We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Holly's Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #3 of 166 Restaurants in Michigan City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: In 1974 Mike Buda, Holly's founder, opened his doors after many years in the hospitality industry at other area restaurants. It wasn't long before word spread that the food was delicious and reasonably priced, the service was excellent, and Holly's became a favorite choice for casual family dining. Keeping the business in the family, Mike Buda's daughters, Jennie and Michele, spent time helping their dad at work during their youth. Following their graduation from Purdue University's Hospitality and Tourism school, Mike turned the daily operations of the restaurant over to his energetic and capable daughters. The restaurant serves traditional American cuisine, with select Mexican specialties and Barbeque favorites to really spice things up! You'll enjoy sandwiches piled high with only the best-quality ingredients, delicious homemade soups and salads, and one of the best French Dip sandwiches anywhere. For dinner, try our strip steak - or feast on a variety of appetizers and late night munchies at our bar. Enjoy your team in action on one of our 15 televisions, complimented by your favorite ice-cold beer, wine, or a cocktail. The Buda family takes great pride in being a locally owned, hometown-dining establishment. And, in today's market of chains and franchises, it's a pleasure to experience the friendly welcome you'll receive at Holly's Restaurant and Pub. So, whether you're new to the area, just passing through, or a born and bred "MCer" - get together at Holly's for hometown family fun!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted a healthy salad with all the fatty foods we had consumed since arriving in the USA. The service was amazing, salad was huge & delicious using fresh ingredients. Highly recommend Holly’s to anyone. It gets busy though so be prepared to wait a little!

Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Holly's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kylie,
Thank you for choosing Holly's to get your delicious salads at. We're proud to hear that our service was amazing and your salad was huge and delicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a delicious meal here. My reuben was delicious but my friend's corned beef was rather dry. The service was good and the servings generous. I'd definitely come back the next time I'm in town.

Thank tickleddpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Holly's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Tickleddpink,
We're thrilled that your Reuben was delicious, but disappointed to hear that your friend's corned beef wasn't as tasty. We are always more than happy to replace a guests dish if they are not satisfied with it. WE look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Visited last night for dinner. After reading all the good reviews we thought we would have a decent dinner. Service was terrible and the food was worse.
It is obvious that the oil in the deep fryer had not been changed in a very long time as everything fried tasted burnt, including the shrimp, onion rings and fries. The mac and cheese tasted like it had been made with a white sauce with no flavor. No one checked on us during our meal and did not refill our drinks until after we had finished eating! For a $60 meal we expected so much more. Will not be returning!

Thank Em D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Holly's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Em,
We’re disappointed to hear your comments and want to assure you that our oil had just been changed before your visit. We would have been more than happy to replace your meal if we had known you were not satisfied with it. Our goal is to always have the best dishes for our guests and give them the best experience. We apologize for falling short with your visit and hope that you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Tried the chicken/shrimp combo and it was great. We love our weekly visit to Holly’s. Always great service and Food. Caryn D

Thank Afcahc1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Holly's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Caryn,
We're glad that you love Holly's! Thank you for letting us know that our chicken and shrimp combo was delicious for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We go to Holly’s 3-4 times a month-love the food-the service & their wings are THE BEST IN TOWN!!! Holly’s is a very family friendly place & the bar is separate from the family section so if you are in the mood to just sit at the bar & have a bite to eat or a drink that option is there!! Give HOlly’s a try-you won’t be disappointed!!!!

Thank Mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Holly's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Mark,
Thank you for your recommendations and kind words. It's fantastic to hear that you dine with us 3-4 times a month and our service and food are the best for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holly's Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Michigan City, IN
Michigan City, IN
 

Been to Holly's Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing