We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Way Inn(Madison)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillside Inn(Madison)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$142
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$83
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
122
107
33
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
107
33
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspower plantstate parkriver viewfried chickenohio riverrocking chairshiking trailsno elevatornature centerindoor poolbreakfast buffetpatio roomsmoke stacksplay gamesnice gift shopnew wingbottom floor
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The lodge is very welcoming. We scouted out the rooms first, and booked the same day. Upfront staff was very attentive. Clean and quiet rooms have the extras for experienced travelers--microwave, mini-fridge, and an extra stainless steel sink for cleanups. Lots of plugs near the bed make charging devices extra convenient. Staff is friendly, and on the job...no shirkers lingering in hallways, immersed in cellphones, you get the idea. Beds are comfortable, with plenty of pillows. Restaurant downstairs is good for an onsite meal or two. We were here for the park's waterfalls. Park offers great hiking trails for every age.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sidetrips4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are so happy you enjoy the Inn hope that you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We had a river view room that, fortunately, did not look right at the power plant smokestacks. Our time was most enjoyable. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We will definitely come back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Johnnymoondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Glad to hear from you, this let us know what are guest are looking at and what they would like to see at the Inn. Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
85
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

A night away for my husband and I... We walked around Madison enjoying the beautiful architecture of the old homes. Our stay at the Inn was just what we hoped, very quiet, relaxing, and the view could not be beat. Staff at the Inn were all pleasant and helpful. Restaurant a little slow but not so much to cause frustration. Clean rooms, excellent getaway, only not long enough.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for spending your time at Clifty Inn, we are so happy that you enjoyed it, hopefully you were able to make some new memories why you were here. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for a night and the view from our room was awesome! Everything was super clean. The only downside of our experience was that right outside of the room were the ice and vending machines and we could here them working all night long. Whoever thought of that, did not think it through.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank donnadonchev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

We are so sorry that the machines kept you awake, we will look to see if we can come up with a way to quiet the room down. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights, our room had a walk out patio. The smoke stacks were a big part of our view, but we got use to it. There is a very small break in the woods if your wanting a river view, you won't see much. The dinner buffet was good, lots of options. My kids enjoyed the pool, it was large and no more than 4 ft deep. There are multiple places throughout the Inn to sit relax, play games, or just spend time together without technology. Overall nice place to stay, but does have a few negatives.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

We hear you about the smoke stacks, we have talked to the park about trimming the trees so it will open the view to the river. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews