We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clifty Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifty Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Evansville
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

A really nice place to stay.You can go hiking or drive to see Clifty Falls in the state park where the inn is located.

Room Tip: Pick either park or river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cscsflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    93
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
83
100
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My husband and I have passed by the entrance to the Clifty Falls State Park on our way to Madison several times, and always wondered what the park was like. We, and another couple, decided to book rooms at the park and just get away.

This was such a quiet treat, and a big surprise. We asked for the 'Park Room' which I assumed looked out over the park. Nope....it looked out over the 'parking lot'. This wasn't a big deal as we weren't in the room much during the daylight hours, but be warned to ask just what the rooms views are, if that matters to you. Also, the buildings are not marked on the outside for room numbers, so be sure to ask which building you're in, instead of strolling thru rooms and floors looking. We got turned around on more than one occasion.

We had 2 queen beds, and nice clean rooms with the only complaint being the loud heating/air conditioning unit that seemed to kick on and off all night. Easy check in with friendly staff, made us feel comfortable to ask for anything we'd need. The buffet was very good, fresh and hot, and the prices were reasonable. You can also order from a menu if the buffet isn't what you want. There were several seating areas to admire the view out over the river, the sunset, or just curl up in front of a nice fire and zone out. Games are available for those interested, a big TV, a complimentary coffee/tea station, and card tables. The long enclosed porch with lots of rocking chairs and that great view, was inviting to just sit, drink coffee, and chat.

We drove around the park and looked at the different falls, and I was expecting gushing water, but these seemed to be just scenic dry rock cliffs and waterways. Pretty, but a little less than breathtaking. I'm sure seeing the park at different times of the year would offer different falls views.

Downtown Madison is only about 5-10 minutes away, and offered shopping with boutiques, antique stores, restaurants, a winery and a nice small town feel.

The rates are good, and sometimes they offer specials thru the winter months. We all agreed, we're going back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kismet52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Located in the State Park, the Inn is rustic with a Lodge atmosphere. We got the last available room, so my expectations were not high, however, everything turned out great! We had 2 queen beds, large clean bathroom, internet access, and all the attention we needed. Since I was there for a week, I had plenty of time to check out everything. The dining room is huge and can hold everyone w/o a wait. I ate at off-times and often was the only one there which was fine since the plan is to relax and just look at the River View. Excellent food, and don't miss the buffets! Well-trained, polite staff. The pool is the best part: w/ wheel chair ramp into the 2 ft shallow.. For the youngest child the ramp into the pool is a fun play area. 4ft deep at the deepest, allows for a fun game of water basketball. Already have plans to return.

Room Tip: I don't feel the need to pay extra for river view room. There are so many sitting areas inside a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coehny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

very nice place ! the staff was polite and helpful but the rooms could use some aatention ! there was stains in the carpet and there was hair left on the bathrrom countertop and in the bath tub ! ! there wasa great veiw over the Ohio River and the state park that it is in is excellent!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indianatravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed in the Riverview Waterfall Suite last night. it is starting to look shabby. dust everywhere. Bed was just ok. i am sure it was beautiful when it was first reburbished.
i have stayed two times before-once in parkview (parking lot view) and once in a regular
room in riverview. we ate in the restaurant. food was good but the cook or waitress got
our order confused. we ended up with more food than we ordered so it all came out ok.
all staff were friendly. i would stay again even with the dust!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
4.1 km away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.8 km away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.8 km away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#6 of 7 in Madison
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
27.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
27.4 km away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifty Inn

Property: Clifty Inn
Address: Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1650 Clifty Hollow Rd, Madison, IN 47250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Clifty Hotel Madison
Clifty Falls State Park Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing