maintained and the breakfast was nicely presented. I might add, the young man who attended the breakfast room was very nice, and helpful. He did a fantastic job, never becoming flustered as the traffic increased. He was calm, cool, and collected. People really do make the experience!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelqueen1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

When entering the Holiday Inn Express, the hotel lobby was exceptionally clean. The front desk agent was readily available and extremely friendly. Check-in was quick and easy. The room we got was very clean and very well made. The linens were clean and the bathroom was spotless. We were visiting the area for fun, and it was close to several really nice places to eat as well as close to the interstate.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany_Holiday, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Hello AJ,

Thank you for the review on tripadvisor. We appreciate that you took the time, to leave some feedback about your past stay with us!

We are happy to hear that you had a good experience here at our hotel, from start to finish. Our housekeeping department works very hard to make sure that each and every room is the best it can possibly be, because it is so important for guests to be welcomed by a fresh and clean room. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room, and had a pleasant experience with our staff.

We thank you for your kind words, and we hope that the next time you are in Muncie visiting, you will choose us again!

-Brittany Stikeleather
Sales Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

My family and I haven't been in since June when the lobby was being renovated. The breakfast was in a strange spot, and it was really pretty shabby. Came back for the winter commencement for my niece, and all the renovations were finished. It turned out beautifully. The staff was great, breakfast was awesome, and the decorations made the new lobby look festive and holiday-ready! The prices were high, but it was definitely worth watching her graduate!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miakamixdesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany_Holiday, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Miakamixdesu,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback!

We are so grateful that you came back to stay with us again this winter, despite the encounter you had with our renovations this past summer. We realize hotel renovations can be very inconvenient to our guests, and we are delighted that you were able to return to experience the finished product. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast, the staff and the Christmas decor.

Thank you for all of the kind words. We do hope to see you again soon!

-Brittany Stikeleather
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews